We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Oak Carvery

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
THE ROYAL OAK Come to The Royal Oak in Bolton for traditional roast dinners and lunches exactly how you like them, any day of the week. Or tuck into our tasty pub-food classics, with unlimited veg and sides. With every plateful offering cracking value, it's no wonder locals in and around Aspull, Horwich and Blackrod can't get enough. EATING OUT IN BOLTON MADE EASY Our restaurant is relaxed and family friendly, and we don't stand on ceremony. There's no need to book; just pop in when you're hungry
Meals
Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
FEATURES
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
34
42
31
26
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
34
42
31
26
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews veg and potatoes stuffing generous portion of meat large carvery roast pots great carvery birthday treat car park carveries toaster stadium pint
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Lovely staff really enjoyed the food.. nice place.relaxing Sunday afternoon,the meal was very nice,Gammon excellent

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Diane S
Reviewed 1 week ago

for a start the carvery looked the same as any other, the food was fresh, not been standing for long, i chose beef and turkey mash and roast, all the usual veg and then helped myself to gravy. Disaster. It was tepid and very greasy...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 5colganalykes
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a Sunday just after 5.30pm We ordered 3 carvery meals & 1 Fish & Chips from the other menu as I am pescatarian Was told only the carvery was sold on Sunday When I asked then what the Vegetarian Carvery consisted of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Shellbrown
Reviewed 11 November 2018

I had to take my wife to the train station for a short break abroad. So me in my wisdom suggested we have lunch at the above as it was en route to the station. What a big mistake. Upon arrival we were greeted by...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank leswareing
RoyalOakCarvery, Manager at Royal Oak Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Thank you Les for your review. I'm very sorry we let you down on this occasion, I have taken on board your comments and will pass this onto the kitchen staff and make sure this wont happen again. Many thanks Royal Oak

Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Came here, and it will be the final time we come here. Asked for gammon and majority of it was fat. The Yorkshire puddings where rock hard, everything was disgusting, and the environment. Was filthy! Diabolical!!🤢More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank tabithaR2000
RoyalOakCarvery, Manager at Royal Oak Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Thank you Tabitha for your review. We are sorry you weren't happy with your meal today, If you had addressed this with a member of management we would have been more than happy to change your meal or offer you something else off our week...More

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Just called in for my tea after 14hrs on the road got in there went to order carvery nothing left at 18.30pm on a Monday night 4 people in there couldn't understand ok if packed the last time I go thereMore

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Gary I
RoyalOakCarvery, Manager at Royal Oak Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you Gary L for your review. Yes you correct we had run out of turkey and Gammon due to a very unexpected busy lunch time and I do apologise for that, however we do serve our pub classics off the menu until 9pm, we...More

Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

Visited 13/10/18 for lunch. What we witnessed will haunt me forever. A ‘ WAITRESS’ and I add that term loosely, helped herself on numerous occasions to pieces of meat from the carvery and proceeded to walk towards the area that held the sauces, gravy etc...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank kathlouise68
RoyalOakCarvery, Manager at Royal Oak Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you Kathlouise68 for your review, I would like to discuss this issue with you as a matter of urgency, can you please give me a call at your earliest convenience on 01942 812168 Many thanks Donna

Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Visited last night with my friends, just after 6pm - no food left! The last three time’s we have tried to eat here it has been a waste of time! What’s going on?More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 726Lynn32
RoyalOakCarvery, Manager at Royal Oak Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you 726Lynn32 for your review. Unfortunately we did run out of meat around 6.30pm, this was due to having an unusual busy lunch time with football fans. However we where still offering customers food off our new menu. I do apologise and hope you...More

Reviewed 21 September 2018

We used to go to the Royal Oak quite often and it used to be a really good value for money and the food wasn't too bad either. But after going tonight with friends again having not been in a while we wont be going...More

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Onlythebest1211
RoyalOakCarvery, General Manager at Royal Oak Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Hi Charlottoo G Thank you for your review, First of all I apologise that we let you down on your visit last Friday, we pride ourselves in making sure food is always up to a good standard so hearing our food was cold disappoints me...More

Reviewed 10 September 2018

The food that they served in the carvery wasn’t particularly nice, this was due to that the food was cold from probably being out on the side for how many hours and the Yorkshire Puddings were hard and crispy when they aren’t supposed to be...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Jade A
RoyalOakCarvery, Manager at Royal Oak Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you Jade A for your review. I am sorry we let you down on this occasion, If you felt your food was cold we would have been more than happy to change it for you if you had given us chance. Our food is...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
989 reviews
.74 miles away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
730 reviews
.74 miles away
Bolton Whites Hotel
1,522 reviews
.89 miles away
Premier Inn Bolton West Hotel
332 reviews
1.47 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 625 nearby restaurants
Luciano's at Middlebrook
649 reviews
.99 miles away
The One Restaurant & Bar
382 reviews
.48 miles away
India Gate
233 reviews
.29 miles away
Waggon & Horses
518 reviews
.72 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 134 nearby attractions
Middlebrook Retail & Leisure Park
11 reviews
1.02 miles away
The Beer School
70 reviews
1.67 miles away
Air Vault Trampoline Park
93 reviews
.77 miles away
Macron Stadium
123 reviews
.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Royal Oak Carvery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing