We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lime Leaf

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
25/25A London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
+44 1256 355272
Today
17:30 - 22:15
12:00 - 14:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 17:30 - 22:15
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 352: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was looking forward to visiting this restaurant and was not disappointed. Tried the set menu B and enjoyed all of the dishes; the fish cakes, spring rolls, weeping tiger (steak) and vegetable dish were all particularly tasty. Like the fact the wine list includes those identified as pairing well with the food. The atmosphere is quite intimate; a handful... More 

Helpful?
Thank _contact_clare
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Absolutely love Thai curries - the better ones are clean, crisp, tangy with lime leaf and lemongrass, softened with coconut milk but with a kick of chilli. All too often now in UK Thai restaurants they are getting so sweet that the essence of the dish is lost. This green curry was one of the sweetest ones I have recently... More 

Helpful?
Thank gustek24
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited a number of times always great service always great good best place to eat in Basingstoke.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lindseybash
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you always enjoy your visits to The Lime Leaf. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

Excellent telephone service. Quality ingredients and good proportions for the right cost. Food is cleanly and well presented with each of the main ingredients not 'masked' by sauce

Helpful?
2 Thank David S
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your takeaway. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Came here for dinner with my friends. The staff was very polite and efficient. Food was really good but maybe slightly overpriced!

Helpful?
Thank Olivia D
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the food. With regard to price, we aim to provide value for money. I think you will find our prices compare favourably with other Thai restaurants of similar quality. More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

First time visit to this restaurant and I can say not very impressed service was slow tried to attract waiting staff to reorder drinks portions of rice small I had a prawn Thai green curry and it was more like a soup with very few prawns in it and the rest of the party unimpressed I can not see me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen E
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed. I can only say that unlike Indian curries, Thai curries are quite soupy. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Came here in a Saturday night and it's a good job we booked for our group of 5 because they were having to turn people away. The food was absolutely delicious and my only negative was that the service was a bit slow but this may we'll be because of how busy they were. I will definitely be coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Adam O
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to have been slow to respond. I am glad you enjoyed the food. I am sorry you found the service a bit slow. We were a bit short of staff due to sickness. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Came for lunch and their cooking is very delicious. However the portion of rice is too small, and still have lots of curries left with no rice.

Helpful?
Thank keat113
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As I have pointed out in response to previous reviews our lunch menu is designed for those who want a quick lunch at a reasonable price (£9.95 for 2 courses). Those who have more hearty appetites can always order from the a la carte menu where the portions are larger. More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

Great service and excellent food. Really good value for money. Will definitely be going back again soon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Good to see you rate us highly on food, service and value for money. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

I visited with family and friends for a pre-Haymarket theatre meal and had the early bird menu. The food portions were large, quality as always was great and service very friendly and efficient. I've been here a few times and would recommend it very highly, for both food and service

Helpful?
2 Thank SHOSUK
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your pre-theatre meal. The Early Bird menu is designed in part for those going to the theatre and cinema. More 

Travellers who viewed The Lime Leaf also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Lime Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Asian, Thai, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
17:30 - 22:15
Tuesday
17:30 - 22:15
12:00 - 14:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 22:15
12:00 - 14:30
Thursday
17:30 - 22:15
12:00 - 14:30
Friday
17:30 - 22:15
12:00 - 14:30
Saturday
17:30 - 22:15
12:00 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25/25A London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 355272
Description
Restaurant serving authentic Thai food. Situated in a 16th century two storey building in Basingstoke's Top of Town area. Small intimate dining areas suitable for small group bookings up to 16 persons.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lime Leaf and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Lime Leaf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?