We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Taipan

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5 Savoy Crescent | The Theatre District, Milton Keynes MK9 3PU, England
+44 1908 331883
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 - 22:00
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 15:30
17:30 - 23:00
Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 294: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We chose off the menu rather than the set menu. It was all OK, but nothing spectacular...... But no complaints. Portion sizes not bad. Maybe slightly under seasoned, but acceptable. If it weren't so far I'd use more often.

Helpful?
Thank Pick_E_Diner
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited this Taipan before going to Milton Keynes theatre. It fitted the bill perfectly - an inexpensive, very enjoyable meal with particularly good service. We would return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne W
tai p, Manager at Taipan, responded to this review

We are so glad you found the meal inexpensive and very enjoyable. However your remarks do not really correlate with your rating ! So we suspect that may be a typo error and you may tippex it. :-) More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of five. The restaurant was pretty busy so we explained, after a warm welcome, that we were there for a pre-theatre meal. The staff could not have done more to make sure we ate quickly but without being rushed. The food was delicious and the wine good - properly chilled where appropriate. Service was attentive and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Forgergirl
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During the CNY, 11 of us had pre-ordered a 8-course Cantonese banquet to share and enjoy. We all loved it so much and the price is surprisingly cheap. Less than £30, we have lobster, fish, chicken, pulled pork, slow cooked seafood soup, 3 type of vegetables, beef, roast duck, about 20 kinds of ingredients in one go! It is yummy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very authentic Chinese restaurant with the most amazing dim sum I have ever had, you got a try it

Helpful?
Thank ShedandDim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called in to Taipan on a spur of the moment thing as we were craving a Chinese fix (my wife's Chinese). We were delighted to find that we recognised numerous dishes on the menu that you'd get in China. It was a Sunday afternoon and it was great to see the Chinese families all out enjoying their lunch. Taipan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2016

This is an excellent lunch time venue with freshly made food and very attentive staff. The range of dim sum is really good and so are the puddings.

Helpful?
Thank Mary O
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

This was a spur of the moment solo lunch. I was made very welcome and the server was excellent, this was my first visit so I had no idea of the portion sizes that would come. She guided me well because it would have been easy to over order because the lunch menu and a la carte were all very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
tai p, Manager at Taipan, responded to this review

"We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Taipan. But please don't designate Taipan as your solo hideout, instead bring your family, friends and colleagues to share your good experience. More 

Level Contributor
261 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Eating at Taipan is a nice experience, the service is quick and kind. The restaurant has several tables which are not too close each other, but overall it seems a place bit outdated. The food is not bad, but noting really special with the exception of the pork belly which was absolutely spot on. M.

Helpful?
Thank Maresciallonemo
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Been 3 times now. Crispy pork belly is extremely tasty! Dim sum also delicious. Looking forward to the next trip. Nice atmosphere and good service.

Helpful?
Thank Robinack

Travellers who viewed Taipan also viewed

Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Newport Pagnell, Milton Keynes
 

Been to Taipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$37
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Waitstaff, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:30
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:30
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:30
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:30
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:30
17:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Savoy Crescent | The Theatre District, Milton Keynes MK9 3PU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Milton Keynes
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 331883
Description
Taipan is a Chinese restaurant based in the heart of Milton Keynes' Theatre district. Our food combines high quality and fresh ingredients to create a very modern take on traditional Chinese dishes. And because we are independent, we can craft new dishes and create bespoke meals to cater for individual tastes.Our chefs have worked in some of the most high profile restaurants in East Asia including the 5 star Shanghai Hilton and the Hong Kong Jockey Club (Formally the Royal Jockey Club). Because of their experience, we are able to offer a wide selection of dishes of the highest quality dishes, with Seafood and Dim Sum being some of our most established and popular dishes. At Taipan, we don't do anything by half measures. Our ingredients are hand-picked by our chefs from the highest quality sources - even our seafood menu has more dishes than most specialist seafood restaurants. The quality of our food is supplemented by our drinks menu, which includes a variety of some of the finest wines and champagnes from around the world. We'll help you decide what drinks best complement your food, to ensure that not a single taste is wasted. If you would like to know more about what goes in our food, please get in touch via our contacts page or Twitter feed and we'll be more than happy to chat.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Taipan and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Taipan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?