We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$19
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
210
65
40
40
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
210
65
40
40
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sandwiches the pub bright nights bite to eat lovely meal canal mk
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

The food was awful there is no management or leadership here the place is run by kids. I asked if the sold cocktails I was told only if I knew the ingredients. The guy in front of me as for a glass of Zinfandel the...girl on the bar asked if he would like a single or double. The place is a mess very disorganised avoid like the plague. Bar staff constantly playing on their phones place is shockingMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not impressed when we went several year's ago here with the sloppy and unappertising food. Alas over this time period no improvements have been made. The pie my wife ordered was spposed to come with a medly of vegetables. So lazy to offer luke warm...peas instead. Cheap cop out. Added to congealed gravy and a pie that had been left lingering without much care (under light?) my wife was left with peculiar taste. The steak was average at best. We will nevergo back to this pub as even with special offers the food is simply not worth eating.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

Our 4 friends from NI have been travelling the canal and dropped in to see us. Used the Galleon for drinks and dinner last night. Great service and food, friends really enjoyed our local. Thanks Team

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
HannahS4081, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2020

Thank you Linda!!! Your support does not go unnoticed so thank you!!

Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

I'd love to be able to review the food but unfortunately we were never given the chance. After demanding 3 times that we complete the (optional) track and trace (twice after we'd already done it), we were informed that children need to stay in their...seats at all times... in the garden... the completely empty garden. Anyone else ever heard that rule? Me neither. I can only assume she doesn't have children, otherwise she would know that sitting in one place for extended periods of time is not something 3 year olds do. Appropriate social distancing yes, sitting perfectly still in one place, sorry but no. Sadly we had to leave at this point, knowing that we couldn't possibly manage to abide by her made up rules. "Well I'm hoping the garden will be nice and full in a minute anyway" came the sarcastic reply which, aside from being completely irrelevant (and possibly in breach of the genuine capacity laws in place for bars and restaurants) , is also sadly very unlikely, unless someone else greets customers when they walk in. I'm sure the other two people we witnessed abandoning ship due to her attitude in the short time we were there would probably agree. For what it's worth, we're all in favour of controlling the spread of the virus. I can only suggest that she read up on the actual rules instead of dreaming up her own, and perhaps develop some common sense. I suspect the latter will take the longest.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
HannahS4081, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Good evening, Thank you for leaving us your review. It was me that greeted you and yes I do have children. I have 2 under 2yrs, one of which is an 18mth old who loves to run around outside, but I don’t take him somewhere...More

Reviewed 21 September 2020

Very good customer service especially from one member of staff Bradley Watson very friendly and well mannered

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
HannahS4081, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Thank you so much for leaving us a review and I will ensure Bradley sees this too. He certainly is a little diamond so thank you for recognising him!

Reviewed 16 September 2020

Overall I found the galleon pretty disappointing. Even with the 50% off food, I still felt that the service was incredibly slow (there were 20 people seated on a weekday afternoon at most), even for drinks. The food quality was very mediocre and the portions...were equally unimpressive. Had I paid normal full price for my meal, I would have complained about my experience. Would not recommend.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
HannahS4081, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Thank you for leaving your review and I can only apologise you left disappointed. As the A Board says when you enter, we are only allowed one chef in the kitchen at a time and he has to do everything alone, which does make things...More

Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

Utterly rude member of staff. Upon arrival, we were treated with no respect and were welcomed with glares and dirty looks. We left after being told, enquiring about a drink was ‘stupid’. Will not be returning until they evaluate the mistakes they are making.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HannahS4081, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Please could you email me so I can investigate this further? Info@thegalleonwolverton.co.uk

Reviewed 18 August 2020 via mobile

Lovely pub and great food. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were lucky to have found it in pouring rain with all the dogs we had. But they were very welcoming and would definitely recommend to any one

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HannahS4081, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Thanks WW! You were a pleasure to have...dogs and all :-) thank you for leaving us a review and see you all again soon.

Reviewed 17 August 2020

just popped in to the Galleon for lunch loved the food. Staff very helpful good service did not wait to long for food. Staff very friendly could do enough for you. Will be going back again for seconds.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HannahS4081, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2020

Thank you Philip!! That’s really great to hear! Look forward to welcoming you back for your seconds!

Reviewed 16 August 2020

me and my friends decided to visit the galleon as out first pub to visit after lockdown and we was pleasantly surprised at how safe and welcome we was made to feel, I honestly can't say enough kind words about all the staff! and the...food was cooked beautifully especially the steak!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
HannahS4081, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2020

Emily thank you so much for taking the time to right this. The team are working exceptionally hard to ensure everyone feels safe as well as their usual tasks so it’s great that it’s not going unnoticed. Glad you enjoyed the food too! See you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Different Drummer Hotel
32 reviews
1.31 miles away
Mercure Milton Keynes
1,411 reviews
1.59 miles away
Novotel Milton Keynes
1,570 reviews
2.52 miles away
MK Hotel
165 reviews
2.92 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Akasaka Wolverton
646 reviews
.65 miles away
Braai Shack Restaurant
326 reviews
.71 miles away
Muratis Pizzeria
314 reviews
.22 miles away
Zouk Lounge Lebanese Restaurant
87 reviews
.62 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Iron Trunk Aqueduct
26 reviews
.43 miles away
Milton Keynes Museum
785 reviews
1.07 miles away
G Dad's ​Collectables
8 reviews
2.01 miles away
Ouse Valley Park
23 reviews
1.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Cancelthisnow
4 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HannahS4081 | Property representative |
Hi Nic, I have to be honest, it’s not ideal for 2yr olds. There are garden toys and there was a sandpit for the littluns, but sadly they kept emptying it onto the grass :-( There are inside toys for the little ones too... More
0
Votes
Simonfowler81
29 May 2017|
Answer
Response from lsweet1986 |
Yes they do.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Galleon

The Galleon is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4