We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£8 - £40
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (321)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
227
30
29
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
227
30
29
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak sunday roast mussels brownie pie ribs chicken pudding fries salad cooked to perfection father's day extensive menu yummy food lovely lunch service with a smile piping hot
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

went there first time sat down had drinks bit rough and ready then ordered food sorry all gone sold last one all they say is sold last one on a Monday there were only 2 people there , so went back three weeks later same...no food all sold this time was on Monday again soon as we said 25 percent off it saids sorry sold out of this that , bit dirty and old not our sort of place tried twice as visiting forget it they dont have vegan or anything . stick to The Betsey Wynne beautify they love dogs even take picture put on board . Dont go Wheatsheaf not nice .More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great meal as a family, service was excellent, atmospheare perfect for a Sunday afternoon. We will be returning, especially for the signature chicken wings. Well done to all staff 👍👍

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went went for Sunday lunch today The staff are nice & ambience was pleasant but food wise this is not a gastropub... If that’s NOT what you’re looking for then this establishment is perfectly fine But if you’re looking for a gastro pub then you’ll...be disappointed. The food is below average & the kids menu is pricey... The kids mains are fine but £2.95 for a small kids cup of lemonade & £5.95 for a small brownie is expensive, best off ordering from the main menu! The beef roast was poor quality, tough & min veg, whilst the kids food was poor quality. Shame as we had high expectations.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Morgan, Marketing at The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate all kinds of feedback. We are disappointed to hear you were not blown away by us, we pride ourselves on being a gold standard carvery, with high standards from food to...More

Reviewed 15 April 2024

Had a really lovely Sunday lunch, our first one there and food was lovely. The service was the best you could get very friendly, helpful and professional.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Morgan, Marketing at The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really value your feedback and are over the moon to hear your experience was so positive! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Reviewed 3 April 2024

I was really looking forward to visiting this 'gastro-pub' especially as it advertised a decent choice of vegan options which could even be made gluten free with a request to the server. Two of the vegan options were not available, one because 'the mash wasn't...vegan and the chef can't make anymore' and one because the pasta wasn't vegan, it had egg in it. It took a while each time to be informed each choice wasn't available. The 'vegan wellington' was basically just pastry and veg (most places would make this with lentils for protein) so I was left with a choice of a very expensive burger or very expensive salad. I'm just glad I didn't need to start asking about gluten free options too! The waiter seemed to have no idea what was in the dishes or which ones were available. Very disappointing. I only gave it 2 stars as the kids seemed happy with their very expensive burgers.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 March 2024

My best friend took me there for lunch for my 60th birthday, we arrived on time everything was going well until she went to sit down, the chair was broken just held with one screw that fell out and she trapped her finger causing excruciating...pain and severe bruising straight away, was although the waiter was very helpful bringing her ice and very apologetic the manager did not bother once coming over to see if she was OK, (even though she was there seating other costumers there was plenty of opportunity to come over and at one point my friend tried to get her attention ) I must admit the food was very good I had pie of the day and she had a burger that was sent out without the burger sauce ,onion and gherkin that it should have come with, so sadly we didn't get a good first impression and spoilt my birthday lunch.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Morgan, Marketing at The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

We would love to thank you for taking the time to write us a review we take everything on board, and do appreciate your comments. We are glad to hear that you were really pleased with your food (we are definitely known for our famous...More

Reviewed 3 March 2024

We came here for a family meal - 6 adults and 4 kids. They put us in the far area, which was ideal as we didn't have to worry about our kids disturbing others! The food was incredible and piping hot - which shows how...freshly cooked it was. Really tasty and perfect portion sizes. The restaurant was clean and decorated nicely. I REALLY regret not getting the name of our waiter because he truly made our night! Nothing was too much trouble, he was super friendly and attentive. Struggled to pick just one thing to have off the menu! So we will definitely be back!! Thank you!!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Morgan, Marketing at The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this response. We are over the moon to hear you had such a wonderful time. We can't wait to welcome you back! The Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 22 January 2024

We booked in on spec for Sunday Lunch because our regular venue was closed. Everything was excellent. We arrived 15 minutes early and our table was ready. Thomas (Tomasz?) was our waiter and he was very attentive and helpful. The Sunday Lunch was excellent and...the beer (London Pride) was good. What more could you ask for? We normally book a Sunday Lunch after the Sunday Jazz Sessions at The Stables at Wavendon, we will certainly be back!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hannah Morgan, Marketing at The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this response. We are over the moon to hear you had such a wonderful time. We can't wait to welcome you back! The Wheatsheaf

Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

Came for a family Sunday lunch of 15 people. The pre-order and deposit process was simple. The food was delicious and we were looked after very well. All in all a lovely experience and we'll happily return

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2024

Arrived after 1pm not booked , found us both a table, wife had beef lasagne with garlic bread, I had pie of the day Turkey and leek , with mash and cabbage, carrots courgette and a few peas, superb meals . The pie was superb...something different in shade. Many thanks Keith and Eve.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2024

We had our Christmas lunch in the Wheatsheaf for the first time and we will 100% be back. The food was amazing with no issues and the service from Olivia for the afternoon was impeccable. Thanks to all and Happy New Year!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2023

Delicious turkey & leek pie - good service - good food - liked the atmosphere and vibe Haven’t visited before but will def be back

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023

Friendly staff but many menu options unavailable. I choose Homemade Vegan Wellington, as the vegetarian options weren't very exciting. The description on the menu is as follows: A pastry parcel filled with seasonal vegetables served with crushed new potatoes, veg and gravy. I was presented...with a bland dish of mashed potato, a few bits of carrot and something red (maybe pepper) topped with pastry served with carrot, courgette and spring greens which were not roasted. I didn't complain at the time as I was with family and I didn't want them complaining about me. Please inform the customer if the menu option is different to the menu description so they can make an informed decision rather than serving up something they didn't order and don't want.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alban Carmillia, Marketing at The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2023

Firstly, we would like to thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write this review. We are so dissapoited to hear your feedback as we proudly serve a vegan, vegetarian and a la carte menu so to hear that we didn't have...More

Reviewed 25 November 2023

Went to the Wheatsheaf for lunch as it was quite close to the Red Bull factory where we had a tour. The menu was extensive and there was something for everyone. We were a group of 8, but the staff were very helpful and it...wasn't a problem. We all enjoyed our meals, and a big thanks to Dec our waiter. He was brilliant and always smiling, nothing was to much trouble. As a retired Paramedic, it was nice to see there offer of a hot Xmas dinner for 999 staff working on Xmas day. So If you want a great meal in lovely surroundings and wonderful service, I recommend The Wheatsheaf.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alban Carmillia, Marketing at The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us and write us this review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time with us. Dec is a fantastic waiter and will be over the moon to hear your glowing...More

Reviewed 18 November 2023

Visited this great pub 2 weeks ago, then the following week, and again today... it is that good. The food choices are superb and all tasted great with fair pricing and no overpricing on drinks. The friendly and welcoming attention from the staff working there...was the best we have received for a long time and a big reason we were keen to return and make it our favourite place to eat, especially with an all day menu. In particular... Shashee greeted us like long lost friends and clearly remembered us, which made it a special visit and one we will easily recommend to family and friends. Great food, great hosts who clearly like working there.. it shows.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alban Carmillia, Marketing at The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this glowing review! We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic time visiting us. We have high standards to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful time with us and ultimately...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Campanile Hotel Milton Keynes - Fenny Stratford
574 reviews
1.22 miles away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Milton Keynes
65 reviews
1.60 miles away
Kents Hill Park
254 reviews
2.00 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Milton Keynes
2,852 reviews
2.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Dinajpur
410 reviews
1.42 miles away
Kafila
13 reviews
1.46 miles away
Tiffins Indian Restaurant
7 reviews
1.42 miles away
The Caldecotte, Pub & Grill
1,636 reviews
1.09 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Caldecotte Lake
83 reviews
1.10 miles away
Formula Fast Karting
420 reviews
1.47 miles away
The Stables Theatre
338 reviews
1.69 miles away
Big Rock Bond
196 reviews
1.43 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gordon W
6 March 2023|
Answer
Response from ZebulonQ | Reviewed this property |
I don’t believe they do have accommodation
0
Votes
juliemK2838ED
30 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ClareH1867 | Property representative |
Hi Blue M Apologies for the late reply. Dogs are allowed in the pub but restricted to the bar area. Thank You
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WHEATSHEAF PUB & GRILL, Milton Keynes - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill

Yes, The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Wheatsheaf Pub & Grill is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5