We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Tickled Trout Restaurant

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Smiths Hill, Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England (Formerly The Chequers)
+44 1622 814717
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Fri 08:00 - 22:00
Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 206: English reviews
East Farleigh
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Meal in toatal was around £300 Food was not all that. Overpriced. service was slow. One waitress was very rude to diffrent members of our group when asked questions with regards to the food and bill quirey . Will not recommended or return

Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited this establishment on 2/12 - for the first time since the refurbishment. Very nice interior and large car park. We were a group of ladies who meet up every few months. We ordered our food with great anticipation. However was very disappointed in the winter salad which consisted of a handful of mixed salad leaves, a few pomegranate seeds... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Becky31Kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves for his birthday and had our 1st night away since our second child was born . It was a beautiful room & the staff were helpful. We had a lovely evening meal, and although the wine was pricier than normal it was worth it as it complicated our meal perfectly. Clearly they've... More 

Helpful?
Thank Athalia A
Haslemere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The food was very fresh and beautifully presented. The service was exemplary with much attention to detail.

Helpful?
Thank Veronica B
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the minute we arrived the staff went above and beyond to make us feel very welcome. Lovely food and a friendly environment. Great location and very quiet. Stunning rooms-If you get the chance to stay in the Balfour room- DO IT :)

Helpful?
Thank ChloeBorowczyk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was taken here for a date in October by my partner. The place was really cosy and welcoming and appeared to be very posh. I was shocked when I saw how cheap it was. I will definitely be going again. The service was quick, the food was really good quality and tasted delicious. Thank you for a lovely experience!

Helpful?
Thank RachelLW88
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you found us to be welcoming, our food great and of good value and that you had a 'lovely experience'. Such positive feedback is a great moral boost for the team! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Kent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very attractive interior and exterior with plenty of car parking space. Not a vast menu but food is fresh and cooked to order so no complaint there. The staff on the Saturday night we visited were all young and very nice but I think needed more training as service was really slow and the restaurant was probably only just under... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doraflora
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you were impressed with the food and found the tem to be nice. We have discussed your feedback with them regarding the slow service and feel confident that when you return you will experience our usual exceptional standards of... More 

Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely looking exterior, nicely lit, but layout of tables once seated a tad cramped. When ordering the fact that the very young serving person was reading, not knowing what catch of day was disappoints. Also whilst ordering my main ordered a side of cream potatoes, was told didn't need as main had them. It didn't. Came with roasted new potatoes.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We appreciate all feedback and always discuss with the team and make changes where appropriate. We hope that you will visit us again soon . More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on Wednesday evening to be greeted by a lovely friendly lady behind the bar. She was very helpful with the drinks and menu. Starters were fine, but as usual not enough toast with the trout pate. My husband ordered the steak medium rare with skinny fries, it came out over done, chewy and with chunky chips, the main... More 

Helpful?
Thank animalgeorge
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you found the team to be knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We are always happy to provide more toast for the pate and indeed change all dishes if made aware at the time of the event if you are not happy. We... More 

West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We purchased a travel zoo voucher for our visit but we hadn't realised it was now part of a group. The refurbishment was quite astounding really as we didn't realise this had happened. We found the food to be of average quality nothing really jumped out at us on the menu we were given. My wife had fish and chips... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank chrislawrence1968
TickledT, General Manager at The Tickled Trout Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for purchasing a Travel Zoo voucher for use at the Tickled Trout. We are delighted that you approve of the substantial refurbishment. Your feedback is valuable and has been discussed withe the team. We hope now that you have found us you will return again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Tickled Trout Restaurant also viewed

 
Boughton Monchelsea, Maidstone
 

Been to The Tickled Trout Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$44
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Smiths Hill, Lower Road | West Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PE, England (Formerly The Chequers)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 814717
Description
The Tickled Trout, West Farleigh is a modern and stylish pub with 6 boutique hotel rooms and a fabulous fish themed restaurant with an Italian twist. It also features an impressive fresh wine and beer bar where our guests can eat or drink in a relaxed yet sophisticated environment. We are open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Like all our other venues, we pride ourselves on serving delicious wines, ciders and craft ales including those produced by our own winery Hush Heath Estate in nearby Staplehurst. Our beautiful boutique hotel rooms, with their own private entrance, are designed with comfort and luxury in mind and in the summer we open our sun filled deck and terrace 'al fresco' dining area which overlooks the large, landscaped garden, complete with children's play area. An outside bar complements this area and is a fantastic 'go-to' destination and meeting place to gather friends and family together.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Tickled Trout Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Tickled Trout Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?