We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Poppy Fields

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Rotisserie Traditional Pub Menu, Family Friendly External dining
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveller rating
370
303
181
147
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
370
303
181
147
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rotisserie chicken pudding pub restaurant family meal food was lovely marstons lunchtime
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Is a nice place but from my experience there I can say that is very disappointing when in so nice places like that working people without any customers service skills. We went there for breakfast yesterday Sunday morning they bring us 2 more coffees from...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Dimitra B
27liaw, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us. All staff ensure that orders are read back to guests and confirmed with yourselves before being rung through the tills as well as all necessary precautions...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great food, generous portions. Easy parking . Friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely return soon.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank criss10201
27liaw, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are excited to know that you will be returning and that you enjoyed your visit here with us. See you soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is nice inside and cosy, great for a family outing, a drink, or a business meeting. The service is nice. The menus were a bit grubby, I ordered the pulled Rotisserie chicken , creamy mushroom & Spinach pie, it came with chips. The...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank FineReviewer
27liaw, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you felt this way about the pie, all of our menu items are tried and tested before head office launch them meaning we do not receive the products until already approved by the company. However they...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was looking to get a table of 16 and this one the only one of many resturant that was happy to accommodate this at short notice. ( morning of the day we wanted). Cherly was great professional helpful friendly and provided a great service to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Dancjcar
Lia W, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us. I will pass on your messages of praise to Cherly and the kitchen team. We hope to see you and the family again soon! Have a lovely New Year!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went once back in the summer and had a bad experience. Menus grubby and the table was disgusting. Waited a long time for bog standard food. Service was also slow. I thought everywhere deserves a second chance so went today. Pretty much the same experience....More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Cupcakejin
Lia W, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with us, we shall be looking into the issues you have raised.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly we found the service to be fine, however the food was far from good. A group of us had the Christmas menu and I, being pescatarian had the veggie option, nutroast. The prawn cocktail was good, nice plump prawns that tasted good. It was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank echokent
Lia W, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. All feedback good or bad is of value to us in order to help us know where we went wrong. I will ensure that your issues will be raised with the kitchen team. Thank you again for your feedback and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place never lets us down. We are regular visitors here and we always have great service and delicious food. The snowman burger on the festive menu is amazing but unfortunately we didn't have enough space left to try the festive dessert but i will...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DanielStephen90
Lia W, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Meet friends for dinner at the weekend, taken to our table drinks and food all ordered,food was very tasty the staff very friendly.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank gary12523
Lia W, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, glad that you all had a great time with us. look forward to your return.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having booked this for my Company's Christmas festive treat I was looking forward to treating my team however the staff were extremely rude to us on arrival. After waiting an age for someone to seat us, the server kept saying that they had tried to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank SteveMRochester
Lia W, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we shall be looking into the issues you have raised.

Reviewed 12 December 2018

We called in on the off chance on a Friday night, the pub was busy and they were fully booked, but they found myself, partner and daughter a table. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was excellent. Food was really good too, hot...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank clairek564
Lia W, Manager at The Poppy Fields, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are really happy that you had such a great time and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
iwaring
21 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alex T | Property representative |
Hi Alex, unfortunately we do not accept the taste card. However we do offer NHS discount as well as special forces discount. If you visit our website we have some great sign up deals available too. I hope this is of use to... More
1
Vote
munchlunch_5
4 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Redsilence | Reviewed this property |
This is a family Restaurant and quite noisy. The food has never been that excellent, but the roasted chicken are quite good. They changed their Management some months ago and things are looking up somewhat but to be honest... More
1
Vote
munchlunch_5
22 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from MikeJD2015 | Reviewed this property |
We've been several times and no tabby cat.
2
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing