We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Prince George

££ - £££, British,
151 St. Albans Road, Watford WD24 5BB, England
+44 1923 447650
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (18 reviews)
“sunday roast” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
151 St. Albans Road, Watford WD24 5BB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We had a lovely Sunday Lunch at The Prince George, the ham hock was lovely and my partner had the beef which was very tasty, the crumble after was a great finish. Service was good but you could tell they were busy and we had...More

Thank TAW2001
Reviewed 2 days ago

Went in with my partner for a Sunday Roast. the starters were decent but then the mains took about 40 minutes to come out and when they did the meat was cold. We sent it back and then came out again with under cooked potatoes...More

Thank Andy B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've eaten here quite alot, although havn't visted much this summer. We used to really enjoy the George but after our last visit we won't be returning. Prices have increased quite alot, but that wasn't the main issue. Starters where nice, I ordered ribeye steak...More

Thank hattingh90
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I used to come here regularly for a reasonably priced Sunday lunch . Then they stopped doing them through the summer. Now they've started doing them again the prices have simply rocketed! Before the summer Sunday lunch would cost around £15 for 2 courses Now...More

Thank Andy_jm55
brendax26, Owner at The Prince George, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Andy_jm55 whilst we at The Prince George welcome feedback of both the positive and negative kind we do ask that that feedback be fair in its nature and intent. We have not been serving roasts at £15 for 2 courses for well over a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited especially for roast dinners and they didn’t disappoint - generous portions, well cooked, all the trimmings. I had the chicken and the addition of bread sauce was just lovely, great stuffing and the sharing leeks were a nice twist. The crumble dessert was...More

Thank Rachel C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were at Prince George for a quick lunch and the experience was incredible. Ambience, atmosphere and high-level food. You have many choices of gorgeous and tasty food, Macaroni & Cheese croquettes come from a different World, the Burger Brunch it is a meal itself...More

Thank PABLO V
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Have been here a few times..had late lunch today and was hoping for roast. Unfortunately roast dinner not back on the menu until 2nd September. However wasn't disappointed with the chicken burger and sausage and mash meals. The only improvement I would suggest is quicker...More

Thank DEBBIE M
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Dropped in to do some work, using the Wi-Fi, and grab some lunch. We chose the Chuck Eye steak. WOW. I have eaten a lot of steaks in various types of restaurants in and out of London and I can honestly say this was one...More

Thank Marc H
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Really tasty, British foods. Ambiance and service was so good. We went for company lunch and we already ordered before we arrived and all was prepared and served very quickly 👌

Thank Burcu U
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

As we stood on the other side of the road looking at a fake Tudor pub on a busy road - we all thought oh no!! How wrong could we be - Donald Russell steaks were wonderful, service friendly and really nice atmosphere. If only...More

Thank Scott P
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Watford
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
823 reviews
.17 miles away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
445 reviews
.35 miles away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1,714 reviews
.64 miles away
Best Western White House Hotel
489 reviews
.77 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Eats and Treats
87 reviews
.27 miles away
Nana's
553 reviews
.14 miles away
Derwish Restaurant
152 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cheslyn House & Gardens
143 reviews
.92 miles away
Cassiobury Park
706 reviews
.81 miles away
Watford Palace Theatre
96 reviews
.69 miles away
Parents Paradise
61 reviews
.97 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Steve W
15 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ChazzaM | Reviewed this property |
They have BT Sports and terrestrial channels but not Sky Sports. I get the impression that they try to avoid showing football as this is not the ambience they're looking to generate but will put it on if requested.
0
Votes
stevenstonmark
15 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Claire A | Reviewed this property |
It's not within an ideal walking distance from The Hilton, but it's not far in a cab.
0
Votes
christed
13 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from IvanR1967 | Reviewed this property |
You can get it from their website princegeorgewatford . It obviously doesn't have the specials.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 151 St. Albans Road, Watford WD24 5BB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Watford
  • Phone Number: +44 1923 447650
  • E-mail
Description
New comfortable renovated pub in North Watford just 5 minutes walk from Watford Junction Station along St Albans Road. We are family friendly and have a Beer Garden behind the pub. Our Head Chef is 5 star trained and has worked at The Grove Hotel in Watford and also in 5 star properties in London. Our food is classic pub style with a smokehouse twist.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing