We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Imperial Walsall - CLOSED

Darwall Street, Walsall WS1 1DA, England
+44 1922 640934
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good20%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
18 Mar 2016
“Sad News”
14 Mar 2016
“drinks at the imperial”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Pub, American, Bar, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Darwall Street, Walsall WS1 1DA, England
All Details
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2016

My self and a few others have been using the imperial almost every week for the few years and it is without a doubt the best atmosphere i have ever experienced in a pub. the staff have always been friendly and happy to help, and...More

1  Thank Rassilon T
Reviewed 14 March 2016

impessive decor all the art deco kept in place a classic Weatherspoons refurbishment.despite a smallish bar area servce was quick

Thank David M
Reviewed 1 March 2016

It's a spoons, so you get what you get, cheap food and booze, atmosphere is hit and miss but the cake is great :)

Thank walsallbabe75
Jack-DanielJDW, Public Relations Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Glad to hear you love our cake :) we will be having some different cakes in soon so make sure to pop back in and check the different ones we have. Thanks for leaving your feedback. See you again very soon.

Reviewed 20 February 2016

At first glance it seemed a bit dull but the staff and food that i had there more than made up for it. Considering it was quite busy in there we got served quite quick with a smile even though you could see they were...More

Thank Kevin H
Jack-DanielJDW, Public Relations Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you for leaving your positive feedback and we do hope to see you very soon.

Reviewed 20 February 2016

Havent been for a while to Walsall wetherspoons but went again today and as usual the food was great and so was the service. Would recommend it to any one and will be going again.

Thank Stuart L
Jack-DanielJDW, Public Relations Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you so much for leaving your glowing comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Reviewed 7 January 2016

I use Wetherspoons a lot. The Imperial is a great old building and makes a brilliant pub. Sadly on my one and only visit the two members of staff I delt with unfriendly and my breakfast was close to cold on a cold plate. I...More

1  Thank Injun1304
Jack-DanielJDW, Public Relations Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

I am very sorry on this occasion the service you recieved wasn't too the high standard that we strive to give out to all our customers. I will look into this matter further and make sure it doesn't happen again. But I do hope next...More

Reviewed 6 January 2016

Called in again to The Imperial to have breakfast and we were not disappointed, the food was hot and tasty, if you are in Walsall give it a try. We were served by Jack who was very polite, and he made sure everything was ok...More

Thank Pete W
Jack-DanielJDW, Public Relations Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thanks for leaving your feedback and we do hope you come back as a regular customer you are. Thank you again.

Reviewed 4 January 2016

As part of our tour of Wetherspoons in the west midlands and further afield we visited The Imperial in Walsall. Three of us ordered breakfast from a barman with a very strange haircut who was extremely miserable and unfriendly. Our sausage bap, full English breakfast...More

Thank Ourgal
Jack-DanielJDW, Public Relations Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

I am very sorry your experience wasn't what you hoped it would be. I am sorry on this occasion we fell below our very high standards. I will look into this matter further and make sure we strive to make it better in the future....More

Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

Been here and ordered food...the women was snotty and slammed plate on the table because I said I didn't want the sweet chilli sauce on there because I don't like chilli worst place in. Walsall that ive been to have food and a waste of...More

Thank jade-chloe
Jack-DanielJDW, Public Relations Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I dealt with this matter personally and as I said to yourself and your mother we cannot change food after you have ordered it and not requested the sweet chilli sauce to be left off. Our menu clearly states...More

Reviewed 14 December 2015

The usual Wetherspoons pricing and menu but with added good, prompt service. The venue is an old theatre or cinema and JDW have done a great job in retaining some of the original features.

Thank Scorpio227
Jack-DanielJDW, Public Relations Manager at The Imperial Walsall, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Thank you for leaving your feedback. It's nice to hear you enjoyed your experience. We hope to see you very soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Black Country Arms
116 reviews
.19 miles away
Arbor Lights
226 reviews
.15 miles away
President Lounge
35 reviews
.18 miles away
The Bakehouse
19 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Walsall Leather Museum
440 reviews
.22 miles away
Walsall Arboretum
408 reviews
.46 miles away
Ace Karting Plus
40 reviews
.81 miles away
Walsall Gala Baths
7 reviews
.05 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Darwall Street, Walsall WS1 1DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Walsall
  • Phone Number: +44 1922 640934
Description
J D Wetherspoon was founded in 1979, when Tim (now our groovy chairman) opened his first pub in north London. We now have over 900 free houses across the UK, stretching as far north as Wick to as far south as Penzance. Our pubs are housed in a variety of buildings, some of which had previously been churches, department stores, theatres and even a fire engine factory! We're also in a lot of airports and train stations across the land - perfect when you are on the move. We're open from 8am for breakfast and serve Italy's favourite coffee - Lavazza. Our full menu is available until 11pm every evening, with our famous Curry Club on a Thursday night, where thousands join us for a great curry and a drink, for an even greater price. We also have Steak Club on a Tuesday and Sunday Club on, well a Sunday so it's the perfect excuse to visit us! Real ale is something with which we're very proud to be associated, we always have a range of ales to choose from, sourcing guest ales from over 600 local breweries every year. We have two annual beer festivals, along with lots of local pub events.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing