We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
£5 - £10
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (213)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
158
24
10
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
158
24
10
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch sourdough toast club sandwich halloumi fish finger sandwich eggs royale sandwiches salmon lovely cafe independent cafe high street great coffee all day breakfast amazing food friendly atmosphere hayley vegan
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to Elderberry Blacks more times than we can count. There are so many breakfast/brunch options and the food is simply delicious. We selfishly didn’t want to leave a review because it’s a small cafe and we don’t want everyone to find out...the area’s best kept secret, and not be able to get a table ourselves! but we know how important these reviews are for small business and honestly they deserve it. Very family friendly with a lovely little area for children and baby changing too. Also dog friendly! It’s small though so get there early or call and book ahead! Special shout out to the mushrooms and spinach in thyme butter which are UNREAL! Our go to every time we want breakfast/brunch!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If venturing into Knowle in search of breakfast/brunchie food… choose here. It’s a little gem of a cafe in premises with character. Really casual and homely. Food was freshly made and served promptly. Popular, so if you don’t like waiting for a table, perhaps can...call ahead and reserve. I will happily return and try out more of their menu.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024

My mom booked me an afternoon tea here for my birthday. Having booked it for 12:45 we arrived for that time and were promptly told in no uncertain terms very abruptly, that we were 20 minutes late and would not be allowed to stay past...2 as they close at this time. Given that they knew it was my birthday I thought some sort of good feeling might have been present but unfortunately, I was very much mistaken. At this point, we should have just left as the experience only got worse. My mom was then given a tea with no milk, the afternoon tea was served- very plain and very obvious that they had had it ready for when they thought we were going to be arriving and left it out as the sandwich bread was slightly stale. When we left clearly the staff thought about the way they had treated us as they tried to explain there was a mix-up and they didn't realize we were arriving at that time, by which time it was too little too late. Wish I could have spent my birthday anywhere else, terrible hospitality and as it is an independent family business we really wanted to like it.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hayley Fraser, Owner at Elderberry Blacks Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alice, We told your mother at the time of booking afternoon tea that we close at 2pm on Mondays and Tuesdays. We had electrical work booked in from 2pm that is why we as adamant we have to close at 2pm and it couldn't...More

Reviewed 31 January 2024

I often stop off at Elderberry Blacks for a Takeaway sandwich and a coffee due to spending a lot of time on the road for work. Service is always spot on, friendly front of house staff as well as chefs, no trouble when I’m always...asking for extra adjustments to my sandwich, the food never fails to hit the spot and the homemade Mayo deserves a special shout-out of its own! Highly recommend to check this spot out!More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Great service, fantastic veggie breakfast and my colleague enjoyed his full English very much. Fresh produce, very well seasoned. Definitely coming back

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2023

Have visited several times and cannot fault the food. However bar maybe one occasion, the service has been extremely off putting, rude even. Appreciate its in Knowle, an affluent area. But that doesn’t give the them a free pass to behave they way they do

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 June 2023

Delicious brunch, the tastiest mushrooms ever on sourdough toast with spinach & parmesan. Fabulous independent cafe in Knowle superb food, lots of choice on the menu and fab friendly staff. I highly recommend a visit

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2023 via mobile

We came for a birthday brunch after reading great reviews on here. So pleased we did. Delicious cooked breakfast and great service. Lovely rustic vibe with a great selection of tasty breakfasts and drinks. Thank you! We'll be back.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

WOW - what a brunch …. Food was amazing - such generous portions and value for money . The staff are friendly and helpful - highly recommend - even if it’s just for a pit stop - however I would build in another 30-40 mins...to your stay and delve into there wonderful breakfast/ lunch menu - you will not be disappointed . Will defiantly be back - thank youMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2023

Came for a lovely spot of tea with my Mother for her birthday on Sunday, tea was absolutely gorgeous. Red- headed lady was very accommodating and made my day. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2023

Lovely cafe, the staff are welcoming and polite. There is lots to choose from on the menu, I had an omelette with salad which was perfect, I haven’t found another place that makes omelettes like them. My partner had French toast which she said was...amazing! Definitely the best cafe about. Look forward to coming back!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 May 2023 via mobile

What a great place to meet and recharge! The food was amazing - mushroom, egg and spinach on toasted sourdough bread, with Parmesan for a delicious twist. Lou gave an enthusiastic and cheerful welcome and kept us well served with hot drinks. Definitely a place...to visit again!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2023 via mobile

Me and my partner dined here after a short walk from home. I really enjoyed the French toast with my favourite cup of loose leaf Berry tea. My partner tried the mushroom brunch for the very first time and wow will definitely be going back...just for that alone.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2023 via mobile

Arrived with partner to this cute looking cafe as i had been recommended by a family member. We walked in and it was an awkward atmosphere as we didn’t know wether we seat ourselves or get seated so we’re kind of lingering near the front....The staff member noticed us but didn’t say anything until i asked do i seat myself or is there set seating. She then went to check for seating and then went to where we’re told to go, this was quite cold, dark and empty feeling area. I went up and ordered and the woman was pleasant with the service. Our drinks arrived and they were good but i felt the cold drink i ordered was quite empty and could’ve had more for the price i paid, but then the food came and we were left disappointed. It looked nice but the whole food just tasted like it had been dunked in water and was soggy which also took away any taste, it was just about warm so became cold very quickly. I would also expect maybe a couple more bits on the plate like another sausage and definitely another slice of toast. Both me and my partner could only eat half our meal due to all this. Unfortunately i wouldn’t go back or recommend this place 😫Maybe it was a one off or maybe i should’ve just ordered something else but i was left we’re disappointed due to lack of flavour and the pure water taste. And my whole meal of two breakfasts and one hot and one cold drink came to £30! Also one thing i would have preferred is the choice between normal beans or smoky beans as i don’t like smoky beans and i imagine there’s more people with the same opinion. It was a good place to try but again i wouldn’t return or recommend.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2023

My goodness the breakfast is fabulous and so is the hot chocolate. It was a hidden find but the mum’s club will be back. There is so much choice with the food.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hayley Fraser, Owner at Elderberry Blacks Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2023

Thank you for taking the time out to review us. I will pass your message on to the team. Kind regards Hayley

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Forest Hotel
269 reviews
1.33 miles away
Hogarths Hotel
1,304 reviews
1.84 miles away
Ramada by Wyndham Birmingham Solihull
1,728 reviews
2.41 miles away
Crowne Plaza Solihull, an IHG Hotel
1,130 reviews
2.51 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cheal's
76 reviews
.10 miles away
Bistro Viola
257 reviews
.19 miles away
Ellora Curry Centre
384 reviews
.13 miles away
Greswolde Arms Hotel
662 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Heronfield Small Breeds Farm and Animal Rescue Centre
51 reviews
1.01 miles away
Four Ashes Golf Centre
116 reviews
1.67 miles away
Malvern and Brueton Park
241 reviews
1.88 miles away
Knowle Parish Church
18 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alan D
28 March 2019|
Answer
Response from HayleyzF | Property representative |
Hi Ash D when would you like it for? you can call us on 01564776344 Hayley
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ELDERBERRY BLACKS CAFE, Solihull - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Elderberry Blacks Cafe

Yes, Elderberry Blacks Cafe offers takeaway services.

Elderberry Blacks Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5