We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$19
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
52
31
16
21
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
52
31
16
21
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 August 2021

This place doesn’t even deserve a star. Bunch of scammers. Ever since we went to this place my husband has issues with his card and all sorta of dd are being set without his knowledge. Obviously no one admits nothing. Do not let them touch...or even see your bank card and if you already did go through all of your transactions. Absolutely disgusting.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 7 August 2021

Arrived for a reggae music evening. Charged £11.40 for 2 Bacardi and coke, my friend was charged £6.95 for a martini. There were 4 of us but we left after 1 drink. Not being ripped off the same night I went to Solihull town centre...and 2 drinks cost me £6 . It is a pub in a side street not in a city centre. We will not return to this pubMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 10 July 2021

Was refused entry into their beer garden as I'm exempt from wearing a facemask. Felt totally discriminated against and the lady at door had no interest in what I was saying. First and last time I'll be visiting. Left a review on Facebook which they...have deleted and I have written them an email about my experience and as I thought no reply. So, if you have a hidden disability and can't wear a mask you will be discriminated again so take your custom elsewhere.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

We came here after a skate. Had a lovely meal with the kids. The young lady Emily was on her own and was doing a great job of keeping things ticking over. The food was great value and it was really nice. Had a brief...chat with Emily outside, all hospitality are struggling right now and it’s so nice to see staff still being upbeat and welcoming to new guests. We will visit again!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 October 2019

Glad they have a quiz back on, I've missed it since the spring. They laid on free food last Tuesday during the quiz which was nice of them. Hope they see an increasing custom and a quiz longevity.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 13 July 2019

We visited the hobs meadow when we arrived it was really quiet,so we ordered our food they seemed to be short staffed,anyway our food arrived which was lovely no complaints,so then we decided to have puddings went to order them no problem thought they wouldn't...take long so we waited and waited kept asking yeah they are doing them,then when I asked again she said I did tell you half and hour wait and she didn't then 50 minutes later we got them she threw the spoons on the table and said sorry which wasn't sincere,overall lovely food but poor service will never return here again as service from Claire was horribleMore

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
paula c, Manager at Hobs Meadow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2019

Hello Mitch Thankyou for taking time to leave us your review , we welcome all feedback , may I just hilite a couple of your points ? You stayed when you arrive it was rather quiet yet under staffed ? You mentioned “Clair “ who...More

Reviewed 10 July 2019

Attended for a family get together, was served quickly at the bar although was busy,food was hot and fresh an also came quickly. We had a screaming 1 yr old an the manager was ace at keeping him distracted whilst working on the floor. Staff...were great. Over all the service was ace, the special burgers are great an will definitely be returning. Beer garden is ace aswel, has climbing frame an grass area and my older boy of 6 loved it. Happy customers 👍👍 see you soonMore

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
paula c, Manager at Hobs Meadow, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Hi janes thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review , we are glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 8 July 2019

Use this place regular and overall I really enjoy it staff are usually great funny friendly and attentive to the needs we have, however some occasions more recently have been disappointed, one barmaid is great don’t think I’ve seen anyone work as hard as she...does in any other pub I’ve visited especially when working alone at really busy intervals, also the manager/owner is very very friendly kind and generous, during a very busy day over the weekend I asked a young staff member who brought our food out why wasn’t there more staff on such a busy day however I wasn’t rude ,to which she replied “ I don’t no anything,the bar staff are always left alone, sometimes I’m dumped on the bar with no training whilst not old enough and left alone and punished when I then make a mistake” I was so saddened and taken aback that such a busy friendly pub on the outside are treating staff with this attitude I hope this is sorted soon as otherwise I can’t fault this but slavery was abolished moons ago and feel it needs a mentionMore

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
paula c, Manager at Hobs Meadow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Hello lee , firstly Thankyou for taking time to leave us a review however there are points that I find very upsetting and that I take very seriously , may I assure you that none of my staff are not old enough to be found...More

Reviewed 15 June 2019 via mobile

I have never been here before, not even in it’s previous state. I noticed it being renovated last year and thought I would come and have a beer as there was a band on. The place is lovely inside. Light and airy with a very...clean appearance. I didn’t have any food whilst here but there are deals on. A nice atmosphere and very clean and tidy.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 March 2019 via mobile

The pub clean, good atmosphere, friendly staff and the food was amazing. Would recommend 10/10. Good outside area with climbing frame for children.

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
562 reviews
.52 miles away
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
427 reviews
1.30 miles away
Sure Hotel by Best Western Birmingham South
251 reviews
1.46 miles away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport - NEC, an IHG hotel
2,265 reviews
1.50 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gorkha Lounge
116 reviews
.59 miles away
Papa John's Pizza
9 reviews
.07 miles away
B26 Food of India
342 reviews
.58 miles away
Istanbul Turkish BBQ
88 reviews
.58 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Magpie Mines
51 reviews
.80 miles away
Planet Play
15 reviews
.30 miles away
Planet Ice Solihull
109 reviews
.09 miles away
Hobs Moat Ancient Monument
27 reviews
.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jtc1472017
7 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HobsMeadow | Property representative |
Hello You need to pay for parking between 9.30am - 3pm Monday to Friday. Tickets cost £2 for three hours which you then bring into the bar and we will refund your £2 off your purchase. Thank you Hobs Management
1
Vote
Carol A
22 September 2016|
Answer
Response from HobsMeadow | Property representative |
Please visit our website to see our full menu's, you can access our website through our facebook page. Also you shall be able to see all ur upcoming events and offers as well. Thanks Tom General Manager
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hobs Meadow

Hobs Meadow is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5