We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Red House

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
34 Hermitage Road, Solihull B91 2LP, England
+44 121 704 4441
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 201: English reviews
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good carvery meal, good fish and chips, good choice of ales and all at decent prices. We shall return.

Helpful?
1 Thank bigJQS
sarahl0u14, Manager at The Red House, responded to this review

Thank you very much, for your positive feedback! We have upgraded our carvery units & now have new highly qualified chefs with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future and we will continue to improve as best we can! Sarah & Debbie More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Went here for lunch today to catch up with friends. We opted for the carvery at £3.99 and it was absolutely beautiful. There was only two choices of meat - turkey and pork but there was also sausages, stuffing and Yorkshire pudding plus a large choice of vegetables like roasted parsnips, peas, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower cheese, roast potatoes and mashed... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Marge L
sarahl0u14, Manager at The Red House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comment about your visit to The Red House. We look forward to seeing you again!! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Went for a few beers with friends, and were told that because we weren't regulars they would charge us more for our drinks, absolutely disgusted.Is that even legal? It is a public house not a private members club. Needless to say we will not be going back.

Helpful?
5 Thank Philthefloor
sarahl0u14, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review

We have already explained to you it's a loyalty scheme for The Red House regulars. It is an inappropriate remark, 'rip off' on the Tripadvisor website. I repeat, we have already explained on the Facebook page. Many Thanks More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We stopped going here as previously we were dissapointed but a change of owners have changed all that the staff are VERY POLITE and courteous its quiet no screaming kids under your feet and the food is the best in Solihull and the cheapest too

Helpful?
4 Thank Les N
sarahl0u14, Manager at The Red House, responded to this review

Thank you Les, for the great review! We look forward to seeing you again at The Red House!! More 

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We had an excellent carvery lunch at the Red House on Valentine's Day. Friendly staff, good service and a really well-cooked and tasty carvery all for £3.99! what's not to like

Helpful?
3 Thank Sue H
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Excellent carvery every day £3.99 . Friday fish and chips.£2.49. Good food. Friendly staff. FREE live Entertainment every sat. Night. Love it. Would recommend . 50% off menu every Monday.

Helpful?
4 Thank patricia222pc
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Needed to find somewhere willing to cater for a hot buffet meal for 60 people. Tried a number of local pub chains who had only standard catering packages to offer from tick box menus. Delighted when I found this family run business who were prepared to customise catering based on what we wanted. Ideal location, fantastic food and facility for... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank lbenne7
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We decided we would like a carvery and although the only meats on offer were pork or turkey, the food was tasty with a good choice of vegetables. Had not been here for many many years, but will return.

Helpful?
2 Thank Elmdon
solihull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Visited here on Monday for the first time since New Management . All the staff seemed very friendly and helpful . Very pleased to see that its still 50% off main menu prices on a Monday so decided to have Sirloin steaks .They were delicious and very tender and both the chips and especially the onion rings were extremely tasty... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank SolihullTaz
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

So we went here as it was recommended by a friend as he said the steaks were lovely. First impression as we entered was staff at the bar laughing and joking amongst themselves and nobody acknowledged us. We went to a table and then had to search for a menu, the tables were bare with no cutlery napkins and there... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Ian C

Travellers who viewed The Red House also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 Hermitage Road, Solihull B91 2LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Midlands  >  Solihull
  • Phone Number: +44 121 704 4441

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Red House and other visitors
12 questions
Ask a question
11 days ago
6 months ago
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Red House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?