We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Garstang Road | Barton Grange Hotel, Preston PR3 5AA, England
+44 1772 866135
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 402: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

we were staying at the hotel,and was going to eat at the pub opposite,lucky for us,it was full, so came here//the waitress seated us quickly and served us equally as quickly. the food was served hot and was very well cooked.. the menu was diverse and wasnt expensive...would we go again...oh yes...quality and value..

Helpful?
Thank neilheysham
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately we had a very bad experience on Sunday 13th November 22 of us sat waiting for over half an hour at the table to be asked what we would all be requiring . We then had another long wait for the food, even though we had young children. This had been booked for a while. All the requirements had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Wendy F, I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience in the bistro, if you would like to contact me direct at alex@walledgardenrestaurant.co.uk I would be happy to discuss further with you. Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We rang and booked the table well in advance, we were told that we would get a phone call to pay a deposit which we never received, some changes of extra guest were needed to be added, we tried to call on many of occasions prior and was unable to get through, eventually when we got to speak to someone,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey N
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lyndsey N, I would very much like the opportunity to discuss this with you further if you would like to contact me at alex@walledgardenrestaurant.co.uk I would very much like the opportunity to chat. Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

Devon, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely evening meal! The food was excellent, especially the desserts and service could not be faulted! BUT it was quite cold in the restaurant area and so we were anxious to return to the VERY comfortable settees in the bar area for our coffees.

Helpful?
Thank Exonians
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Exonians, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and such a lovely one! I'll pass your comments on to our team (and tell them to pop the heating on!). Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

Arundel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions, and always enjoyed it. I was therefore very disappointed when I was there recently to experience indifferent service. We had to summon a member of the waiting staff to get the food ordered a long time earlier for both courses, although there seemed to be plenty of staff wafting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arundeltraveller
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Arundeltraveller, I am so sorry to read about your disappointing experience, please could you get in touch on 01772 866135 and we can discuss in some more detail? Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely place for lunch with friends and family, menu very good, service average but still worth going to if you are in the area

Helpful?
Thank Beverley A
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Beverley A, Thanks so much for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch! Just so you are aware I am currently undergoing some training with my staff, who can't wait to welcome you back! Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stayed in a Premier inn a few miles away and found this restaurant by chance having been unimpressed with restaurants nearer the hotel. Received a friendly welcome and were quickly seated. Mains of fish and chips and soup and sliders arrived quickly and were tasty and nicely presented. Good pub food at satisfactory prices,

Helpful?
Thank lakes99
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear lakes99, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this lovely review, looking forward to welcoming you back again soon! Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

The staff were very friendly and attentive. We had dinner here on a Sunday evening. Be warned that what you see on the website menus may not be what's on the menu on your day of dining. Food was good. The dining room is spacious and modern.

Helpful?
Thank ritso351
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ritso351, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! Really looking forward to having you back in again soon. Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

We have had many evening meals in this hotel restaurant over the years an have had both excellent food and service every time. The last visit was for a lunch time meal which we ate outside over looking the walled garden, brilliantly!

Helpful?
Thank raymond s
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear raymond s, Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review online! We really look forward to welcoming you again soon. Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

kirkham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

My friend and I had afternoon tea, the sandwiches were nice and fresh (in some restaurants they are made before and are stale from hanging around) I did not like egg so asked for a alternative sandwich which was replaced by cheese. Enjoyed the mini steak Pattie, also cakes were moist and tasty. I have not been here for many... More 

Helpful?
Thank mwareing
Alexandra G, Manager at The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear mwareing, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment!! I will let the team know. Many thanks, Alexandra Restaurant Manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant also viewed

 
Preston, Lancashire
 

Been to The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$42 - US$167
Cuisine
British, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Garstang Road | Barton Grange Hotel, Preston PR3 5AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Preston
  • Phone Number: +44 1772 866135

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Blackpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Walled Garden Bistro Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?