We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Walled Garden Restaurant

Garstang Road | Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
+44 1772 862551
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good27%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“sandwiches” (30 reviews)
“salmon” (12 reviews)
“pudding” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Garstang Road | Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed the Walled Garden on Friday evening. Excellent food, service and ambience will live entertainment. Would highly recommend.

1  Thank Carly L
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here with nice surroundings including the lovely comfortable couches and chairs in the bar area of the restaurant Can sit in or out Nice views of the garden Specials served on several night and Sunday lunch We were here as staying...More

Thank DeniseLock
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I visited the Walled Garden with my family mid July, we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Some of our party ate from the Garden menu, great value at £19.95 for 3 courses. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. Would definitely visit...More

Thank gillwalton53
Reviewed 11 August 2017

We have visited The Walled Garden on several occasions in the past and always been satisfied. Whatever has gone wrong? It was a Friday lunchtime and deadly quiet - the alarm bells should have rung. We were celebrating friends golden wedding anniversary - how embarrassing!...More

1  Thank sisterslancashire
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

I have been to The Walled Garden many times for what used to be an amazing Afternoon Tea. This year I booked for Father's Day and took my Father and my Father-in-Law. To be fair to the place there was roadworks that were causing havoc...More

Thank Northerngirllost
Cathryn W, Front Office Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Northengirllost, It is very disappointing for us to read that we didn't get your visit to the Walled Garden right for you. I would really appreciate your time to discuss this further with you. Please could you send your contact details to cathryn@bartongrangehotel.com and...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Booked a table for 7 people for afternoon tea on a Sunday after been highly recommended by my mother on a previous visit. At £13.95 the food was so disappointing. It must have cost £2 tops to produce. All the cakes were sponge and tasted...More

Thank Andrea S
Cathryn W, Front Office Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear Andrea S I am so sorry to read that your visit did not meet your expectations. Please could you contact me on 01772 862551 or cathryn@bartongrangehotel.com as I would like the opportunity to discuss your visit further. Kind regards Cathryn

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We visited here after our son purchased an afternoon tea voucher as part of a present for us. We booked in on a Thursday afternoon and so far so good. We arrived and gave the waiter our voucher to then be told the walled garden...More

2  Thank Rogerson149
Cathryn W, Front Office Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Dear Rogerson149 I am very sorry to read that you had a disappointing visit to us, I would appreciate your time to discuss this with you further. Please could you send your contact details to cathryn@bartongrangehotel.com and I will be in touch. Kind regards Cathryn

Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

I recently visited this restaurant for lunch with 2 children under 5 The service was shocking waited over 10 mins for menus to arrive it was not particularly busy either The food was not to its usual standards either Don't visit with young children the...More

Thank kathy472014
Cathryn W, Front Office Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear Mrs Rigby, I am sorry to read about your disappointing service experience in the Walled Garden. This is not our usual standards, and your comments have been discussed with all the staff so that we can continue to improve our standards. Please contact me...More

Reviewed 2 June 2017

We went for an afternoon tea, at the walled garden,walI have been to many afternoon teas and enjoyed them all, some more than others, and then we went to this one, and.... it is something else.... indeed !! the selection on the three tier stand...More

1  Thank Mimi W
Cathryn W, Front Office Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Dear Mimi W Thank you so much for a fabulous 5 star review on your afternoon tea experience. Our team of staff work very hard to deliver a friendly and welcoming service along with quality and tempting afternoon teas, it was a pleasure to share...More

Reviewed 1 June 2017

i went last sunday for a friends birthday lunch. not a good welcome.my starter fetuccine fete sun dried tomato veg in a lovely sauce .very nice. then came my roast beef dinner.the beef was tough.the potatos very dry to say the least. limited veg.my dessert...More

Thank geoffrey h
Cathryn W, Front Office Manager at The Walled Garden Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2017

Geoffrey h Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in the Walled Garden, we really do appreciate all feedback, although you enjoyed your starter I am disappointed to read that your visit did not meet your expectations. Please could contact me directly...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Sparling
1,082 reviews
.07 miles away
Barton Bangla Brasserie
222 reviews
.55 miles away
Barton Fish And Chips
32 reviews
.60 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Barton Grange Garden Centre - Workshops
383 reviews
1.77 miles away
Myerscough College Plant World
26 reviews
2.01 miles away
Brock Bottom
33 reviews
3.93 miles away
Deepdale Stadium
38 reviews
4.43 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
maxine h
22 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Tim R | Property representative |
The restaurant is open for evening meal at 5:30pm - 9:30pm Monday to Saturday and 5:30pm - 8:30pm on a Sunday
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$28
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Garstang Road | Barton, Preston PR3 5AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Preston
  • Phone Number: +44 1772 862551
  • E-mail
Description
The Walled Garden Restaurant occupies the site of what was originally kitchen vegetable plot for Barton Grange. We felt that the garden with it’s mellow brick walls and pergola would make a good foundation for our restaurant – and we liked the idea of retaining it’s culinary purpose – so we covered it with a roof and filled it with tables and chairs. Diners can now relax over their meals in the conservatory, enjoy semi-private dining in the summer house – or even gather around the sink in the old wash house, should they choose! We are open throughout the day for lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. Enjoy a bottle of wine from our extensive menu or to try one of the select few bottles of open wine & fizz see on our our blackboard menu. At the Walled Garden Restaurant we take great pride in using the best local Lancashire produce.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing