We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Water Witch

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
+44 1524 63828
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 441: English reviews
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I came for my Christmas staff party this evening, The food was fantastic, especially the Salmon Pate starter, the log fire in the bar area adds a nice homely feeling to the place, i will make sure to visit again shortly.

Helpful?
Thank waynehart1985
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Fancy names on the menu, tasteless basic food in reality. tagine turned out to be unseasoned carrot and squash, without sauce, on top of overcooked pasta.

Helpful?
Thank John C
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There I would be grateful if you could give us call regarding your review, to get to the actual facts surrounding your visit to us. By the way, the Tagine ( a very popular dish) does not come with pasta as you say in your comments. It comes with Cous Cous. You can get us on 01524 63828 Regards... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I came in here for dinner with my girlfriend, I was greeted by friendly staff and the largest choice of ciders I have ever seen in a pub! I really like the rustic feel combined with the real log fire. We ordered food which arrived very promptly. I had a black pudding and bacon starter and a lamb shank both... More 

Helpful?
Thank theManInGrey94
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hello the maningrey94 Thanks for your review and complementing our pub. We try to keep 8 ciders available and its proving to be very popular! We are glad you enjoyed your food and hope you visit us again soon regards Simon More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on bonfire night witch was a Saturday. Despite being packed with diners and drinkers we were soon found a table by a smart young chap. As it was a nippy night both my partner and I plummer for a winter warming dish each of beef chilli and trio of sausages. Both meals arrived in good time and were of... More 

Helpful?
Thank flonro11
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Flonro11 I remember your visit, as we were hunting for a table for you! Great that you enjoyed your meal before before going on to the fireworks! Hope to see you again soon regards Simon More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here for dinner last Friday. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The pub has a great selection of beer and ciders and the real log fire gave it a homely feel. I had the lamb shank which came with seasonal veg and mash. It was really tender and fell off the bone! My boyfriend had the mushroom pie... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheeseface95
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi there! Wonderful review from you and certainly appreciated. I will feedback you comments to all the team Regards Simon More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here for food before (and have generally been impressed) Just drinks on this occasion, a great selection and a nice atmosphere (quiet but not too quiet) to enjoy them in. Thanks very much!

Helpful?
Thank Worlds_fastest_sheep
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review! We have recently increased our "real cider range", and now offer up to 6 different ciders and 6 hand pulled real ales at any time! Thanks again Regards Simon More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff but very disappointing food. Chicken Shnitzel burger was small and very tough. The bread underneath was soggy and the chips were barely cooked. By piri piri chips they simply dumped a stack of dry spice powder on top. The falafel was slightly better but quite dry. Staff were quite helpful in response but we decided against... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Andrew. Sorry that we didn't get it quite right on your visit to us. We did however do everything we could to correct the issues, including giving you a concession on your bill. We hope you visit us again soon. Regards Simon and the team More 

NW England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here after reading the reviews and expected a good meal with similar service. I ordered a Chicken dish that was served with 'Indian' spices and Nan Bread. The chicken was so-so and the bread was only luke warm and soggy. Had one of the staff called and asked I would have said so at the time, but although they... More 

Helpful?
Thank WillMakin
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi Will Thanks for your comments, all of witch have been fed back to the team Regards Simon Morrissey GM More 

Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a most excellent Sunday roast here today. The portions were a good size and the roast meat was carved quite thick. Served with seasonal veg. There was a buzz about the place and although music was played,it didn't intrude. Finally walk off that lunch with a stroll along the canal

Helpful?
Thank 94primrose
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hello there! Thanks so much for your fantastic review. Sunday lunch is popular, and a real hearty meal! See you again soon regards Simon More 

Manly, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Location location location! Shared a delicious bottle of bubbles for 20 quid and some breads/oil/vinegar the ideal rest after a long drive or a day at the shops. Great selection of beers on tap and good looking menu. When the sun is out this is the place to be, I'm sure it gets v busy!!

Helpful?
Thank Mandaroni
MitchellsofLanc, General Manager at The Water Witch, responded to this review

Hi There Thanks for you great review. I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit! Kind regards Simon More 

Travellers who viewed The Water Witch also viewed

Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Lancaster, Lancashire
 

Been to The Water Witch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Delicatessen
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aldcliffe Road | Aldcliffe Lane, Lancaster LA1 1SU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 63828
Description
The Water Witch was originally converted from purpose built stables in 1978 and offers a large range of high quality dishes ranging from Great British classics to continental cuisine.

Our Head Chef sources all of our produce wherever possible from local British suppliers, enabling us to reduce our food miles and serve you the very best of what's in season.

Whether you're visiting to sample our superb array of drinks, dine in our restaurant or combining a little of both - you're always guaranteed a warm welcome at the Water Witch.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Water Witch and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Catterall, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Chorley, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Water Witch staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?