We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merchants 1688

) #6 of 182 Restaurants in Lancaster ££ - £££ Bar, British, Pub
29 Castle Hill, Lancaster LA1 1YN, England
+44 1524 66466
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good36%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“hot pot” (18 reviews)
“pie” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
DETAILS
29 Castle Hill, Lancaster LA1 1YN, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

On a very hot day, was lovely to sit outside having a drink and some fantastic food, very friendly staff , great experience :)

Thank ShanBean12
Reviewed 1 week ago

Siperb pub visit. Visited on a Saturday night with 4x friends. Normally, wouldn't risk eating out over the weekend - habit from living in the Lake District - as poor service and rushed food is normally guaranteed. However, very impressed with ambiance of the pub,...More

Thank FoxghyllGuestHouse
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my husband called here just for a drink and ended up having a meal lovely setting and the food was out of this world will definitely be returning x

Thank deemar26
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here for a birthday lunch and it was great! Food was lovely, service was great! No complaints at all.

Thank Beth130
Tim T, Owner at Merchants 1688, responded to this review

We are really delighted that you enjoyed your birthday lunch with us and also enjoyed our service. We hope to see you again soon Regards Anthony Kitching Assistant Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been coming to the Merchants for years (in fact, we met there), so I don't know why I haven't reviewed it before. We had dinner there on Saturday night, and my, was it good! I ordered the venison, and was a bit dubious when...More

Thank GreedyLizzie
Tim T, Assistant manager at Merchants 1688, responded to this review

We are really delighted that you have enjoyed your recent visit. Our aim is to make sure that all customers are happy and satisfied with their meals and service. We are delighted that this was achieved on this occasion and we hope to see you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here a few weeks ago with my partner, had a great meal and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful

Thank CharlotteFylde123
Tim T, Assistant Manager at Merchants 1688, responded to this review

We are really delighted that you had a really enjoyable experience with us and we hope to see you again soon Regards Anthony Kitching Assistant Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set on a hill just down from the Castle a curious building set out as pub/dining 3 vaulted cellars - two bars and a dining area. Good selection of real ales - nice outside seating area on 2 levels. A mixture of walled garden and...More

Thank Michael T
Tim T, Restaurant Manager at Merchants 1688, responded to this review

Thanks Michael T, for your very descriptive review. We always try to have a decent selection of ales on offer during the week and no two weeks are ever the same. Also as you have noticed our beer garden is always pretty popular (Especially when...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just down the hill from the station, right by the castle. Nice outdoor seating area then into the pub itself; long bar on your right then 3 vaulted cellar ceiling type rooms, one of which laid out for formal dining, one casual and one for...More

Thank YachtSuzannah
Tim T, Manager at Merchants 1688, responded to this review

Hi YachtSuzannah, Thank you so much for leaving us an amazing 5* review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards Ailsa Morrison Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at Merchants half an hour early and sat down for drinks whilst we waited for our 8 o'clock table. On time, we were shown to the table and ordered our food (we were a family of four). However, after waiting for 40 minutes...More

2  Thank Christina H
Tim T, Manager at Merchants 1688, responded to this review

Hello Christina H, Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant, regular feedback from our guests is very important to us at the Merchants and we take all comments seriously. Firstly it was great to hear on the evening via my restaurant manager that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On my sightseeing walk knew this rated high and I know why it's a stunning pub I only drank so can't comment on food but looked nice.

Thank Robert K
Tim T, Owner at Merchants 1688, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed the pubs atmosphere. We do hope to see you again soon and maybe to enjoy our stunning menu Regards Anthony Kitching Assistant Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Supper by Sanah Private Dining
97 reviews
.03 miles away
The Sun Cafe Restaurant
202 reviews
.07 miles away
The Meeting House
247 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lancaster Castle
1,318 reviews
.08 miles away
Lancaster City Museum
227 reviews
.08 miles away
Lancaster Priory Church
85 reviews
.14 miles away
Judges' Lodgings
82 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
jujumeme123456
What went wrong !! I brought my hen party in for coffee & cakes on Monday The Cakes were dreadful and still part frozen and tasted of the fridge They were not nicely displayed on the plate like they usually are just plonked on little side plates ! We're we an inconvenience at 11:30 am on a Monday morning ??
10 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Tim T | Property representative |
Hi jujumeme1, Your group was no inconvenience at all and my colleague remembers chatting with you and your group. I hope my response to your review has answered any questions you had. Kind regards Ailsa Morrison
-5
Votes
rockinjacqui
is it open tomorrow
31 January 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Thefixer1
why as a business in the food and drink industry would you ever turn away customers, is it narrow mindedness, laziness, lack of ability to acommodate or a mix of all.
2 September 2015|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Tim T | Property representative |
Good morning, I am sorry you were not accommodated on your recent visit to the Merchants. I have just returned to work after my day off and would like to investigate this issue further. If you could let me know what day you... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 Castle Hill, Lancaster LA1 1YN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 66466
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant and bar serving excellent British cuisine, 8 real ales and a selection of fine wines. Set in 300 year old wine merchants cellars 1 minutes walk from Lancaster Castle and 5 minutes from the train station, with a peaceful beer garden to the front.