We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bay Horse

9 High Street | Hatfield, Doncaster DN7 6RS, England
+44 1302 840201
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“rabbit pie” (12 reviews)
“pies” (19 reviews)
“pastry” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 High Street | Hatfield, Doncaster DN7 6RS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely disgusted at lunch today! First visit after a while and opted for what I regularly had, scampi, only to receive half the usual portion (4 pieces of scampi and about half a dozen chips). I queried this and was told that the lunchtime menu...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Amanda S
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Wonderful home cooked food when you don’t have the time or inclination to cook. We have visited for decades, and the quality, standards, and atmosphere of a traditional pub still remains with consistently good pub grub! With the addition of the new pie menu, it...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Betty C
Sharon T, Manager at The Bay Horse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Unfortunately due to us only having a small kitchen area we have limited refrigeration. Our food is freshly prepared daily by Gwen, Dan and Sarah who we gladly inherited when we took over the pub. So pleased...More

Reviewed 4 November 2018

We have been eating here for more than 6 years and we’ve had some great meals. We visited 3 times under the new management and decided to stop coming because the availability of dishes on the menu and the quality of the food had gone...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Sam M
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Tried the food again a few months after we had a poor meal in the bay horse, they only had 1 porttof soup left and same with the mushrooms (soup was nice but very thick). The main meals were not great at all , my...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank scottkQ7107SE
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Having had a very disappointing experience some months ago, we decided to try it again after receiving good reports. From entering the pub to leaving we were made most welcome. Gone was the scowling bar person and in their place was a very congenial landlord....More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank colrob2903
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

This visit wasnt planned, called in with my sister. Havnt been in years used to call in all the time when my mum was alive. New people have taken over and we was wary as reviews arnt good. I have rabbit pie my sister steak...More

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Jane R
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Had a great meal and a couple of drinks over here. Really nice pub and very friendly people would definetly come here again.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank stef b
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Booked a table for a family night out due to recent upset. Visited here before and was always lovely . However tried it twice since and on both occasions have been left feeling very disappointed. Our menu selections have not been available. Come on this...More

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank BabyDoncaster
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Called in tonight for a beer on the way home, I’ve never been so disgusted in my life. My son had a pint of morretti, which was warm again I had s beer which I had one sip from, and asked the barmaid if it...More

Date of visit: August 2018
7  Thank ianatbw
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

We decided to come here last Saturday as we've not been here since its changed hands, The staff were very friendly, just like it was before, the food was great and we couldn't fault it at all. The most disappointing part of this was we...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Mr_busine22
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Doncaster
Travelodge Doncaster M18/M180 Hotel
231 reviews
1.00 miles away
The Wheatley Hotel
58 reviews
5.77 miles away
Hilton Garden Inn Doncaster Racecourse
63 reviews
5.85 miles away
Hotel Campanile Doncaster
359 reviews
5.96 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Coffee At Number 4
52 reviews
.05 miles away
Hatfields
225 reviews
.40 miles away
The Blue Bell
77 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hatfield Outdoor Activity Centre
5 reviews
.59 miles away
Boston Park Farm Maize Maze
211 reviews
3.25 miles away
Sandall Park
165 reviews
4.51 miles away
Doncaster Greyhound Racing
107 reviews
1.40 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
parlaunt
3 December 2016|
Answer
Response from BayHorseHatfield | Property representative |
The Bay Horse serves food 12pm-2pm & 5pm-8pm on Saturdays also Mon-Fri at the same times.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$13
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 High Street | Hatfield, Doncaster DN7 6RS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Doncaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1302 840201
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing