We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Lion Inn

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
+44 1386 840760
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

Had a meal here last night. Food was really good and portion sizes were just right top notch in all ways. And good real ale to top it off.

Helpful?
Thank Nathan3108
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
165 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We were in CC in the middle of the Rugby world cup and lots of pubs and restaurants were fully booked. Service wise , the lady serving us was cheerful and though food came slowly, we were quite happy waiting for it. It was not esp rowdy and we managed a decent conversation without raising our voices. Our meal –... More 

Helpful?
Thank wonder-luster
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We were staying at a different hotel in Chipping Campden on a holiday weekend and were stopped in at the Red Lion Pub for dinner. Our options were somewhat limited, but they were able to accommodate our group of four. Nice cozy pub atmosphere, but not very big - so best to ask for a reservation. Food was nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kashou106
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2015

myself and my wife called in for Sunday lunch, bar staff were very friendly and pleasant,the food was good value, and the real ale was great. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Terry S
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our premises - we are glad you enjoyed your meal and the real ale. We try to keep prices at a level that families can afford. We hope to see you in the future. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Normally not a pub girl, but we popped in here for a meal and sat in the garden area out the back as the inside was fully booked. The back area, called the stables was very relaxed, and after dinner my family used the pool table. Very welcoming atmosphere, which I appreciated.

Helpful?
Thank Susan3228
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed our facilities and hope to see you again in the future. More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Nice people here who allowed my 19 year old daughter to use their toilet in emergency at 10 in the morning. We would have returned to make it up to them financially (by buying a drink/meal) but we had to leave to get home. Thanks to them by this review

Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2015

There are a number of dining area in this relatively small pub restaurant so a bit hard to work out how busy the place is. It didn't seem that busy, with one person taking orders and maybe only one person cooking. Not sure if this is the norm or if we were just unfortunate. I think we were about an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marion N
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you seemed to have had slow service - we are not sure which day or time you came to eat - but generally our meals take no more than 40 minutes on a very busy day - and even then we would point this out to our customers. Generally as we cook all of our food... More 

Fuerteventura
Level Contributor
815 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We stopped in the Red Lion for a coffee. The coffee was poor and this was compounded by it being only warm rather than hot and a rip-off at £2.50 for a small cup. They only have a very basic coffee machine and need to spend more on a decent one. Service was fair. I agree with one reviewer that... More 

Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveller7
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy the coffee - we have recently had this machine installed and up to now have had no complaints - the price we charge is comparable with other institutions in town. We have 2 bars and the outside space for people to sit in - we try to have a balance where guests require... More 

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 930 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Visited on a Sunday afternoon for drinks. Was nice and sunny so sat in the beer garden. A little disappointing for such a lovely building as it felt a little like sitting in the car park. Drinks were OK but decided to try somewhere else and enjoyed the Volunteer Inn more.

Helpful?
2 Thank JohnCarter
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely meal in the sunshine, good beer, food good quality and piping hot, not enough chips but that didn't hurt! not too expensive, we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Janet S

Travellers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$53 - US$53
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lower High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Chipping Campden
  • Phone Number: +44 1386 840760

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Lion Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?