Albert's Didsbury

Albert's Didsbury

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 161 434 8289+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 - 23:45
Tue
12:00 - 21:30
Wed
12:00 - 21:30
Thu
12:00 - 21:30
Fri
12:00 - 21:45
Sat
10:00 - 11:4512:30 - 21:45
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travellers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.3 of 5 bubbles
PRICE RANGE
£10.00 – £40.00
CUISINES
Italian, Bar, Mediterranean, European, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available

Reviews

4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,376 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Albert's Didsbury garners mixed reviews, with many guests enjoying its sophisticated ambiance, yet some compare it to a bustling fast food environment. Visitors have had varied experiences with service, ranging from commendable attentiveness to frustrating delays. While the food quality typically receives praise, the portion sizes and consistency don't always meet expectations. Additionally, patrons have reported lengthy wait times for both seating and meals, which has occasionally detracted from the overall dining experience. Opinions on value are divided; some find the pricing reasonable for the quality, whereas others feel the cost does not align with the satisfaction received.
Food
Underwhelming
Atmosphere
Sophisticated
Service
Varied
Value
Reasonable
Wait time
Long

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,376 reviews
Excellent
1,286
Very good
554
Average
260
Poor
155
Terrible
121
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Andrew D
38 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 none
I have dined on numerous occasions at Alberts, and have never been disappointed. Tonight was no exception, we were looked after by Mike, who was totally professional, attentive, and had a great personality too. The food was, as always superb. I had Malaysian chicken which was full of flavour and tender, my father chose the fish and chips which was excellent, a light crisp batter with perfectly cooked, proper chips. The atmosphere in Alberts is vibrant and feels special, the menu offers excellent value too.
Written 27 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brenda
United Kingdom4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 friends
A friend and I went to Alberts the week the restaurant reopened following lock down and being an Alberts regular, I was very disappointed with the meal I ordered. I don’t have a huge appetite but my meal was child size at best. I was served a tiny piece of chicken, a portion of rice that would not have filled a small teacup and a piece of flat bread that was 2” by 2” and the usually lovely sauce served with this was filled out with crunchy vegetables and it was really unpleasant. I tried not to let this put me off going back as I knew they must be trying to recoup some of income lost. My friend and I returned again last night and I am sorry to say that this may be my last trip to Alberts. I ordered sirloin steak, which was around a couple of centimetres thicker than the minute steak they usually serve on their early diner menu; the steak was so tough it was difficult to eat and once again I was really disappointed. Thumbs up for adhering to social distancing and for trying to maintain the atmosphere but the service and the food was a massive disappointment.
Written 26 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

v20132016
Manchester87 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
We visit Albert's regularly, this must be the fourth time in two months and we were disappointed. Service is always slow but today mid to late afternoon exceptionally slow, the starters were amazing but the mains poor - fish in the fish and chips was overcooked and only four thick chips to accompany them. The rump of lamp was chewy and the French beans overcooked and it looked like it has just been thrown onto a plate and not presented well. They really need to improve service I has to flag a waiter down several times to ask for drinks, desert menu, forks (they were all in the wash!!) and still didn't get what I asked for
Written 23 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElleRLeisure
Please accept our apologies for the issues which you received during your visit, these are not the standards which we set here at Albert's as you know from being a regular customer. So I can look into your visit in further detail please would you mind sending me an email Karen.hackett@ellerleisure.com including what name your booking was under with what date and time your booking was for.
Written 1 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Riona L
8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 business
20 of us went today for the January set menu today and to say it was disappointing is a bit of an understatement. Now I know this menu is priced very cheaply but I would much prefer that the cost of this menu was increased and the portion sizes were adequately sized. For the squid starter we received 3 squid rings which was absolutely shocking. 3 rings for a whole starter!! We also had 2 starters that didn’t arrive until I had finished my 3 pieces of squid (which wasn’t difficult) and some questionable pink sausages for the bangers and mash starter - they looked very undercooked. The steak frites main was let down by a very thin and small piece of steak - actually the smallest piece of steak I have ever eaten. There really is no point offering a lunch menu at £12.50 if the portions are massively inadequate and we were still hungry when we left. Please improve!!
Written 19 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElleRLeisure
We are disappointed to read this review, we never wish any guest to leave the restaurant unhappy Riona, we do take all comments on board which we received from guests and I will certainly highlight your feedback with the management team and also the executive kitchen team, Karen
Written 22 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Julia H
Macclesfield151 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
We enjoyed great food in a lively atmosphere with attentive service when meeting a friend here for Dinner. We shared starters of crispy battered prawns and calamari with a garlic mayonnaise and olives. My fillet steak was perfectly cooked and very tasty along with the thin fries and green beans finished off with a chocolate volcano and ice cream which was light and delicious. My husband ate the Dover sole which was excellent and our friend the sirloin steak which he said tasted delicious. We had some red and rose wines and sparkling and tap water. Good value for money too.
Written 5 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

michelle m
London10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020 none
We were greeted or should I say commandeered towards the hand sanitiser as we arrived. Our order took 45 minutes to arrive at a quiet lunchtime. My Malaysian chicken curry was akin to a BA club meal. Bland and lukewarm. The chicken had been grilled separately and bland sauce poured over it. Actually I’ve had better aircraft meals. After returning the food to the kitchen, the manager proceeded to argue with me over the temperature of the meal, but managed to agree that it was rather bland. Seeing that the standards were overall poor, I declined to order anything else and went home to to a far superior home cooked meal. I live in London, this place would not survive in the capital and it was more like a chain restaurant.
Written 13 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Compass17970001011
Thank you for the review and we are really sorry to hear your disappointment as the majority of our guests enjoy both the food and service at Albert's. It was not our intention to argue with you about the temperature of the meal, the manager was just trying to explain how we cook and build the Malayan chicken dish. We tried to offer an alternative meal as we would never want anyone to leave unhappy or hungry but this was declined. Sometimes we fall short of our high standards and I can only apologise if we let you down on this occasion.
Written 3 November 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Marcia P
Bramhall11 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
Table booked for 8.30 on 24 July a Saturday night and when we arrived we were shown directly to our table. The noise was deafening, the music blaring and it was impossible to make conversation. We asked could the music be turned down a little but the slight alteration made no difference at all. We ordered the white wine and asked could we move our table as we could not stand the noise anymore. We were told a table would be available outside very shortly so we agreed to have that. We requested the wine once more and at 9pm this had still not arrived. We were then moved to an outside table and the wine was brought to us incorrectly and not what we ordered. We sent it back and waiting a further half an hour for the wine which we were told was chilling. At 9.30 we had our starter delivered but still no wine. It was finally brought to us at 9.35 pm but not chilled sufficiently. We then ordered a bottle of red which did not need chilling as we felt another wait was unacceptable. The Manageress came over at about 10.15 and asked was everything alright and we complained that we had sat for 1 hour waiting for the wine to arrive. The food was mediocre, the service a lot to be desired but what will stand out in my mind. was the blaring music. We were told there was a DJ on. One good thing was that the wine was not charged for. Not one of our best evenings out with friends.
Written 28 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Shannon M
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 couples
Although the food was of a good quality, the service wasn’t up to scratch. We waited a long time for a drinks order and had to remind the waiter. He then brought the wrong drink which I didn’t want to complain about. Then we waited a very long time for plates to be cleared away. We asked for the dessert menu but waited that long for someone to come and take our order we just asked for the bill rather than getting desserts and drinks. This was very disappointing for Alberts where a certain high standard is expected and reflected in the price
Written 31 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Hannah S
Manchester1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
My husband and I bobbed in on Sunday for a late brunch after our usual place was full. We ordered Eggs Benedict, Avocado on toast, and two lattes. Every single one of our poached eggs was pretty much hard boiled and both meals were tepid. My Eggs Benedict looked like it had packet ham cut up on top and was absolutely swimming in hollandaise . My latte was more like coffee flavored milk and I didn't bother to drink it. Service was fine and serving staff were pleasant and courteous. If your looking for a good brunch spot don't bother with Albert's.
Written 13 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ElleRLeisure
I’m sorry to hear your experience was not a positive one Hannah, could you please email myself Karen.hackett@ellerleisure.com including what name your booking was under with what date and time your booking was for, so that we can look into why you had these problems
Written 22 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

mvpj1812
Manchester99 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Albert's in Didsbury has been a favourite of mine for many years. The food is consistently good and the service bright and friendly in a bright, light restaurant. The Lunch menu of two courses for £12.50 is very good value for money. I think that the fact that 90% of the tables were occupied at 1.00 pm on a Thursday is testimony to that fact. I do not think many suburban restaurants can boast that.
Written 6 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Paul M
Manchester61 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Four of us were dining this evening. We had a nice table which is important. We all chose our food and it was all cooked to perfection, The food was hot and very edible. Jason our waiter was very attentive which we appreciated. I had the rlly poly withFeta and mushrooms delicious. We all had a wonderful night.
Written 10 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

j19581
Bolton412 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 friends
We love Albert's but today was disappointing. This was actually our first trip to the Didsbury restaurant. To start with, two of us had the Haddock Chowder - absolutely delicious but a very small portion for the £7 charged. For mains, one had a Sunday Chicken Roast and another had the Miso Scallops. Both were fine, especially the Scallops. However, the other two of us has the slow roasted Pork which was actually quite dry (despite being slow roasted) and thank goodness it was served with a gravy. Very disappointing selection of desserts and none of the four of us was tempted. However, the most disappointing aspect today was the almost 10 minutes it took us to get the bill and the over 10 minutes it took for someone to take the payment (I timed it)! Like I say at the beginning, we love Albert's but today could have been a lot better.
Written 21 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Geoff B
Wirral16 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 family
We booked a family meal for seven on Sunday 15th August for a 60th birthday. A number of menu options were not available. One of the meals a vegetarian pizza was served four minutes after the other main courses. This meal was very bland and tasteless. After paying my bill I was very unhappy that I had been charged a descetionary service charge of 10% £24. If I had been advised of this charge I would not have paid it. A disappointing experience
Written 17 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tom M
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2020 none
Always enjoyed going to Albert's but wasn't impressed this time. To be fair, two of our party had a Sunday roast which they enjoyed. I had the fish and chips however which was very poor. I was hoping to get restaurant quality fish and chips but what I got was an overcooked, tasteless fish with a rather bland homemede tartare sauce. I would have been disappointed with it if I'd pad £5 from the local chippy. The coffee we ordered after the meal had obvioulsy been sat on the counter for a while as they were luke warm. I'm sorry that I didn't say something to our server but I didn't want to make a fuss in front of our guests. As I say, won't be rushing back.
Written 27 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

CUKfoodie
11 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
Worth a visit! Menu is varied and uncomplicated. They use good quality of products, but the quality in the preparation and taste varies either you order a starter, main or pudding. Not steady throughout all options. Mains are def Albert's forte. Cocktails and wine offer 👌. Service and staff are attentive. Atmosphere best during week days. On weekends gets extreamly noisy As you get all in one go several large groups of different people celebrating Bdays, anniversaries, very loud girls nightout, etc, so service gets affected by this too. Special mention to Carlos, a great staff member!
Written 8 April 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 2,366
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Laundrette
££ - £££ · Bar, Grill
MyLahore Manchester
££ - £££ · Asian
20% off
Hungamaa
££ - £££ · Indian
Indian Affair
££ - £££ · Indian, Asian
Teppanyaki Chinatown
££ - £££ · Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Healthy
Tampopo - Corn Exchange
££ - £££ · Asian, Thai, Healthy
Annies
££ - £££ · Grill, Gastropub
Piccolo by Piccolino, Manchester
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Healthy
20% off
Manchester Sora Restaurant
££ - £££ · Japanese, Asian, Fusion, Healthy
Vincenzo Trattoria
££ - £££ · Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ALBERT'S DIDSBURY, Manchester - Didsbury - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

All Manchester HotelsManchester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Manchester
Things to Do
All Manchester RestaurantsRestaurants near Albert's Didsbury
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire