We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 4/18
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$21 - US$103
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
359
148
64
42
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
359
148
64
42
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi gyoza bento box fish soup skewers steak japanese cuisine whitworth street norimaki banquet chopsticks
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I ordered from Uber eats. Genuinely the blandest Ramen I’ve ever tasted, The broth was literally just barely seasoned water with no flavour whatsoever, despite ordering the spicy version, and to make matters worse there was barely any of it, it very much looked as...More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 February 2021 via mobile

I orderd a large takeaway for my husbands birthday. After reading some of the the reviews I thought I would give it a go. Although the food arrived on time, we were very disappointed with the taste of the food, there was no flavour, food...More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?3  
Team Samsi, Marketing at Samsi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Hi Moajayi, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your food. If you could contact us at info@samsi.co.uk with the time and reference for your booking and your contact details, we will investigate this matter. Regards Wasana General Manager

Reviewed 15 February 2021

Yesterday we had two platters and a miso soup delivered, and to be honest our expectations were much higher. Most of the sashimi pieces still had skin on and they weren't properly cut in individual pieces. The salmon wasn't a nice cut - full of...More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?2  
Team Samsi, General Manager at Samsi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Hi gaia z, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your food and presentation, if you could contact me directly by email on wasana@samsi.co.uk with any pictures would be great. I will pass on your comments to the sushi chef that was working...More

Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

In lockdown, we had to have a take-away. Superb meal for 4 of us. Ready when we arrived. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Team Samsi, Marketing at Samsi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear Johnjupe, Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a positive review! I am glad that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to your visit once lockdown is over. Regards Samsi Team

Reviewed 27 December 2020 via mobile

Fantastic!! Salmon sashimi is lovely and thick Fried tofu with side rice is a great combo Made the workday so much better, I’ll be ordering every week!

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Team Samsi, Marketing at Samsi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear SEJ73, We really appreciate you taking the time to share your rating with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Samsi Team

Reviewed 4 November 2020 via mobile

Came here for the first time on the last night before second lockdown and wasn’t sure what to expect; the food was excellent (everything was super fresh, the Salmon Tataki literally melted in your mouth, all the seafood was so fresh and the beef was...More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Team Samsi, Marketing at Samsi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear Vicky, Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We will share this with the store team to let them know to keep up the amazing work. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Samsi Team

Reviewed 10 October 2020

We returned to Samsi in October 2020 for the first time in a few months. The restaurant felt really safe and social distancing was well maintained. I had the deluxe Bento, which is amazing value at £15.95 for miso soup, 8 pieces of norimaki, gyoza,...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Team Samsi, Marketing at Samsi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear Bagsundereyes, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star rating - it's much appreciated! We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Samsi Team

Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

First visit and somewhere we will return too again. Authentic tasty and we'll presented sushi and all at a reasonable price. The udon noodle sides were a perfect compliment to the platters we had.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Got a late booking at Samsi. Really good food and a few drinks before, as everywhere, they had to ask us to leave at the 10pm curfew time. We didn’t check the bill and there was a mistake on it. Much thanks to Yuko at...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 September 2020

Return to Samsi after a few years, to find it changed the food has become less of the Japanese food I have in the past and more like Wagamama's. The food is well cooked but is more anglicized, and not like the food I've had...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Le Ville Hotel
875 reviews
.06 miles away
REM Hotel
171 reviews
.06 miles away
Rembrandt's Annex
13 reviews
.07 miles away
New Union Hotel
230 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Arnero
951 reviews
.11 miles away
Habesha Restaurant & Bar
276 reviews
.08 miles away
The Molly House
268 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Alan Turing Memorial
95 reviews
.05 miles away
Gay Village
1,151 reviews
.07 miles away
Sackville Gardens
18 reviews
.04 miles away
Free Manchester Walking Tours
1,339 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Muhammad G
4 September 2019|
Answer
Response from Soulchefwayne | Reviewed this property |
I’d use Mirin in place of rice vinegar. Mirin is basically seasoned rice wine vinegar.
0
Votes
Explore39455798413
26 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from uwho44 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do gf...if you ask them they go through options. Gf soy sauce...excellent food
0
Votes
Tayo A
7 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from scarffejw | Reviewed this property |
I believe so yes.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Samsi

  • Yes, Samsi offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Samsi offers delivery services.

  • Samsi is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 3.5