We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester

91-93 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JN, England
+44 161 979 0572
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“potatoes” (177 reviews)
“sushi” (131 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
91-93 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JN, England
Write a Review
Reviews (2,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,951 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Show cooking and great food. Terrific atmosphere and lovely staff. Great for parties and entertaining. Would certainly recommend. Brilliant fun night out!

1  Thank Angela D
SapporoMManager, Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Angela, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your lovely comments. We look forward to your next visit :) Regards, Management Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love teppanyaki and was looking forward to a great dining experience, what a huge disappointment!! Poor service from the moment we were shown to our table, we had to constantly chase our waitress; drinks, starters, explanation for ordering. Sadly the disappointment didn't end there, the...More

Thank Damian G
SapporoMManager, Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience you had on your last visit. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate here today as a party of 8 ranging from 6 to 78 years, including two vegetarians, one coeliac + lactose intollerant and one dislike of garlic + spice. We were all catered for and had our needs met respectfully. We enjoyed the show...More

Thank TwinMummyL
SapporoMManager, Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good afternoon, Thank you very much indeed for a great review and for recommending our restaurant. Unfortunately as the food is being cooked right in front of you, it does take time to cook your meal to perfection along with the chefs performance. Take care...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rude waiters (Manbir), overly priced food, food wasn't up to a high standard. Would not recommend or visit againMore

4  Thank Naz P
SapporoMManager, General Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Manbir was our previous General Manager and left us in early March. I'd just like to clarify what prompted you to review us in June about your experience months ago so can you please...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with my friend for her birthday. The cooking experience was fun and the food very good. The chefs are very entertaining. Starters come from the kitchen and your main dish is cooked in front of you. You are on a shared table so everyone...More

Thank MacleodB54
SapporoMManager, General Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thanks so much for the lovely review! Look forward to seeing you again, soon! Kind regards, Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not the place to go if you want to sit and have a quiet dinner conversation over a drink. This place not only serves up great, freshly cooked food literally right in front of your eyes. Eggs, rice, potato, noodles, fire, music, colour, Japanese extravagance...More

Thank manchester_guy
SapporoMManager, General Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thanks so much for the lovely review! Look forward to seeing you again, soon! Kind regards, Management

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good performance of the chef during the dinner however the service and food menu were very poor for the expensive price paid. Unbelievable that there was no sushi available in a japanese restaurant.More

Thank Dort888
SapporoMManager, General Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi I'm glad that you enjoyed the chef's performance but sorry that you were told there was no sushi available! I would like to further investigate your experience so can you please email manchester@sapporo.co.uk with your booking details or call on 0161 831 9888? Kind...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sushi for starters was not freshly prepared and quite tasteless. The avocado was very unripe. We didn't order the set menu but still had potato thrown at us ! I rarely leave food but the Japanese pancake was awful, covered in mayonnaise and really sickly....More

Thank Carole R
SapporoMManager, General Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I can assure you our sushi is freshly made to order but it should not be tasteless! And it sounds like there was too much dressing on your pancake. The potato tossing is part of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked as a group of 18 and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the show provided by the Teppanyaki chef whilst preparing our meal. A lot of fun, will definitely visit again.

Thank Azeen M
SapporoMManager, General Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thanks so much for the lovely review! Look forward to seeing you again, soon! Kind regards, Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The chef's where lovely, but the food was dull and overly expensive for what it was. Waiting staff were slow, and we didn't eat for 40 minutes. Overall a terrible experience; good thing I had good company.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Gabrielle M
SapporoMManager, General Manager at Sapporo Teppanyaki - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Gabrielle, Apologies for the delay in getting back to you. I'm so sorry to hear you had such a poor experience with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the chefs but would really like to investigate exactly what went wrong with your food and service....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Evuna Deansgate
935 reviews
.20 miles away
Albert's Shed
2,093 reviews
.14 miles away
Don Marco Restaurant
1,042 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Museum of Science & Industry
6,299 reviews
.05 miles away
Opera House Manchester
748 reviews
.23 miles away
Granada Studios
390 reviews
.09 miles away
Castlefield Urban Heritage Park
212 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Sadia H
Do you have a delivery service?
11 May 2017|
Answer
Response from SapporoMManager | Property representative |
Hi Sadia, Yes, you can order through deliveroo :)
0
Votes
cego100
Has anybody attended a sushi making masterclass and would you recommend it?
19 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Bootcamp09 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I've never attended one.
0
Votes
cego100
Has anybody attended a sushi making masterclass and would you recommend it?
19 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from SapporoMManager | Property representative |
Hi Cego, I would like to explain briefly on how our Sushi Masterclass works to give you a better idea. It starts at 12.00 pm on a Sunday. Usually takes approx. 2 hours. It is very enjoyable and fun afternoon. You will be... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 91-93 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 979 0572
  • E-mail
Description
A Unique Dining Experience

Everything about Sapporo Teppanyaki defies the ordinary, from our displays of roaring fire to the thrilling teppanyaki performance exhibited by our master chefs.

Sit back and relax as you watch our talented chefs prepare your meal in a uniquely theatrical style. Our teppanyaki dishes are prepared on a traditional, flaming hotplate, where we combine our awe-inspiring performance with masterful trickery in order to prepare some of the most delicious Japanese dishes available in the UK.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing