We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Le Plantagenet

) #2 of 14 Restaurants in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye ££ - £££ French, European,
5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
+33 2 41 51 71 11
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good38%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“risotto” (3 reviews)
“cod” (2 reviews)
“amuse bouche” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, European, Gastropub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Update: after I posted the original review below, I was contacted by the proprietor of Le Plantagenet, who did the right thing and offered to refund me for my wife's untouched dish. The refund was made in short order. I am re-posting the review because...More

Thank jykll
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jykll, we have come to known eachother a bit better through our email exchanges - thank you for posting an update althought the original review dates back some months and many improvements have been made, as well as staff changes! Kind regards, Mieke, proprietor.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to test the menu, only 36 euros,and discovered an incredible terrine of sardine with lemon gelée,and regretted it was just an appetizer, we wanted more, but the starter, poached egg in red wine and mushroom sauce opened our appetite, then we split, my...More

Thank ArnaudLefevreBaril
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Looking at your name we think you are French but your review is in English. We are pleased to consider your review for both nationalites, what a pleasure to read it, much appreciated - thank you.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Attentive service (although we had to wait for our bill to come), great food... and a little something (amuse bouche) before dinner. Generous refill of their excellent bread. $$.

Thank Attila B
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Your comments are most helpful and appreciated! a little trivia for you: in France no one will ask 'if you want the bill ?' as it is considered very rude; the guest has to indicate that he/she is finished.

Reviewed 15 July 2017

We booked a table for 8.30. When we arrived the restaurant was probably about half full with most diners probably on their desserts. Our drinks & food order was taken promptly. A nice bottle of rose from Saumur. My husband chose the lamb shank &...More

Thank Brigette
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Bonjour Brigette, We are so pleased that you enjoyed the service, decor of our restaurant, the food and the dessert presentation - however what a shame that your only negative remark (some flies) influenced your mark by 40% ....! As we are 'in the country'...More

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We were in a mixed group of kids and adults and one thing I will say is that the kids menu is good, a limited selection of main menu items... We were left for ages before a drink order was taken. When the wine arrived...More

1  Thank Coffee-Nazi
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Bonjour dear guest, the private message we sent you in order to obtain a bit more information about your meal remains without reply. Therefore it is difficult to comment on the review you left here ... we are not quite sure it really went the...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

We always visit here when we are staying at Clos Chavigny and we are never disappointed.Although much of the staff are young they are all very pleasant and the food is enjoyable.More

1  Thank Pat M
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear Pat M., thank you for your compliments. Most of our staff is indeed rather young, we spend a lot of time training apprentices and workexperience students in order to provide them with their first 'real life' employment contrat, which is very rewarding! (as we...More

Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

After a day looking around the abbey I decided to eat in the village how I was mistaken. Went to the restaurant at 8.30pm which is 30 minutes before closing. I asked for a table and was told without a reservation not possible. This is...More

1  Thank Stewart W
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Bonjour, First of all may I point out to readers that you did NOT eat with us. Your review thus not reflect our food or service. We are sorry that you didn't not reply to our private message sent to you as soon as your...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017

My wife and I tried to eat here but where turned away because they had no tables available. The place was empty and I saw the reservation list and there where only eight names on it for 14 tables. On the way out someone who...More

1  Thank Guy P
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

What an akward review. You did not eat with us so how can you say the restaurant was NOT full? Did you go to the restaurant as well as the private court yard at the back and our function rooms? We have several private dining...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017

We were staying at the hotel so our choice in this quite town was limited. The restaurant was very pleasant. The mean quite extensive with a good wine list. The meal was excellent, helped by a local wine.

Thank JohnF007
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you mr F for your compliments on menu and wine list!

Reviewed 1 May 2017

We sat by the windows looking out onto this tiny village's mini traffic circle, Hôtel de Ville, and gates to the Abbey. It was picturesque with spring flowers blooming and great for people watching! The food was excellent; cauliflower soup, cod & risotto, café gourmand....More

Thank diddys-mom
Tulipe024, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Plantagenet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you Diddys-mom for summing up the delights of an ordinary day in the Loire Valley while enjoying a meal in our restaurant!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fontevraud Le Restaurant
311 reviews
.19 miles away
L'Abbaye le Delice
79 reviews
.36 miles away
La Licorne
255 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Abbaye Royale de Fontevraud
1,283 reviews
.01 miles away
Collegiale de Candes-Saint-Martin
35 reviews
2.30 miles away
Chateau de Montsoreau
286 reviews
2.40 miles away
Chateau du Petit Thouars
94 reviews
2.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Restaurant Le Plantagenet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$22 - US$53
Cuisine
French, European, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
19:00 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 Place des Plantagenets, 49590 Fontevraud-l'Abbaye, France
  • Location: Europe  >  France  >  Pays de la Loire  >  Maine et Loire  >  Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
  • Phone Number: +33 2 41 51 71 11
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing