We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£13 - £43
CUISINES
French, Mediterranean, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (407)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
34
35
6
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
34
35
6
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 June 2023

Rude staff, expensive drinks, the only thing going for it was the view. The toilet was extremely dirty and ruined my experience of villefranche.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 June 2023 via mobile

Lovely setting with views. Service was awful. Over 30 seats on arrival but told to stand at bar. Ordered a cocktail and wine from barman who really couldn’t be bothered. We left as soon as drinks were finished and there were still lots of empty...seats! The overall feeling was that we weren’t welcome and we felt uncomfortable. I recommend avoiding this place and choosing one of the many bars that are so much more welcoming - holidays are too short and expensive to waste your time and money here!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Benjamin Kalies, Autre at Achill's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

sorry for my english, it's not perfect. you arrived a saturday evening for diner, but it was full booking. 30 vere available, because it was book 30 minutes later, we told you to wait to the bar, because sometime costumers cancel the booking few minutes...More

Reviewed 27 January 2023

This bar is central and had a great ambiance to have a drink. I was there 3 times during my stay in Ville-Franche.

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

Visited with excitement, happy to have a drink but within 5 minutes the rudeness of the staff had taken my good humour away and I couldnt wait to leave. Didn’t bother staying for food. Has so much potential but the worst arrogant and rude staff...ever.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2022 via mobile

Shockingly rude door person. As per other reviews, I experienced the same unnecessarily impolite & insulting door policy. If you’re looking for good vibes, this isn’t the place to go- encountering the door person could really put a damper on an otherwise lovely villefranche-sur-mer experience....Avoid & tell your friends to avoid supporting this kind of unkind establishment.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2022 via mobile

This restaurant served nice food cooked with quality products. The surrounding is nice and we had a table close to the water. The backside was service where we had a very tired and desillusioniert waiter. He was friendly - but tired….

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

We were here already two times. After three years just confirmed best place in this coast. Very good food, best stuff and service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

This is NimaHuncho, local party legend. This place is owned by some of the nicest people you will find in the French Riviera. The food is fresh and healthy and the rooftop that opens after 8:00pm is described as heaven on earth by my friends...and I. Tourists are more than welcome and will treated like they where coming every week-end. S/o MarwanMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2020

After asking for recommendations from the polite waitress, two of us ordered the tagliata, one rare (as recommended) one medium. 3rd person ordered the burger. Both tagliata arrived cooked well-done, dry and unappetizing. Made a polite complaint, and asked the waitress for her opinion also,...and she completely agreed. We then ordered the risotto Gambas. Subsequently a waitor/manager came over and tried to explain if they overcook the tagliata, it will ruin it. I politely pointed out I ordered mine rare and it wasn’t, his response was that was my opinion. Well actually not only was it blindingly obvious as the steak wasn’t even pink, it was also the opinion of your colleague, the very helpful Vanessa. The risotto arrived, also disappointing, didn’t complain. It was hot, and very well presented. But not only tasted extremely bland, but the gambas was finely diced into the sauce, so for a 24 euro risotto I probably ate one-2 prawn / gambas. The burger was ok. Afterwards ordered deserts, terrible. Two chocolate tiramisu. 99% whipped cream in a jar with some stale chocolate sprinkled on top. Terrible. Very disappointing food, great location and great terrace bar.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2020

Aweful bartender who sent us away when we were there minutes before opening, without saying you need a reservation. An hour later, we were rejected again, because we didn’t have a reservation. “If you go to a bar in Berlin or Monaco, you also can’t...just walk in”, he said. But then again, Villefranche-sur-Mer‎ is no Berlin or Monaco.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eemerica, Autres at Achill's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2020

Hello, sorry villefranche is not London or Berlin, but it's the same system, we are in the summer season, and it's very busy. We have between 150 and 250 booking per evening, probably because we are a nice, good and beautiful restaurant. During the summer...More

Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

Came in on our last night in Villefranche, this had a friendly and lively atmosphere with amazing food! We had the steak tartare and after 3 summers of coming to the area it was by far my favourite!! Highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2019 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on whim We were greeted and seated immediately Not sure if they had an English menu but it was not needed. The waiter was very friendly an answered any questions. Prices were on par for with every other restaurant in...the area .More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2019 via mobile

Great localization, but very poor service. I Think they don’t like foreigns. Maybe the money from the french people are more beautful than the foreigners

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?6  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2018

What better place to enjoy the view of the harbour? The staff are very friendly and efficient. Good choice of food from a simple menu - the octopus salad was particularly good. Good value from a short but well chosen wine list.

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2018

go for lobster here - and a glass of good wine. the waitors are very sweet and ready you feel fantastic!

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Welcome Hotel
812 reviews
.03 miles away
Hotel Riviera
57 reviews
.09 miles away
Hotel Le Provencal
40 reviews
.12 miles away
Hotel La Regence
193 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Caravelle
703 reviews
.05 miles away
La Cuisine
385 reviews
.08 miles away
Cave Nature
416 reviews
.08 miles away
La Grignotiere
766 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
La Darse
471 reviews
.04 miles away
Plage de la Mariniere
249 reviews
.28 miles away
Chapelle de Saint Pierre des Pecheurs
262 reviews
.02 miles away
Fort du Mont Alban
150 reviews
.56 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Achill's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ACHILL'S, Villefranche-sur-Mer - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Achill's

Yes, Achill's offers takeaway services.

Achill's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5