We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gasthof Butz

££ - £££German, European,
Kapellenplatz 4, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
+49 9861 2201
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good50%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“sauerbraten” (6 reviews)
“sausage” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
German, European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kapellenplatz 4, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Lovely restaurant. You might want to get there early (before 7pm) or make a reservation. Both time we were there there was a couple or two waiting for a free table. The restaurant is not huge and given the good food and great prices I'm...More

Thank Jennifer T
Management response:Responded 2 days ago

Thank you very much.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were seated at a community table, our waitress spoke excellent English. One couple had their big dog at the table. Had the schnitzel and spätzle and sausage with sauerkraut, both dishes were nicely portioned and tasty. It's just a block off the marketplatz, good...More

Thank Hutch531
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Honest prices and food, nothing special but quick and clean. Little corner for kids which helped to wait the few minutes to get the food ready. Very good the soups, strongly suggested. Take care for parking...very few spots just in front.

Thank vinxonline
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We were there for dinner in the beautiful city of Rothenburg. We have to say: price is good and amount of food is quite huge. Quality of the food is average: nothing to be angry with but nothing to be proud of. Just a normal...More

Thank bluepoint29
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Really disappointed. Waiter gave wrong information. The chicken I ordered was fine, but I expected French fries and got something else with it. They also did not tell the vegetables were carrots that I personally do not like and did not match the chicken in...More

Thank keltickitten
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We sat down at 1215 it is now 110 and not even are appetizer has arrived when asking the server how the table that sat next to us 10 minutes after we arrived already had there appetizer and finished there dinner we were told they...More

Thank Eric H
Management response:Responded 24 July 2017

We are very sorry about the waiting time for your lunch. There was maybe a misunderstanding between you and the waitress. She didn´t forget your order. We had a pre announced Group of 54 People for lunch at this time. The biggest part of the...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017

It might be unfair to leave a comment although we never ate here but I think it's worth knowing that this place totally lacks ambiance. Both the outdoor/courtyard seating area and the restaurant itself are very dated (but in a bad way). It looks like...More

Thank a-zonemaastricht
Management response:Responded 14 July 2017

I am sorry that you think you have to leave a comment although you never ate in our Restaurant. But this is your own opinion. If you have a look you´ll see that many other People have an other opinion and I think they cannot...More

Reviewed 24 June 2017

I have been to Gasthof Butz twice and have enjoyed it very much. As others have indicated, the food is well prepared, delicious, and the portions are bigger than expected. Prices are very reasonable and the service is good. When the weather is nice the...More

1  Thank st25w
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

We went there for lunch at 1pm, (their lunch hour is 11:30-14:00) we had two pints of beer to start and I had a roasted knuckle with potato, my mother had German style dumplings (Maultaschen). They were both delicious, and very reasonable priced. Our bill...More

2  Thank kamochanka_yvr
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

Can't speak about the food, we just stopped for a beer, but I can recommend the terrace, fresh in a sunny day. Kind personnel.

Thank laurabaztan
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tilman Riemenschneider Restaurant
17 reviews
.02 miles away
Profumo Di Pasta Da Giuseppe
85 reviews
.06 miles away
Brothaus Cafe Burgbernheim
29 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Rothenburg Town Hall (Rathaus)
1,078 reviews
.07 miles away
Medieval Crime Museum (Mittelalterliches Kriminalmuseum)
1,064 reviews
.16 miles away
St. Jacob's Church (St. Jakobskirche)
608 reviews
.12 miles away
German Christmas Museum (Deutsches Weihnachtsmuseum)
528 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gasthof Butz staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
German, European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 14:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 14:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 14:00
Friday
11:30 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:30 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kapellenplatz 4, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
  • Location: Europe  >  Germany  >  Bavaria  >  Franconia  >  Middle Franconia  >  Rothenburg
  • Phone Number: +49 9861 2201
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Gasthof Butz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing