We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£3 - £24
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Barbecue, European, Central European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (609)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
77
80
18
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
77
80
18
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 15 December 2023 via mobile

A wet Sunday afternoon and somewhere warm to have something* to eat. Shown to a table quickly and then ignored for 15 mins. When the waitress heard us speaking English she immediately presumed we could , not understand German and handed us English menus. Steaks...were good but I’ve had better burgers in many restaurants ( not fast food places). Served a purpose rather than an enjoyable experienceMore

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlockHouse BlockHouse, Sonstige at BLOCK HOUSE Am Kropcke, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Hello marminiac, thank you for your visit. We're sorry you had to wait 15 minutes. That is not our concern. We still hope that you had a nice time and enjoyed your steak. We regret that you weren't completely happy with the burger. See you...More

Reviewed 31 October 2023

We came here looking for a suitable restaurant. It is surprising that this restaurant does not have such good reviews from other customers. We were extremely satisfied. The service and food are absolutely without problems and the quality-price ratio is good. I would visit this...restaurant again for its atmosphere.More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlockHouse BlockHouse, Sonstige at BLOCK HOUSE Am Kropcke, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2023

Dear Redwolf-124, thank you for your feedback and your kind words about the food and service! We are very happy about that and will be happy to pass it on! See you soon, your BLOCK HOUSE Team

Reviewed 25 September 2023

We had lunch here. The restaurant is situated at the pedestrian area in downtown Hannover not far from the Kröpcke Clock. It is part of a chain of steak restaurants with outlets in some of Germany’s largest cities. We visited on a sunny day and...enjoyed the possibility to dine outside. Steaks obviously play an important part on the menu with some nice cuts available, and it is also possible to have fresh salads and soups. We had some nice food and drinks to follow and enjoyed our lunch here. Mondays through Fridays from 12.00 to 15.00 a special lunch offer is available while stocks last. However this offer was sold out, which was also the case during our visit last year and we just wondered how many guests could actually benefit from this offer each day.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlockHouse BlockHouse, Sonstige at BLOCK HOUSE Am Kropcke, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023

Dear NemoTraveler, Thank you very much for your visit to Hanover, your words of praise and your feedback on our Lunch Time dish. We are extremely sorry that you were disappointed that the lunch menu was no longer available. Since we cannot actually guarantee the...More

Reviewed 29 June 2023

Came here with friends , food was good .I had a Shiraz red wine and didn’t taste like it should , so I politely told them it wasn’t nice .The waiter got me a Merlot which was better. They charged me for the Shiraz which...I only took a sip out of that ,I refused to pay as it tasted like vinegar. They threatened to call the police which I said fine then backed down. The staff was very rude to me and my friends of 6 . We payed a lot of money that night and to be treated like that I was upset. I’m sure I’m right in saying the customer is right . It was the principle of the fact that I drink a lot of red wine and I know when it doesn’t taste right , my be the bottle had been left open for a few days . I don’t usually complain about anything , but just wanted to share this hopefully they will learn from this , thanks MarkMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlockHouse BlockHouse, Sonstige at BLOCK HOUSE Am Kropcke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2023

Hello Mark, Thank you for your visit and your feedback! First of all, we apologize that the wine did not meet your expectations and therefore you did not like it. Please be assured that our primary concern is to greet, host and bid farewell to...More

Reviewed 13 January 2023 via mobile

So many problems with reservations. They preferred the locals instead the tourist. We were 4 people and we eat 2 each time in separate tables!More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlockHouse, Andere at BLOCK HOUSE Am Kropcke, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2023

Dear Theo , Thank you very much for your visit and in our BLOCK HOUSE restaurant in Hannover and your feedback. We take the feedback of our guests seriously and always reach our management. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied this time...More

Reviewed 31 December 2022 via mobile

The food was mediocre for the price that I paid. The amount of food offered for the price wasn’t appropriate.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BlockHouse, Marketing at BLOCK HOUSE Am Kropcke, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2023

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very saddened that you were not satisfied with your visit to us! At BLOCK HOUSE, we pay particular attention to the good quality of our products and calculate the prices and sizes of the portions very...More

Reviewed 15 July 2022

We had lunch at this restaurant, which serves steaks and other dishes on one of the busy pedestrian streets in downtown Hannover. We visited on a sunny and warm day, and it was nice to sit outside. The food we had was good and service...okay. Reasonable prices.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

Good choice of excellent meat pieces, good salad and quick service although a bit nervous. Well located.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

The food was good and service was fast, however my boyfriend ordered a burger and got a toast with a beef on. My steak was cooked to perfection but I was hoping for a bit more tender meat. Also I found it a bit weird...my steak menu included a salad which was service almost right away so I was basically done with my salad by the time I got my steak. Not sure if it’s meant to be a starter but I found it odd. However this is absolutely not a bad place!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2020 via mobile

Best steaks! Very good! Absolutely 5 stars. Take file mignon and wonderfull sauer cream. Glass of redwine and that’s it!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

Had late lunch at 14.30 (lunch from 11-15). Some of the courses were finished, but the “small” steak was plenty and served with a large salad. Nice service and good food. Very price worthy.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

We had a bit of wait to sit down but the food was good and they have a really nice Riesling. The wait staff was attentive and friendly as well.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2019 via mobile

We happened upon this restaurant by chance and very glad we did - the steak was delicious, would recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2018 via mobile

Igual you had enough of pork and sausages while un Hannover and you feel it's time for a good piece of beef meat, go to this place it's a good option to satisfy your meat cravings.

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

The setting is nice. They are friendly. German efficiency in attention and service. Not cheap but for downtown acceptable. However, the beef is terrible. My Ribeye was chewy (I requested medium rare) and not tasty at all. Needs a steak sauce. Like deep frozen walking...dead. No idea why people review this place among the Hanover’s best.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kastens Hotel Luisenhof
617 reviews
.12 miles away
City Hotel Hannover
54 reviews
.15 miles away
Motel One Hannover Oper
24 reviews
.15 miles away
Cityhotel Thuringer Hof Design Hannover
71 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gondel Restaurant
894 reviews
.03 miles away
Jim Block Am Kropcke
176 reviews
.05 miles away
Hollaendische Kakao-Stube
214 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Aegidienkirche
269 reviews
.07 miles away
GOP Variete Theater Hannover
245 reviews
.03 miles away
Kropcke-Uhr
124 reviews
.07 miles away
Staatsoper Hannover
33 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
yayotrane71r
16 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Blackheart | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the late answer, but I would not know, I always pay old fashioned cash. But most retaurants in Hannover do accept major credit cards.
0
Votes
Google Translation
316olegr
15 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from blockhouseofficial | Property representative |
Dear Oleg, thank you for your Email. In our fairly small Block House Restaurant Am Kröpcke we are working without reservations. Our longtime experience has shown, that we are able to seat our guests in general quicker... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
ohmark
6 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from blockhouseofficial | Property representative |
Hi, thanks for your email! We habe a lot of other courts. Do you know our website? best regards
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BLOCK HOUSE AM KROPCKE, Hannover - Mitte - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BLOCK HOUSE Am Kropcke

BLOCK HOUSE Am Kropcke is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4