We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£13 - £21
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Spanish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (2,246)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
170
75
14
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
170
75
14
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas salmorejo calamari fries suckling pig soup iberico ham frequented by locals by the glass friendly service local food taberna waiter honey sherry tourists
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 days ago

Exceptional, friendly and informative service from Manuel. The menu is creatively designed and offers an excellent contrast of tastes. A wonderful evening.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very friendly service from Manuel. The cod confit was especially tasty. Lovely sitting outside next to the church. Great find for a Monday evening

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taberna la Montillana , Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Hilary A, gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 18 December 2023 via mobile

This is a lovely restaurant. Laid back atmosphere in a room full of pictures of bullfighters and an amazing stained glass ceiling. All the other customers seemed to be locals which is always a good sign. The staff were helpful with their advice about what...to eat and drink (and how much). The food was delicious, too. We had lots of local specialties- salmorejo, mazamorra, flamenquín and berenjenas con miel.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taberna la Montillana , Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2023
Google Translation

floofers, gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 4 November 2023

Wish we dined outside. We arrived on the early side (8:30 p.m.) and was seated upstairs, which had no real charm. Waiters were perfunctory and food was okay. After dinner, we realized that there was a large outdoor dining area. We would have been better...off appreciating the street ambiance.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rafa Gama, Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023
Google Translation

NYCWGV, gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 9 October 2023 via mobile

Located far from Tourists restaurant this traditional and simple restaurant is located in new town Nice ambiance You can order traditional city fish The flamenquin Super good Nice service

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rafa Gama, Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2023
Google Translation

ksarman, gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 7 October 2023 via mobile

I'm glad I didn't know this was a tapas bar (and didn't know it is practically the norm in many places in Cordoba) as I would have assumed expensive small portions and this definitely wasn't the case. There was a bit of a queue as...we arrived but the other two groups were more than two so after checking we were OK to wait 20 minutes, we were welcomed in. We looked over the menu while waiting and had a glass of fino from the bar. I can echo what others have said about the ambience -- great -- and the quality of the food was fantastic. We had a half portion of bocorones which was to die for and my friend had the aubergine with Brie and honey (thank you, reviewers who recommended this). Then he had the rabo de toro, which he said was excellent, and I had the flamenquin which I enjoyed very much. We'd been travelling since early morning and were hungry so my friend had some ice-cream. I don't have a sweet tooth so, to the astonishment of the waiter, I ordered a plate of chips (chunky French fries, to our American friends!) and enjoyed them hugely. They only charged me €2 for it too, which I thought excellent value. We enjoyed this place. Our table was next to the one next to the toilet and it didn't smell at all. The service was friendly and efficient.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rafa Gama, Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2023
Google Translation

Picasso008, gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 7 June 2023

Fabulous dinner. Was put off by some review Is saw but code to and recommended by hotel. So glad we came. There were 5 of us. We had the pickled quail salad, spicy potatoes, potato scrambled eggs with iberian ham, suckling pig with came with...delicious chips and the crepes filled with roast suckling lamb & ras el hanout sauce (curry). All delicious. A really nice dry white house white wine recommended by the waiter, And then the most delicious desserts. Nonna's cake was nice but the stuffed crepe and french toast were stunning.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rafa Gama, Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023
Google Translation

Gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 21 April 2023 via mobile

Distinctly average. They seated us beside the bathrooms (we hadn’t booked) and I could smell toilet cleaner the entire time. We opted for the first option of white and red wine by the glass (at their recommendation) and both were rough. Move down the wine...list if you want something drinkable. The calamari was good (order the small portion for two unless you’re starving) and the cod was meh ( flavoured mayonnaise which seems to be a thing here). The aubergine with honey was tasteless (fried sections with honey and cheese) unless you got some honey and cheese. Husband liked his lamb ras al hanout wraps but otherwise we wouldn’t recommend it. There must be better places in Cordoba.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rafa Gama, Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2023
Google Translation

Gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 4 April 2023

Food was just OK, edible but not exciting. Service was just OK as well. I wouldn’t say they suck, but I wouldn’t go there again.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rafa Gama, Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2023
Google Translation

Gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 30 March 2023

The reserved table was at the street. The waiter almost threw only one menu for five people at the table. He could not communicate, not even tried to understand the orders. He had no idea of the wines they have on the menu. We had...to select one by instinct. The sevice was very moderate. We did not have good time and did not enjoy our dinner.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rafa Gama, Dueño at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2023
Google Translation

Gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 6 October 2022 via mobile

This restaurant is absolutely recommendable. We had 4 tapas, bread, a bottle of red wine, cake for share and sherry for desert and payed 62 euro. Splendid. Food was really good. We have been to many restaurants for lunch and dinner during our 4 days...trip in Cordoba and this one was the best place we had dinner. Service was great as well.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rgama007, Propietario at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2022
Google Translation

Gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 12 September 2022

This is a very popular restaurant but it wasn't just tourists but enough locals (Spanish speaking) customers to feel comfortable that it is not a tourist trap. It isn't! Try the Salmorejo (soup).

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rgama007, Propietario at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2022
Google Translation

Gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 23 August 2022 via mobile

Excellent food and atmosphere. The night atmosphere is great with an awesome vibe. It is mostly frequented by locals so the food has to be authentic and good. Service is also good and very friendly A must in Cordoba.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rgama007, Propietario at Taberna La Montillana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2022
Google Translation

Gracias por el comentario. Saludos

Reviewed 1 June 2022 via mobile

Hands down the best calamari I've eaten in my entire life. It's so good that I am compelled to write this at 3am after watching The Final Table on Netflix.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2022 via mobile

Very good fish personal very friendly and collaborative would strongly suggest main coursers and their sweets for Lucy and dinner

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
San Miguel
375 reviews
.05 miles away
H10 Palacio Colomera
339 reviews
.10 miles away
Eurostars Azahar
211 reviews
.12 miles away
Hotel Cordoba Centro
799 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Taberna Gongora
923 reviews
.07 miles away
Cafeteria Don Pepe
161 reviews
.05 miles away
Tendillas5
219 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Plaza de Las Tendillas
651 reviews
.09 miles away
Roman Temple
666 reviews
.10 miles away
San Miguel Church
44 reviews
.04 miles away
Monumento al Gran Capitan
9 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Teh O
28 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from tabernalamontillana | Property representative |
Hi Virginia, There is a taxi rank 100 meters from our restaurant. From our restaurant to the train station is 10 minutes by taxi. The answer is yes, you have enough time for the meal. Best, Rafael
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TABERNA LA MONTILLANA, Cordoba - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Taberna La Montillana

Yes, Taberna La Montillana is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Taberna La Montillana is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5