We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (261)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
9
4
5
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
9
4
5
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

Amazing fresh seafood , very friendly staff and very helpful to make a lunch to a very special experience and lots choice of fresh products and wines from the islands , we had twice lunch there, a very recommended place and nice location.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2023 via mobile

Very nice place, with excellent product and experienced staff, in Cala Saona, a small beach to watch the sunset . A very nice surprise. Worth a visit.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grupo Cala Saona, Marketing at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023
Google Translation

Apreciada Ada K, Muchisimas gracias por su comentario, nos alegramos que haya disfrutado de la experiencia gastronómica. Un abrazo, esperamos...More

Reviewed 19 June 2023

Better go away … food very expensive, poor quality and quantity below average. 26€ for 6 mini prawnsMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grupo Cala Saona, Marketing at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023
Google Translation

Dear rsekv, Thanks for your comment, Trabamos con producto fresco y de una gran calidad en un restaurante a pie...More

Reviewed 4 June 2023 via mobile

Had 4 dishes...one was 3 ok the other was terrible. The red wine was Okey but extremely cold. The menu and Webb site was realy badMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grupo Cala Saona, Marketing at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023
Google Translation

Apreciada Hansy2022. Muchas gracias por su opinión, Sentimos que la eleción de platos no haya cumplido con su expectativa. Trabajamos...More

Reviewed 1 August 2022 via mobile

Worst restaurant in Formentera. The staff was incredibly rude and although we had a reservation they made us wait over one hour under the sun to be seated. Prices are very expensive, the food is average and the place overall is dirty. The restaurant exists...only for the location. Which itself is not the nicest beach in formentera. But the worst part is the stuff. The manager is extremely rude, and all the stuff behaves like they are making you a favor. At the end of the meal, I asked one of the stuff if he could help me bring my luggages up the stairs. I tipped him 20 euro. He said he will help happily. He went towards my bags and took the smallest one leaving us carrying all up. He took the 20 euro and smiled. Worst people ever. DO NOT GO HEREMore

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrupoCalaSaona, Marketing at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2023
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por compartir su opinión, comentarle que nosotros no disponemos de servicio de maletas al llegar a la playa,...More

Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

Avoid this place. Super expensive, bar food, unpolite and dishonest waiters. The worst place we have visited in Formentera by far

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrupoCalaSaona, Marketing at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2021
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinión, Lamentamos que su experiencia no haya sido la esperada. Un cordial saludo

Reviewed 18 August 2020 via mobile

When we arrived as we had a reservation there was a group ahead of us who didn’t have a reservation and were asked to wait. we got in and they gave us a table by the bar and in the corner even though the other...tables were free. Before seating we asked for one of the other tables by the windows and the waiter said they were reserved but I knew for a fact when you make the reservation you don’t get a choice and you defiantly are not given one. The waiter disagreed. Funny thing though. After being seated though the group who didn’t have a reservation who tried to get a table before us was seated at one of the tables at the window. Incredible. It does not leave a good impression when you almost get in an argument on arrival with the waiter because he is lying to you just so he doesn’t have to seat you where you prefer. It is also true what the other poor reviews say. This restaurant only exists because it the only one. So as usual with anywhere that doesn’t have any competition they don’t need to worry about what the client actually wants because there is always someone behind who doesn’t know better. Though from being in business this restaurants days are numbered unless they get better management which is client orientated and not just number driven oh and a better menu which is a little lacking. Come to the beach in your boat/car etc but not to the restaurant. YOU have a choice! Go elsewhere. Cuando llegamos, ya que teníamos una reserva, había un grupo delante de nosotros que no tenía reserva y se les pidió que esperaran. Entramos y nos dieron una mesa junto a la barra y en la esquina, aunque las otras mesas estaban libres. Antes de sentarnos pedimos una de las otras mesas junto a las ventanas y el camarero dijo que estaban reservadas, pero yo sabía con certeza que cuando haces la reserva no tienes otra opción y, definitivamente, no te dan una. El camarero no estuvo de acuerdo. Aunque es gracioso. Después de estar sentado, el grupo que no tenía reserva y que intentó conseguir una mesa antes que nosotros se sentó en una de las mesas de la ventana. Increíble. No deja una buena impresión cuando al llegar casi discutes con el camarero porque te está mintiendo para no tener que sentarte donde prefieres. También es cierto lo que dicen las otras críticas negativas. Este restaurante solo existe porque es el único. Entonces, como es habitual en cualquier lugar que no tenga competencia, no es necesario que se preocupen por lo que el cliente realmente quiere porque siempre hay alguien detrás que no sabe nada mejor. Aunque por estar en el negocio, los días de los restaurantes están contados a menos que obtengan una mejor administración que esté orientada al cliente y no solo impulsada por números, y un menú mejor que falta un poco. Ven a la playa en tu barco / coche, etc. pero no al restaurante. ¡Tienes una opción! Ve a otro lado.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrupoCalaSaona, Marketing at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2020
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por dejar su opinión charleswX5000KT, Primero de todo comentarle que nuestro restaurante trabaja con reservas realizadas a través...More

Reviewed 23 July 2019

Very disappointing and obviously surviving because of recommendation from staff at check in (reception) at Cala Sanoa who explains it is an official part of the hotel restaurant experience. They do not offer anything special and very unpleasant attitude from the staff.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrupoCalaSaona, Social Media Manager at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

We´re very sorry to read you had such a bad experience while having lunch with us, Bangsgaard_London. We do our best to offer a good quality product and service to all our customers but, obviousy, in your case, we didn´t reach your expectations. We apologize...More

Reviewed 23 June 2019 via mobile

Right on the beach. We went for dinner. Great food. We had the pulpo frito, burrata salad and paella.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrupoCalaSaona, Social Media Manager at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Thanks a lot for your kind words, leebenedi. We hope to see you next time you visit Formentera. Regards from Restaurant Sol

Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

Pallea was the worst we had on the island and seafood didn’t taste fresh. Owner rude and overall very average. Not worth a visit - they only get business as only place on the beach.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrupoCalaSaona, Social Media Manager at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2019
Google Translation

Sentimos mucho que su experiencia haya sido tan poco satisfactoria, emmakath340 Estamos seguros de no merecer tal crítica y opinión...More

Reviewed 8 May 2019

Cala Saona is beautiful as it is, the color of the sea is the most beautiful blue ..and this restaurant right on this amazing beach have the best Sangria ever!! The staff took good care of my allergy , very nice people. We had a...Paella for two and one liter of Sangria with red wine , omg was so good! We had a beautiful day on the island, Formentera is like a rainbow!More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrupoCalaSaona, Social Media Manager at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2019
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por dejarnos su opinón, Jlenia A. Nos alegramos que disfrutasen del día en el Restaurant Sol en Cala...More

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

A lazy Sunday lunch is something to be savoured. Managing to get the perfect balance between exceptional food, good service and a wonderful ambience is very difficult. However, Restaurant Sol seem to achieve this effortlessly. We started with an amazing Arabic Salad and possibly the...best tuna we have had on these islands. This was followed by mussels, pulpo and a sublime steak. Dessert was a very special homage to Ferro Roche and well worth the 15 minute wait. This is exactly how a lunch service should be. Great staff, beautiful setting and exceptional food. Bravo!!More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GrupoCalaSaona, Social Media Manager at Restaurante Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words, 5Star_Service_Seeker. We are glad to read you enjoyed your experience at Restaurant Sol and we´ll be very pleased to see you back next time you visit Formentera. Kind regards !!!

Reviewed 2 June 2017

After biking and a walk we had a drink in this restaurant almost on the beach Near a big hotel. We orderded two coca cola for 6,40 euro is that to much???

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

This place was recommended to us by a number of Spanish friends in Ibiza... it's known for its paella, is reasonably priced, and has great views of the Cala Saona beach. When we visited on an afternoon in May it was busy, but service was...quick and friendly.More

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Right on the beach, fabulous service, meals were terrific and the sangria cava ... to die for! Open from 1pm until 6pm, head straight there after a swim in the beautiful water not 50m away. Dress as casual as you wish :-)

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Cala Saona
620 reviews
.12 miles away
Es Mares Hotel&Spa
176 reviews
2.29 miles away
Hotel Lago Dorado
164 reviews
2.43 miles away
Paraiso De Los Pinos
159 reviews
2.75 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe Matinal
439 reviews
2.30 miles away
La Pezqueria Fish Bar
197 reviews
2.20 miles away
Mama Carmen Formentera
88 reviews
2.32 miles away
Ca na Pepa
1,578 reviews
2.26 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Amore e iodio
93 reviews
3.03 miles away
Formentera Divers
474 reviews
3.06 miles away
Sanctuary and Castle of Javier
102 reviews
2.27 miles away
Boat Excursion Formentera
25 reviews
2.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Restaurante Sol staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RESTAURANTE SOL, Formentera - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Restaurante Sol

Yes, Restaurante Sol is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Restaurante Sol is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4