We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shoko

££ - £££
Neighbourhood:
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
As featured in getting to know barcelona
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Paseo Maritimo de la Barceloneta, 36, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 25 92 00
Website
Today
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 445: English reviews
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited for my birthday lunch and cannot fault the place. We chose the daily menu and the food was outstanding. Portions were big enough and every dish was presented perfectly. We got a glass of Cava on the house because it was my birthday, which was very nice and a few members of staff congratulated me. Will definitely return and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cinders1702
Mahon, Spain
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

I am fully satisfied with Shoko Resto/Bar/Club. I bben in all 3. The Resto staff is professional and very friendly. The food very well done and the location beautifully at the beach. The drinks excellent. The price a bit high but okay.

Helpful?
Thank Free_Globetrotter
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Free_Globetrotter, Thank you so much for your kind feedback on your experience at our restaurant! Your comment is a motivation to continue offering the utmost attention to detail and service. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon at Shoko Barcelona! Best, Laura Palomino More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

I had visited this place before for food and had a good time but now the place was cold, the service was poor even though it was empty except about a million staff members. The sweet and sour was sickly they were good with Gluten free food and the wagyu beef was as good as first time I had it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roy F
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Roy, Thank you for your constructive feedback. All your comments are much appreciated, and the ones that were not so positive we would like to apologise for the inconvenience. Also reasure you that they will be taken seriously and here at Shôko we do our best every day to improve all aspects. Best, Laura Palomino More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I'm actually reviewing the event (not the club), because it was very well organised, the food was delicious and worth every penny spent. We booked the terrace cocktail + club entry (see the attached pictures). There was an entertainment show till 0:30 and everything was just fine. From that moment on the staff started to kick us out from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stoya I
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Stoya, First of all, thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know about your experience with us. At Shôko our aim is to satisfy each of our clients and our only objective is your happiness and satisfaction. That is why we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this. Therefore I... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a table in this place for quiet a significant amount . Beside it when we show up at 10.30 thinking we where going to spend the NYE there we been turn down . We had to pay another significant amount to be able to have a poor Buffet take of the argument of snack being quiet good .... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dearest client, Thank you for your sharing your opinion regarding you experience at Shôko in New Year's Eve. First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our restaurant. We highly appreciate your opinion so we can improve continuously our service with the only objective to make our guests stay more satisfied every time. Also we would like... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Terrible service. Terrible food. Terrible place. It does not value even 1€ you spend in this restaurant. We arrived at 22, have had some drinks and waited to order a paella, nobody let us know that they could not make the paella after 23:00. I order a pulpo a galega around 20€, not tasty at all, heavy, just terrible.

Helpful?
Thank Inácio N
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Inácio, First of all, thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know about your experience with us. At Shôko our aim is to satisfy each of our clients and our only objective is your happiness and satisfaction. That is why we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this. Therefore I... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

It is very rare that i write reviews of such, however this place is in simple, in two words "A Dump". Barcelona's night life amazes me at times, and the reason for such, is the service provided and the overall management, it is just so poor. This place is a mix of a restaurant by day and a club by... More 

Helpful?
Thank L4-Doha
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Doha, First of all, thank you for taking a few minutes of your valuable time to let us know about your experience with us. At Shôko our aim is to satisfy each of our clients and our only objective is your happiness and satisfaction. That is why we deeply regret when we do not fully achieve this. Therefore I... More 

Londrina, PR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

I had a great experience at Shoko! The plate that I ordered was delicious and it was very well served. The attendants were very helpful! Pretty good.

Helpful?
Thank Luana S
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Luana S, Thank you so much for your kind feedback on your experience at our restaurant Your comment is a motivation to continue offering the utmost attention to detail and service. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you soon at Shoko Barcelona Kind regards, Laura Palomino More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2016

on the beach. There are more clubs next to each other. The atmosphere was very nice and the fish was ok. The steak was more than rare as I heard from my colleagues. All in all give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank Lumir B
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Dear Lumir, Thank you for your sharing your opinion regarding you experience at Shôko in Tripadvisor. First of all I would like to thank you for choosing our restaurant. We highly appreciate your opinion so we can improve continuously our service with the only objective to make our guests stay more satisfied every time. Our aim at Shôko is always... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Great place for mornings. Nice view, simple and good menu, the staff is friendly and always open to help and suggest! Recommend this place

Helpful?
Thank Chifor A
shokoBarcelona, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Shoko, responded to this review

Hello Chifor! Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you had a good exeprience with us! We hope to welcome you very back soon! Best, Your Shôko Team! More 

Travellers who viewed Shoko also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Shoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$27 - US$42
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Japanese, Sushi, European, Spanish, Asian, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Monday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
00:01 - 06:00
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Paseo Maritimo de la Barceloneta, 36, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Catalonia  >  Province of Barcelona  >  Barcelona>  > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
  • Neighbourhood: Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
  • Phone Number: +34 932 25 92 00
Description
Shoko offers high quality Japanese and Mediterranean fusion cuisine. This huge restaurant lounge is right on Barcelona beach, next to Hotel Arts. The minimalist décor is modern and oriental and is based on Feng-Shui principals. The menu includes both exotic and traditional dishes based on a delightful combination of cultures and flavours. It is know for its great variety of main courses as well as its beautiful presentation and originality. All this is accompanied by oriental dance displays, martial arts demonstrations, Thai-Chi or other live shows. After dinner Shoko transforms itself into an exclusive lounge club where diners can enjoy the beach front terrace all year round. The restaurant is ideal for private functions and events.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shoko and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Shoko staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica

Neighbourhood Profile
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
The sounds of Marina Olympica's rocking boats and clicking mastheads swaying to and fro set an impressive backdrop for Ciutadella and Villa Olimpica. Follow the aromas of garlic, wine, and fresh local fish to the various restaurants running along the marina. A grand bronze fish statue soaring high above serves as a beacon to those searching for the renowned Casino Barcelona or the extremely popular nightclubs which practically lie on the beach itself.
Explore this neighbourhood