We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

L'Escamarla

££ - £££
Neighbourhood:
Poblenou
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Passeig Maritim, 40 | Platja del Bogatell, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 21 13 66
Website
Today
13:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 13:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 100: English reviews
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was visiting the beach so decided to try this restaurant just next to the waterfront. Service was good, waiter very helpful. Food was ok but nothing special. A decent option if you're visiting the beach and need somewhere to eat, but I wouldn't plan a special meal

Helpful?
Thank villonj
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Food is average and rather expensive for the quality you get. Customer service is appalling. If you like waiters shouting at you and slamming plates and cutlery on the table -this is the place for you. Despite the location, they will need to up their game.

Helpful?
Thank Gannet61
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Correct restaurant next to the beach. Typical food for a sunny sunday: paella, fried fish and more. Its very appropiate to go with children.

Helpful?
Thank Chus M
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

.....restaurants are no different! Went here for a business dinner in mid- Feb (around 12 people). The restaurant was empty, which was not really an issue at all, but the speed of the resultant service (a little disjointed and slow) was not explained by the need to serve other customers. The food was fine (enjoyed the paella) but this city... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jutmarlin
Robert A, Public Relations Manager at L'Escamarla, responded to this review

Hi Jutmarlin, Thanks for your comments. We would like to say that the big difference between us and the rest of restaurant in the area, is that we offer a real food Catalan experience. Even do we know there are some things we can improve, we firmly believe that we give every single day our best effort to make feel... More 

Warren, Canada
Level Contributor
352 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing special there. The location is great, the service was pretty good but not exceptional. The food was average. Keep on walking.

Helpful?
Thank Patate
Robert A, Public Relations Manager at L'Escamarla, responded to this review

Hi Patate, Thanks for your comments. We would like to say that the big difference between us and the rest of restaurant in the area, is that we offer a real food Catalan experience. Even do we know there are some things we can improve, we firmly believe that we give every single day our best effort to make feel... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Maybe it was a bad idea on our part, we arrived at 2.30 on one of the first really sunny Sundays of the year hoping to get a paella. We told on arriving that we would need to wait half an hour for a table, which didn't seem to bad so we sat around in the sun for a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank vivaBarcelona24
Robert A, Public Relations Manager at L'Escamarla, responded to this review

Hi vivaBarcelona24, Thanks for leaving us your opinion. As you said, on weekends is better to reserve in advance because the long ques that we usually have. We sorry heard that you did not think our food was not good enough. Recently we have renewed our menu and improve. Sincerely, we know that opinion concerning food can be subjective, but... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner went for a lunch to the restaurant today ... the Italian lady who served us was very friendly and professional, she suggested us a very nice white wine ( can't remember the name ) and in the end she offered us an espresso coffee. The food was also very nice . I will definitely come back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela A
Robert A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at L'Escamarla, responded to this review

Hello Angela A, We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed our food and, of course, our excellent service. We hope you come back soon. Greetings. More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We walked in 45 min before closing time 7:15pm for a drink and some tapas and were given seats and menus in an almost empty restaurant. There were many people rushing about looking busy, but 5 min, then 10 min go by and no one came to get our drink order at the minimum. We tried to flag down one... More 

Helpful?
Thank coolcatToronto
Robert A, Public Relations Manager at L'Escamarla, responded to this review

Hi coolcatToronto, We sorry but you leave the review at the wrong profile because we close at midnight. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I don't like leaving negative reviews, but feel I have to for this establishment. The only positive I can offer is the lady serving was very pleasant, however our 5 breakfasts arrived in 3 batches with over 10 minutes gap in between. One omelette was burned on the outside, raw in the middle, and 2 of the sandwiches were basically... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jon M
Robert A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at L'Escamarla, responded to this review

Hello Jon M, We are very unpleased to know that you didn’t have the best experience in our restaurant; every day we work very hard to improve. We invite you to write to escamarla@happy.es so we can offer you a personalized service and we can make sure that this situation won’t happen again. Regards More 

UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We dropped in for brunch after a walk along the beach and ordered some sandwiches and omelettes. Our group of five's food was served in two batches about 15 minutes apart, cooked to varying degrees. The first omelette was reasonable, the second (pictured) burnt on the outside and not cooked through in the middle. The waitress apologised for this as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
Robert A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at L'Escamarla, responded to this review

Hello Rebecca M, We are very unhappy to know that you didn’t have the best experience visiting us; every day we effort to offer the best food. We invited you to write to escamarla@happy.es so we can offer you a personalized service and we can make sure that this situation won’t happen again. Regards More 

Travellers who viewed L'Escamarla also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to L'Escamarla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$26 - US$54
Cuisine
Spanish, Seafood, Mediterranean
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
13:00 - 00:00
Monday
13:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
13:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
13:00 - 00:00
Thursday
13:00 - 00:00
Friday
13:00 - 00:00
Saturday
13:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Passeig Maritim, 40 | Platja del Bogatell, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Catalonia  >  Province of Barcelona  >  Barcelona>  > Poblenou
  • Neighbourhood: Poblenou
  • Phone Number: +34 932 21 13 66
Description
L'Escamarlá in on the sea front in a privileged position on Barcelona's esplanade. Simple and unpretentious Mediterranean cooking can be enjoyed on its terrace, based on the best fish and the freshest shellfish. Its menu includes seafood, rice and fried dishes, as well as house recommendations that include sea bass in salt, whole sea bream or lobster ?a la plancha?. There is also a range of meat dishes and special menus for groups or corporate dining. Many of the dishes are for two people.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from L'Escamarla staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Poblenou

Neighbourhood Profile
Poblenou
The futuristic Agbar Tower stands out from Barcelona's skyline in Poblenou. It is no coincidence then that this area of town is the newly crowned technological park of the city, its own mini Silicon Valley containing a tech incubator (Barcelona Activa) as well as a host of local and international high tech companies. To accommodate the onrush of new residents and workers, the area of Poblenou has seen a surge of activity in new high-rise residential buildings and two top-notch shopping centres catering to everyone's need. The ambiance of this area is calmer than the city center and the beautifully relaxing Bogatell Beach, popular with locals, is just a handful of blocks away.
Explore this neighbourhood