We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£26 - £103
CUISINES
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Ligurian, Northern-Italian
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (413)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
65
15
1
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
65
15
1
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scampi amazing food white wine euro rip
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 June 2023 via mobile

Amazing Food, great service, the scampi Is just unbelievable. I already had scampi in many different countries and places and this one is the best ever. Congrats!

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2023

Service was appalling we had to wait ages to be served as only one man serving who also turned some people away from an empty table. Food tasted ok but nothing special also a 5 euro cover charge for dry bread. No choice of drinks...offered white wine only and served them short at 10 euro’s a glass. Three spaghetti dishes which at first he refused to let us have Parmesan Cheese for one Octopus tentacles 5 wine for €183 what a rip off. Even took them 30 mins for us to pay which they managed to mess up. Definitely one to miss.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vanda Foppiano, Proprietario at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023

Good evening We are sorry that you have judged the service times too long. Our kitchen uses only freshly cooked products and sometimes times can be longer. In addition to the "gag" to taste the scampi, the cost of the cover includes unlimited baskets of...More

Reviewed 6 September 2022

If you want to have THE Lasagne al pesto this is the place to be. And their langoustines are at a different level.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Have been going to this place since over 14 years and it’s always so lovely to be there. All the staff is adorable, helpful and always smiling. The scampi are out of this world , it’s pure happiness. All their food is fantastic and nothing...has changed throughout these years. Always perfect. We will see you again next week. Can’t wait.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2021

Words cannot describe the lack of business etiquette displayed by the person who claimed to be the manager. She cancelled our reservation with 30minutes notice after we called to notify the restaurant that we would have been 4 people instead of 8. A waiter initially...picked up our request, confirming that this would not have been an issue. Consequently, the manager called back and, claiming that she had received numerous cancellations for that night, she proceeded to cancel our reservation on the grounds that she neither wished, nor needed, to have us as clients. Not only was the manager unprofessional, she was also rude and clearly showed to be neither fit nor capable of dealing with pressure. I am glad that this took place over the phone, rather than de visu, because I would not have accepted the behaviour described above. The manager should learn to keep her instinct-driven reactions to herself, instead of taking her frustrations out on her clients, or change her job. Lastly, if the manager is to act in the best interests of the restaurant and her employees, she should simply get lost.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2021

We had a reservation at 21:30, when we arrived they told us very rudely to wait because the table wasn’t ready. They sat us down at 22:35!! No one ever came to apologise and every time we asked how long we would have to wait...they would either not answer us or tell us to go for a walk. After we finally sat down we were told that we couldn’t order some plates because they take too long to prepare and it was too late. The owner was rude to us and some of the other tables as well. We spoke to one of the waiters who was polite and he told us that since she took over the restaurant there are issues every night. This used to be the place to eat scampi but the new “manager” has managed to ruin it completely.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2020

they were missing some dish on the menu , not normal portofino became a kind of tourist trap ... for the last 10 Y.......

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2020

Just review your bill carefully! They knew we were Americans n double charged us! We ate here last year and had no problem... quite dissapointing this year!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VandaF215, Proprietario at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2020

Dear guest, thank you for your review, but the accusations you're making here a both rather dire and quite unfounded. Guests to me are all equally guests, wherever they may come from and whatever their nationality. Before you go around pointing fingers, it'd be good...More

Reviewed 23 July 2020

Very bad experience at this restaurant. We ordered a very nice bottle of wine which had gone very bad. We tasted it and told them (you could even tell by the smell that it had gone off) and they refused to remove it off the...bill. They clearly have no idea how to store fine wine at this restaurant, and the lady taking payment was extremely unfriendly and pretended she didn't speak any English. Very very dishonest owner, taking advantage of it's clients. Will never go back... Don't waste your time, the food isn't even that good. Much better restaurants to choose from in Portofino!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VandaF215, Proprietario at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2020

Dear Guest, after reading your multiple reviews, we must reply to what are, in our humble opinion, rather unfounded criticisms. First of all, before you order a bottle of vintage wine - in this case a “1995 BARBARESCO” by Angelo Gaja, aged some 25 years...More

Reviewed 5 October 2019

We were here the first time in 2011 by sheer good fortune. Our lunch that day, a shrimp appetizer and linguine pesto, were so memorable that we alway knew if we returned to Portofino, we would return to this restaurant. Eight years later, we went...on a Mediterranean cruise, and learned that Portofino would be our stop on our 21st anniversary! I'm afraid we were a little difficult, trying to arrange a dinner here. but they were very accommodating, even willing to open early for us, but our time for dinner was severely limited because of when we had to be back on board the ship. So, we opted for lunch once again, choosing the same options that had brought us back after so many years. Once again, every single bite was pure ambrosia. Probably the best shrimp we have ever had--tender, flavorful, sweet. And the pesto! Pesto was invented in this part of the world, after all. The basil is so fragrant, the Ligurian olive oil so delicious, it cannot be recreated at home. What an incredible meal, and such kind hosts.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VandaF215, Proprietario at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2019

Dear guest, There's nothing I could say that could do justice to the sheer emotion in your review, but I'll try anyway. Some experiences stay with us for years and decades after we've lived through them, and I'm beyond pleased and honored to see that...More

Reviewed 19 September 2019

We had a lovely dinner in this restaurant while on our honeymoon. We were a bit worried that dining in Portofino would turn out to be a rip off, but this was clearly not the case. The food at this place was fantastic: we had...a perfect risotto to share, grilled octopus ( which was perfectly done and good value for money) and last we ordered a plate of langoustine to share - this was absolutely delicious! To add to this, the serving and atmosphere were terrific, very friendly and cosy. We would definitely return to this place!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VandaF215, Direttore at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2019

Dear Christina, first off, congratulations on your wedding! It's quite the honor to have had you at our joint while you were passing through Portofino on you honeymoon, and I'm very pleased to see that we managed to shake off some of the infamy attached...More

Reviewed 13 August 2019

Having spent a week in Italy with my family, we had the pleasure of eating at this awesome, alley-way restaurant. Great seafood and pasta dishes!More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VandaF215, Direttore at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear Guest, thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your family for the evening, and it's always great to see someone really enjoy the dishes we put so much care...More

Reviewed 6 August 2019

When you have the occasion to visit Portofino, "Ö Batti" is the institution to go for dinner. In a secluded court in the central alleys of the town, this typical restaurant will not deceive you in years. Have the house's special, the "Scampi alla Ö...Batti". The recipe is jealously kept secret and I can say it hasn't changed in the last 15 years span. Wonderful starters and why not a linguine with pesto. Make sure to book a table - two services available.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VandaF215, Direttore at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear Leonor, thank you kindly for your enthusiastic and thorougly informative review. The quality of our "Scampi alla O Batti" (O Batti Shrimps) has always been one of our top priorities and always will be, as it goes hand in hand with our guests' enjoying...More

Reviewed 2 July 2019

We were in Portofino a week, so we had the opportunity to literally eat at every restaurant. We voted this the best. But it is down an alley, and can be hot in the summer. Order their shrimp special, and the assorted hors d'oeuvre platter....The manager gave us a complimentary Limoncella for dessert. The shrimp had a "special sauce" that was incredible.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VandaF215, Proprietario at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2019

Dear Guest, thank you kindly for your lovely review, and for taking the time to leave it. It's a great honor to be named the best restaurant in Portofino after sucha thorough research and culinary tour. The competition is really fierce! Indeed, our restaurant is...More

Reviewed 20 June 2019 via mobile

Pleasantly hide in a small ally in, Portofino, this old and relatively simple establishment hold great seafood dishes and pastas .... don’t miss the famous scampiMore

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VandaF215, Proprietario at Da O Batti Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2019

Dear Guest, thank you kindly for your lovely review! I'm very glad that you found us and enjoyed our menu so much! We strive to always put out the best dishes we can, especially when it comes to our Scampi alla Batti (Batti shrimps), and...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Splendido Mare, A Belmond Hotel, Portofino
48 reviews
.03 miles away
Albergo Nazionale
237 reviews
.03 miles away
Hotel Eden
175 reviews
.03 miles away
Hotel Piccolo Portofino
880 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Trattoria Tripoli
645 reviews
.06 miles away
Ristorante Stella
1,030 reviews
.07 miles away
Da I Gemelli
1,505 reviews
.06 miles away
Taverna del Marinaio
627 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Area Marina Protetta Portofino
502 reviews
.09 miles away
Baia di Paraggi
167 reviews
.52 miles away
Piazza Martiri Dell'Olivetta
330 reviews
.03 miles away
Passeggiata dei Baci
13 reviews
.50 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kay C
10 September 2017|
Answer
Response from chestercarbone | Reviewed this property |
yes there's a municipal parking garage near by
0
Votes
gvc3ster
12 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Blackbigone | Property representative |
Hello Mr. Casale, to book a table called on the phone +39 338 9515145
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

DA O BATTI PORTOFINO - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Da Ö Batti Portofino

Da Ö Batti Portofino is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4