We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rua Thai

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Schluhmattstrasse 19 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 966 61 81
Website
Today
18:00 - 12:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 18:00 - 12:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

I had Thai food in many restaurants in Switzerland, as my wife is Thai, and this is one of the best. However our meal was a spoiled by a rude male server. When we asked politely if we could order, he said with a rude tone that we should wait. However the restaurant was half empty... He came back 20... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dalvo
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We used to love this resturant, as the food was excellent. We have been to Zermatt many times and previously had some wonderful meals here. Unfortunatley this last visit (March 2017) to Rua Thai was very dissapointing ! We were waiting to be greeted on arrival and the staff just didn't seemed interested at all ! It's as though we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Farshad N
HotelAlbanaReal, Manager at Rua Thai, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and regret your vist did not live up to expectations. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

What a deception. We have been here before a few times and then the food was much better. The prices are ridiculous, 42chfrs for fried rice (and a tiny portion). The fried rice had raisins in it, and they call it traditional Thai food. The tiger prawn curry was nice but again 42chfrs. It's not worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank PimYam
HotelAlbanaReal, Propriétaire at Rua Thai, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. The price of the fried rice is CHF 9.00 and not CHF 42.00 sorry.. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

We each had an excellent green Thai curry. The service was ok. The prices are high, even by Swiss standards. Rice is charged extra to the high curry price!

Helpful?
Thank Graham S
HotelAlbanaReal, Owner at Rua Thai, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our restaurant More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017

we had not been to this place for a long time so we decided to give it another try, what a big mistake that was, the thai food tasted bland and was just average, portions were very small and way overpriced, the service was slow, not friendly and not helpful, the owner of this place must be fast asleep....never again

Helpful?
1 Thank Calvin B
HotelAlbanaReal, Manager at Rua Thai, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and regret you did not enjoy your experience More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

This restaurant looks fancy outside but taste of the food is very average...no much of thai flavour.

Helpful?
Thank itzmelux
HotelAlbanaReal, Inhaber at Rua Thai, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant More 

Geneva
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We were a group of six visiting a not-so-busy restaurant. They obviously invested a lot in this place, which may explain the very high prices and low-investment service. To start with, they gave us a poor table and when we requested a change one waiter made a snide comment in Italian (I understand Italian, so he was embarrassed when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Divos
HotelAlbanaReal, Manager at Rua Thai, responded to this review

We thank you for reviewing our restaurant. We regret you did not enjoy the experience . We will take on board the points you have highlighted. More 

Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2017

If you are an experienced in quality Thai food we would not recommend this restaurant. It was not terrible but the quality lacked. The appetizers did not seem made in house and the curry dishes were far from the best we had.

Helpful?
Thank gld31970
HotelAlbanaReal, Manager at Rua Thai, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017

We went here twice, the lady patron is very helpful though a bit frenetic! we really loved the Tom Yum soup but everything was good, the service was quick and friendly - it wasn't cheap but then this is Zermatt !

Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
HotelAlbanaReal, Inhaber at Rua Thai, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I've been twice eating there. 1st time: Was walking arround Zermatt looking for a nice n' cool place where eat. First the location along the river is nice so we entered straight away. Out of season it's like perfect cause it wasn't to crowded so we got seats easily. The view is nice mostly the window wall in the river... More 

Helpful?
Thank yohanm883
HotelAlbanaReal, Manager at Rua Thai, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant. More 

Travellers who viewed Rua Thai also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Rua Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
18:00 - 12:00
Monday
18:00 - 12:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 12:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 12:00
Thursday
18:00 - 12:00
Friday
18:00 - 12:00
Saturday
18:00 - 12:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Schluhmattstrasse 19 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Swiss Alps  >  Canton of Valais  >  Zermatt
  • Phone Number: +41 27 966 61 81
  • This restaurant is at Hotel Albana Real

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rua Thai staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?