We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Lord Nelson

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
+44 1226 762324
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 212: English reviews
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the food but the atmosphere was a little drib and to make it worse they started a quiz (wasn't for me but I realise others may have enjoyed)

Helpful?
Thank SuperDaveBrown
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the Lord Nelson. I was pleased that you enjoyed our food, we do have a quiz every Thursday for which we try to please everyone, but sometimes not to everyones taste. All other nights are normal with usually a good atmosphere especially at weekends. Hope you will visit us again but possibley try and... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on Sunday for the Sunday lunch, been here a few times now our new eating place we didn't book, was busy but got seated straight away, 14.95 3 courses beautiful from start to finish, lovely food great value for money, Brilliant service to match, very clean and friendly staff just what you need, table service, wasn't waiting long... More 

Helpful?
Thank bigjohnn1000
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your great reveiw of the Lord Nelson. I am pleased to here you enjoy are Meals especially the Sunday lunch. I hope you will keep on visiting us, thanks again. More 

YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We, a family of four called for in whilst passing through Hoylandswaine. We wanted a quick lunch as we have two children. We had not booked but were able to be seated straight away. The Sunday roast menu looked good value for 2 courses, so we gave it a whirl. Both courses arrived without delay. All the food was freshly... More 

Helpful?
Thank TYKE2
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Lord nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and hope to see you again soon More 

Meltham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Early evening on a chilly November evening, - most important word here is chilly, as that was inside the pub, whether or not there was a problem with the heating I have no idea, but sat with coats on whilst dining, - anyway the food, served quickly, served hot and very tasty. But the overriding memory was the chill.

Helpful?
Thank Russell B
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Lord nelson. I apologise for the heating problem the boiler was not working properly, for which it has now being fixed. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your food and hopefully you will try us again in the future. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I do not usually leave reviews, but after reading the unbelievably harsh one by C H, I felt compelled to do so. I was at the Lord Nelson at the same time enjoying a meal with family (which was very good from a large homemade menu and a very generous portion), when a power cut hit the whole village. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajs459
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of The Lord nelson, I apologise for the electrical problem that evening it seemed to wipe out half of barnsley, however I was pleased you understood the problem and still enjoyed your visit. Hope to dee you again very soon. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Weather cold- pub cold! Service slow, starters took a long time to appear! Tasty, but half way through we had a power cut, by no means any fault of the restaurant! We sat in our dark corner waiting for someone to clarify the situation. I struggled to finish the delicious starter that I couldn't actually see. Waiter appeared only to... More 

Helpful?
Thank C H
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

I was sorry to here you were disappointed in your visit, it was a very unfortunate incident which court us by surprise, After speaking to the manager on duty he said that he was going round everyone in turn and sorting the problem, but he was sorry he did not reach your table in time. Hop you will try us... More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stopped here for the very first time on our way home to Glossop from the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, so the Lord Nelson is very well situated en route. It was very early S.aturday evening and the pub was fairly quiet The four of us all chose different dishes, sadly 2 of us just missed out on the specials board as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for reviewing the Lord Nelson. I was sorry to here you were a little dissapointed in your visit, I have looked into the points you mentioned and have addressed them with the team that was on that evening so they can be improved. Hope you will visit us again and have a better experience. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Excellent as always everybody enjoyed there meals from start to finish the service is excellent aswell great place.

Helpful?
Thank Barneydave
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your excellent review, I am really pleased you enjoyed your birthday meal with us and we hope to see you very soon. More 

Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Food was well presented and enjoyable. Pub is very clean and we'll furnished. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind review of the lord nelson. I was pleased to here that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon. More 

nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Iv been going to this pub for the last 20 years if not more, its always been very nice food and lovley staff, very warm and welcoming. It has had its ups and downs our recent visits this year though have been very nice the food is of good quality and quantity for a reasonable price my only slight isue... More 

Helpful?
Thank rachelizb
saver186364, Owner at Lord Nelson, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind reveiw of the Lord Nelson, its great to here that you enjoy visiting and enjoy your meals. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Lord Nelson also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Holmfirth, West Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Barnsley Road, Hoylandswaine S36 7JA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Hoylandswaine
  • Phone Number: +44 1226 762324

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lord Nelson and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Barnsley, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lord Nelson staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?