We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$42
CUISINES
Asian, Indonesian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Centrum
0.3 miles from Emperor's Canal (Keizersgracht)
Improve this listing
Reviews (2,536)
Filter reviews
1,606 results
Traveller rating
485
625
284
119
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
485
625
284
119
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rijsttafel rice gado gado rendang beef indonesian food iced tea small dishes spicy spuistraat vegetarian dutch netherlands euro
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very average. There were a few good things in the order but mostly pretty weak. Quality very average. Reasonable value for money

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

Out of the 4 Indonesian restaurants in the Netherlands I’ve been to in the recent years this was the worst. The nasi rames dish I had tonight is the perfect illustration of what happens when the kitchen, staff and management no longer cares. Food: Under...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Sightsee35209335683, Marketing at Kantjil & de Tijger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2020

Dear Bidunhomme, Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. All the feedback we get helps us to improve our concept. We are very sorry to hear you're dissappointed with your experience with us. Our apologies for that. However, it seems...More

Reviewed 22 February 2020

One of my favorite things to do in Amsterdam, is to dine at one of the city's many wonderful Indonesian restaurants. Kantjil & de Tijger is one of them. It was a beautiful day when I had lunch here and I was fortunate enough to...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
michellevanloosen, Marketing at Kantjil & de Tijger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Hi StockholmKindaGuy, Thank you for your kind words! We're happy you had a good time with us. Maybe we see you next summer for another Kantjil Bowl? Cheers, Team Kantjil

Reviewed 21 February 2020

After a warm welcome, we got to experience a lovely Indonesian dinner. Not just a dish per person, but a whole table full of different dishes, different flavors and different spices! No matter what you have for dinner, I'd recommend to accompany it with a...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
michellevanloosen, Marketing at Kantjil & de Tijger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

Hi Jake J, Thanks for leaving such a nice review with us! It's good to see you've experienced everything the way it's intended. And we agree; our Homemade Ice Tea is pretty delicious ;-). Hope to see you soon! Cheers, Team Kantjil

Reviewed 17 February 2020

The atmosphere was fine, the food was mediocre at best, way overpriced, and all comes with the worst service. The wait staff will mess up your order, blame you for the mistake, then try to make you pay for it at the end. It is...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
michellevanloosen, Marketing at Kantjil & de Tijger, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Hi jake l, Thank you for leaving a review with us. Your feedback is important in order for us to keep on improving. We apologize for the unpleasant experience you had. However, it is never our intention to treat our guests bad or to serve...More

Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Very poor food, presented without any care or thought, miserable staff, slow and disinterested service. Yet quite busy on a Saturday night; perhaps we were unlucky.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

This is large, authentic Indonesian restaurant with a good range of dishes . Vegetarians can eat well here and overall the food was good quality except for the beef and coconut which was a bit too dryMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
michellevanloosen, Marketing at Kantjil & de Tijger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Hi Wandagold, Thank you for your kind words! Happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. We're sorry for the Rendang beef; this dish should indeed not be dry. We addressed the issue to the kitchen staff in order to prevent this in the future. Cheers,...More

Reviewed 17 January 2020

The only disappointment in the whole of our trip to Amsterdam. Food was cold, beef dry and tough, sauces out of a jar and very strong. Incredibly bad value for money, 75E for a very bad meal, all other places we ate wete excellent and...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

As an Indonesian family who was looking for some authentic Indonesian food abroad (especially in the Netherlands where the Indonesian food is known to be spot on), we were left feeling beyond disappointed. How do I say this? I would describe the whole experience as...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?3  
michellevanloosen, Manager at Kantjil & de Tijger, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Hi ChubbyIndo, Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. All the feedback we get, only helps us to improve our concept. We are very sorry to hear you're dissappointed with your experience with us. Our apologies for that. We can...More

Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Went here for our first Indonesian food experience. Let me start by saying that if this is a good example of Indonesian food, I would eat it everyday! But...service is not good here. Waiters are inattentive and unhelpful. Almost disorganized. Food was not all served...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Michelle L, Manager at Kantjil & de Tijger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Hi pilotmike86, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food! However, we apologize for the fact you experienced the service as inattentive and unhelpful. Of course that is not the way we intend to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of
tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists
and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the
best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe.
Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops
of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones
Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods
such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
NH City Centre Amsterdam
2,053 reviews
.04 miles away
Ambassade Hotel
2,240 reviews
.08 miles away
Hotel Estherea
4,725 reviews
.10 miles away
Flower Market Hotel
234 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lanskroon Bakery stroopwafels
360 reviews
.04 miles away
Eetcafe Singel 404
651 reviews
.04 miles away
Restaurant d'Vijff Vlieghen
1,914 reviews
.03 miles away
De Mannen Van Kaas
146 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
English Reformed Church
79 reviews
.04 miles away
Spui
34 reviews
.05 miles away
ArtAmsterdam-Spui
41 reviews
.05 miles away
Houten Huys (Wooden House)
17 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
821smp
7 May 2018|
Answer
Response from erethistis | Reviewed this property |
At this time, the restaurant has free tables, but I recommend you to pre-book a table by phone.
1
Vote
Air78
11 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Geraldine L | Reviewed this property |
Its a rush to get from airport to Central Station then 3tram stops unless you know exactly where you are going, its 15-20minute walk. Aborts are also unpredictable so I would not chance it. There is a very good restaurant in... More
1
Vote
PsmokeyZ
29 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Alfan A | Property representative |
Hi PsmokeyZ, If you let us know when you're planning to visit us, we'll make sure that we reserve a table for you to your convenience. Reservation can be made by phone or on our website. With your reservation please make... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kantjil & de Tijger

  • Yes, Kantjil & de Tijger offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Kantjil & de Tijger offers delivery services.

  • Kantjil & de Tijger is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 3.5
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 3.5