We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco

Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7800-018, Portugal
+351 284 313 580
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good49%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible9%
2 weeks ago
“Excellent set dinner experience”
30 Jan 2017
“Interesting experience. ”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Portuguese, Mediterranean, European, Soups
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7800-018, Portugal
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We're staying in the Pousada and decided to dine in. They have a special menu for Euro 70 for 2 including a bottle of wine. We chose this rather than eat off the menu. Really enjoyed it. The 4 different appetisers were good, being a...More

Thank robertglas46
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I am sure that you can find better and cheaper options for a meal in Beja but on a Sunday night and after a long ride, for us it was the perfect option. Staff was very attentive and professional and the huge Monastery refectory, turned...More

Thank TheWholeTruthHK
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Mr. Santiago, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant. We really expect...More

Reviewed 7 December 2016

We stayed in late November and the hotel was very quiet and the restaurant doubly so. The food was very good and we ate off the Euro 20 special menu which was excellent value.More

Thank Alan O
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Mr. Alan, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant. We really expect...More

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We had dinner on the terrace a couple of nights whilst we were staying. The tables are a good size and there is plenty of space between each table. We had to ask for the candle to be lit except for the last night when...More

Thank Fiona H
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Mr. Fiona, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant. We really expect...More

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Staying here a couple of nights. Disappointed both with reading the reviews, and the fact that first night there only appeared to be one table taken for dinner.....we ate out, however breakfast buffet was very good, lots of choice, nice fresh fruit salad, and cooked...More

Thank MaryBarryJackson
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Mr. Mary, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant. We really expect...More

Reviewed 6 July 2016

We had our wedding reception here and we keep coming back, every year, to celebrate the date. The food is amazing, the staff very attentive and the place is so amazing you feel like staying overnight - and you can, because they are also a...More

Thank F-Alves
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant. We really expect to...More

Reviewed 5 February 2016

Wonderful room, friendly and helpful staff. Narrow range of wines, as it usually is in the portuguese historical pousadas, but good quality. Tasteful and well presented food, such as the alentejan tomato and codfish açorda soups, which were delicious. Very good alentejan pork, well made...More

Thank carlosmp
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Mr. Carlos, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant. We really expect...More

Reviewed 3 November 2015

Completed this on general review. Average food. x3 + what would pay elsewhere. Coffee appalling. Give it a miss and look out for one of the local restaurants. there are a couple within 5-7 minutes walk away.

Thank HJR73
A TripAdvisor Member
51
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

I ate here multiple times on recent trip and truly enjoyed the food, drinks and the very friendly staff. Back patio is very pleasant.More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Manager_Beja, Gerente at Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. However, we were pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our Restaurant. We really expect to...More

Reviewed 19 December 2014

Not much to choose from. A change of Chef might be a good idea. Disastrous at trying to be trendy / modern. Breakfast was good.

Thank AHR1948
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pulo Do Lobo
162 reviews
.22 miles away
Vovo Joaquina
156 reviews
.17 miles away
Ristorante Pizzeria Dona Maria
96 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe do Cais
25 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Castelo de Beja
290 reviews
.41 miles away
Museu Regional de Beja (Museu Rainha D. Leonor)
95 reviews
.19 miles away
Nucleo Museologico
38 reviews
.19 miles away
Museu Visigotico--Igreja de Santo Amaro
35 reviews
.67 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Restaurante Pousada Sao Francisco staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Largo Dom Nuno Alvares Pereira, Beja 7800-018, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Alentejo  >  Beja District  >  Beja
  • Phone Number: +351 284 313 580
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing