We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurante A Gale

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
262
102
19
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
262
102
19
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews portuguese steak prawns mixed grilled fish chateaubriand sole flambe rice lamb chops sea bass prawn cocktail bread potatoes chicken piri piri salad small restaurant been coming here for years never disappoints
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2018

On the main road, the outside seating means you're effectively sitting alongside the car park, which isn't a great environment. The food was mixed - the clams to start were probably the best I had in Portugal and the prawns were pronounced good too. The...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank suzanne_westcott
carlapina11, Proprietário at Restaurante A Gale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Thank you for your comment. 🙏 Happy new year 🎆

Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

We had one night in Carvoeiro, and the original place we looked at did do the traditional food we were after - so went for wander and found here. So glad we did, traditional cataplana with a tomato/mozzarella salad (the chips are just for good...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank JanWard85
carlapina11, Proprietário at Restaurante A Gale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you 🙏

Reviewed 14 November 2018

Booked here on the first evening of our holiday largely because it was open on Monday, but we were very pleased we had. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent food, great (and cheap) house wine and welcoming atmosphere. I can thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bobsulSussex_UK
carla p, Proprietário at Restaurante A Gale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Thank you ❤️🙏

Reviewed 12 November 2018

Four of us had dinner here last Saturday night, I had prawn cocktail starter with loads of prawns old fashioned yes but truly delicious. Main course I had grilled dourada (sea bream) again beautifully cooked and very tasty. A friend had steak Portuguese which was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank W8888IErobh
carla p, Proprietário at Restaurante A Gale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Thank you ❤️😉🙏

Reviewed 8 November 2018

What a find!! Very busy restaurant. Was advised to book. Attentive polite and knowledgeable staff, superb tasty food - the best we had eaten on holiday! The prawn cocktail was full of prawns rather than just receiving a couple chopped up in other restaurants. The...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Karen E
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Well done! Was here 18 years ago and it is still as good! We have been so disappointed with all the fancy restaurants in Carvoeiro or should I say fancy prices! Here is a restaurant that has remained true to its roots, serves up very...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Reno63
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We visit Carvoeiro 3 or 4 times a year for several weeks at a time and A Galé has been a long established and regular destination for their excellent food and their friendly and efficient service. Surprisingly, we had seen a couple of poor recent...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Simba0ne
Reviewed 30 September 2018

Arrived at 8.30 having booked a table sat for fifteen minutes waitress took drinks order half bottle red half bottle white when she brought the drinks she proceeded to pour both wines out at the same time spilling the red one all over mopped it...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Judith M
carla p, Proprietário at Restaurante A Gale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Hello!!! Sorry you had a bad day at A Galé,... That was for sure the night everything went wrong. We are not happy or proud for that but sometimes It goes over us. I truest you give us another day to make up for you....More

Reviewed 30 September 2018

Certainly recommend this very busy restaurant. Super friendly staff. Food was amazing, great tasting pork fillet with mushroom sauce. One of our better meals whilst in Carvoeiro.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank AJCurviews
carla p, Proprietário at Restaurante A Gale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you so very much

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Visited for the 2nd time in my holiday. The first visit was ok which is unusual for A Gale. We have been dining here for 16 years. Last night's visit was awful. Waited almost an hour for our food which was wrong when it arrived....More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Catherine B
carla p, Proprietário at Restaurante A Gale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Hello dear friend!!! We did have a no, no, evening this week . Everything went wrong. Sorry is all I can tell you. I hope 16 years of life will not be more than one no, no evening . Hope I see you again X

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 nearby hotels
Monte Dourado Resort
216 reviews
.10 miles away
Hotel Carvoeiro Sol
325 reviews
.16 miles away
Hotel Mirachoro Praia
724 reviews
.18 miles away
Monte Carvoeiro
111 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 168 nearby restaurants
Happys
483 reviews
.02 miles away
Bar Havana
247 reviews
.06 miles away
Jota Lita Restaurant
436 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 43 nearby attractions
Carvoeiro Boardwalk
1,163 reviews
.15 miles away
Algar Seco
972 reviews
.30 miles away
Carvoeiro Beach
527 reviews
.19 miles away
Ermida de Nossa Senhora da Encarnacao
12 reviews
.17 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anncameron2014
17 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Craig B | Reviewed this property |
In Carvoeiro at the moment and they are closed but they have a sign on the door saying they are reopening on the 26th of December.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing