We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O Telheiro do Infante

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Praia da Mareta, Sagres 8650-376, Portugal
+351 282 624 179
Website
Today
10:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Mon 10:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This location is beautiful but the food doesn't measure up to the location. The portions were good, but the service a little slow during lunch. Potatoes were great. Good bread, but average salads and shrimp. None of our party had fish which was highlighted on menu.

Helpful?
Thank kjsutt
TELHEIRO, Manager at O Telheiro do Infante, responded to this review

Dear Costumer Thank you for your comment. We will take notice that the salad wasn't as perfect as you would like. About the shrimp, it's the first time that a costumer refers to that meal, however we will confirm with our supplier if the shrimp that is being delivered comes from the same origin that we demand. So please come... More 

London, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took a punt on this place as we happened to notice it above the beach. Front the front it looked deserted and we thought it was closed and then we found a staircase up to the restaurant. We were given a table on the balcony in the sun and it was simply breathtaking! Our children had delicious food and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathyweston
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reluctant service; we felt very unwelcome. Had to go find the wait staff for our bill. It was the worst eating experience of our trip.

Helpful?
Thank jso123
TELHEIRO, Manager at O Telheiro do Infante, responded to this review

Dear costumer we realize that you didn't criticized our food, and by that we know that you were fully satisfied. In summer time we have almost the triple of our employees. This is the worst time to look for special attention on service, because you were in Sagres, a town that has large problems finding personnel to work, and its... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for drinks and some starters, just as a snack before lunch. The view was AMAZING!! But it took quite a long time too get our drinks, and wasn't anything special, however it was still a nice place to just sit and look at the view💛

Helpful?
Thank Ella E
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2017

What a great place for lunch, al fresco if weather allows, or inside in the very comfortable and nicely decorated first floor restaurant, with magnificent views over the beautiful beach. We had a generous helping of very fresh and deliciously cooked mussels as a starter ,followed by sharing a large equally fresh Sea Bream. The waiter made things very easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank 999Sasha
Piemonte
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We ate lunch here on the last day before the restaurant closed down for its winter break. Given the superb location, overlooking the beach, and the comparative absence of competition - the only other restaurant we saw open was a curry house - I feared we were in for an expensive disaster. After an unpromising start - a prawn salad... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dutchmm
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely two course lunch consisting of fresh fish. Very well prepared, great side dishes. Had the terrass mostly to ourselves on this sunny wintersday and enjoyed gorgeous views of the beach and Pontas de Sagres. Friendly staff, good English language skills. Bit higher pricing but quality of the food and the view made it worthwhile.

Helpful?
Thank Renee S
Villedieu, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We were a group of four and had different dishes, the servings with the couvert were generous and good. The squid, the bacalhau and the Portuguese steak were fresh and perfectly prepared, staff friendly and attentive, reasonable prices, house wine to be recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Templier84
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

A minute away from the beach, it is perfectly located to have lunch between two baths. The salad was refreshing and good. The lady was friendly and no-nonsense.

Helpful?
Thank Kelilans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We went there today to just have coffee and cake. When we ordered we were just frowned at. The waiter just took the coffee order and never brought the cake menu. We then found out that we were in the dining area so we moved to the coffee and cake area. Someone could have just politely told us. The almond... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katharinaq1

Travellers who viewed O Telheiro do Infante also viewed

 
Sagres, Faro District
Sagres, Faro District
 

Been to O Telheiro do Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$27
Cuisine
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Praia da Mareta, Sagres 8650-376, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Algarve  >  Faro District  >  Sagres
  • Phone Number: +351 282 624 179
Description
Located by the Mareta Beach, an excellent restaurant, were is high recommended the Fresh Fish and the Specials: Lobster Rice Pot, Rice Dish with Fish and Seafood and the Monkfish Cataplana.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of O Telheiro do Infante and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from O Telheiro do Infante staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?