We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PRICE RANGE
£13 - £34
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,557)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
375
156
62
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
375
156
62
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak fish calamari bread mashed potatoes bacalhau salad our waiter nice dinner food and wine island reservation photographs tender portuguese euros limpets
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 October 2023 via mobile

This had the best seasoned main dishes on the island so far, as we’ve found many restaurants on the island just use olive oil and nothing else. Ambiance and service pretty good. The desserts are poor…don’t waste your money on them

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Owner at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2023

Many thanks, please try again our desserts.

Reviewed 30 September 2023 via mobile

Reserved a table in advance (Always a good approach 😊) and got our table in a large room with a good atmosphere. Waiter was prompt and respectful. We ordered two albacore beefs (they are large!) with no additions - that was not needed. They were...supreme made and very tasty. We had a small desert, a starter drink and a bottle of white wine - all with a cost of €100 including tips. All in all a good experience.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Owner at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado até breve

Reviewed 10 September 2023

Nice atmosphere and sits on the waterfront. Serves seafood, pasta, and meat dishes. Tried the limpets, which I did not enjoy at all. Overcooked…hard and rubbery. The octopus was mushy, flavourless and swimming in olive oil. My partner had the deep fried cod with spicy...sauce. That was the better choice. It was cooked to perfection and delicious. Looked around us, and the calamari looked good. Heard other customers raving about the beef. All around the island you can see grazing Holstein cows. So maybe the beef here is really good?More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Owner at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado pela critica.

Reviewed 6 September 2023

Great spot. We had a very relaxing dinner here for my birthday . Service was very good and loved the upscale atmosphere without high prices. Great value.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado até breve

Reviewed 9 August 2023 via mobile

Good ambience. Excellent staff. Extensive menu food and wine. Place for a relaxed meal. Book ahead at busy times. Would recommend.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Many thanks

Reviewed 18 July 2023

Located across from Octant hotel, Sao Pedro has its own parking - a plus in PDL. It has a casual-romantic ambiance with a nice bar and wine library area. Food is typical Azorean. We had grilled limpets - somewhat rough and chewy and grilled shrimp...which were better. The bacalao entry was crusty on outside and soft inside - definitely one of the better bacalao dished in our experience. Service was very professional.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado

Reviewed 5 July 2023

While I’m Ponta Delgada, I visited the restaurant several times. I’ve never been disappointed! The food is fabulous. The service is friendly and efficient. All the art work is original… The owners art work! Definitely a don’t miss” dinner location!

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado, até breve.

Reviewed 4 July 2023

The food was horrible. The waitress could not distinguish a sirloin from a tender loin. I even Got charged for the extra tenderloin. He refused to believe it was not a tenderloin, even though it had the size of a sirloin (which is physcially impossible...if you know what a tender loin actually is). We also Got shrimps that was over cooked. The waitress did not Care. Horrible service as Well. Most expensive and the worst food in ponta delgada.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

We have so few 1 avaliations that we remember you, and you really don't know what it is a filetmignon. Many thanks

Reviewed 11 June 2023

Great food and great space. 100% recomend. Good sauce for the fish fillet. Blood sausage with pinnaple very tasty!

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado

Reviewed 14 May 2023

He spent two weeks in Portugal. This is the best meal we have had octopus Seabass.scabbard share these meals each meal is enough for two at least!!! absolutely perfect 10.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado

Reviewed 29 April 2023 via mobile

We had a nice dinner here. My husband had a fish special and I had pasta and shrimp. We also had calamari and a salad with fresh cheese. Service was good. It is a large restaurant but make a reservation as it was crowded even...on a Monday night with what seemed like lots of local families.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado

Reviewed 20 April 2023 via mobile

Excellent food and service! We didn’t have reservations but got seated right away. Most tables were filled. We had trouble finding the restaurant because the Trip Advisor link is to an old address. Use Google Maps for the actual location which is across the street...from the Octant Hotel. I had tuna coated with almonds served on mashed potatoes. The presentation was beautiful and the use of spices was perfect. Very tasty. It was a meal I’ll remember. My wife had “Azores fish”. It was very good as well. Service was outstanding. The price was very reasonable. I highly recommend this restaurant.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado

Reviewed 29 March 2023

Perfect online reservation, warm welcome, nice environment, fish of the day fresh and tasty, fish bowl a very positive experience, not cheap, however fair prices

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado

Reviewed 6 November 2022

The is a gem of a restaurant. We ate here twice when staying in Ponta Delgada. The food is exceptional and our waiter William was a treasure. He had great suggestions and was personable and attentive. Our dining experiences could not have better. From the...reception to the wine through the salads the mains and the desserts it was WOW.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023
Google Translation

Muito obrigado

Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

By chance we came across this restaurant in Ponta Delgada. We were lucky to be able to make a reservation for 2 people for the same evening. As an appetizer, I took the lapas (limpets) with garlic butter and lemon. They were not the best...lapas I had already eaten during my stay on the island of sao miguel. They probably came out of the freezer. As a main course, I took the octopus. This dish was tasty but for me it could have been slightly better seasoned. Tip: order bread with this dish. The service was rather pushy and the dishes came very fast after each other. This makes it less attractive for a nice dinner.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
João João Chaves, Proprietário at Restaurant Sao Pedro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2023

Many thanks, we will do better next time.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Octant Hotels Ponta Delgada
1,382 reviews
.28 miles away
The Lince Azores Great Hotel
922 reviews
.36 miles away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
1,104 reviews
.48 miles away
Grand Hotel Acores Atlantico
361 reviews
.52 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Michel Restaurant
798 reviews
.33 miles away
Restaurante Gastronomo
2,280 reviews
.08 miles away
Casa Do Bife O Galego
1,106 reviews
.39 miles away
A TERRA
282 reviews
.29 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Plantacao de Ananas dos Acores
342 reviews
.54 miles away
Quinta do Agricultor
59 reviews
.51 miles away
Igreja de Sao Pedro
87 reviews
.57 miles away
Mercado da Graca
213 reviews
.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
José B
27 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Jeffrey P |
Estao abertos no dia de natal
0
Votes
epaula
29 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from RestSP | Property representative |
its better because we are allways full. Best Regards
0
Votes
Google Translation
Rose F
16 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from RestSP | Property representative |
Yes we have.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RESTAURANT SAO PEDRO, Ponta Delgada - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Restaurant Sao Pedro

Restaurant Sao Pedro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4