We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mefisto

Volden 28, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
+45 86 13 18 13
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (191)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good38%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (15 reviews)
“lobster” (22 reviews)
“bread” (13 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, Seafood, European, Danish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Volden 28, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The brunch is served in the middle of the table and counts a variety of little servings. Very nice. If weather allows book a table in the yard.

Thank Traveller_365247
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Stayed just around the corner for a weekend visit, accommodated us at very short notice. Good food, friendly service, thank you for a pleasant meal

1  Thank R C
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Roy C Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit at Mefisto. I am glad to hear we were able to accomodate you even at short notice. We hope to welcome you again another time.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Had the mefisto brunch which was very good.. service ok but not great, the waiter got a little annoyed because we wanted to sit outside... but she improved... the garden is small and very quaint...More

Thank Johnny H
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Johnny H I am happy to hear you enjoyed our brunch-lunch which is very popular. As you may know it can be a puzzle to make a table seating plan and I am sure that our waiter wasn't annoyed but more focused on making...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went for dinner alone and ordered a lobster risotto which was good but I think could be improved with a higher flavour variety. The waiters were super nice and professional.More

Thank Marina S
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Marina Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about your visit and lobster risotto in particular. We take all constructive critisism and feedback very serious and I have already informed the kitchen about your recommendation. The risotto is part of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoying a delicious seafood meal on a little cobblestoned street in the heart of Aarhus? It doesn’t really get better than this! Wonderful staff, friendly service, great food and specialty beer made this evening a true highlight of our roadtrip in Denmark.

Thank kicsiplussz
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi kicsiplussz Doesn't sound bad with a roadtrip to Denmark:-) We appreciate you stopping by Mefisto and leaving us a kind review about your experience afterwards. We are indeed very fortunate to be located in this beautiful area in Aarhus.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a quite business dinner. The seafood was great - we had the set menu which was also reasonably priced. Only funny thing was that we knew the cheeses serve red better than the waitress - but no complaints as she let us switch the...More

Thank afbcph
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear afbcph I am happy to hear you had a lovely dinner with us and enjoyed our four course set menu which we change according to season(approxiametly every six weeks). Our cheeses are fairly recognizable ones from either France or Denmark and of corurse we...More

Reviewed 4 June 2018

The beef tenderloin was excellent. The staff were friendly and the setting in the Latin Quarter is interesting. In short, we give it high marks.

Thank Chuck V
Lars K, Ejer at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Chuck V Thank you so much for the great feedback from your visit - we do hope to welcome you another time.

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

This is a good kitchen, but this is also what I expected in this price area! The employee are very service oriented... They way they serve and arranged the course is inspiring.. A physical smaller menu card, will help! It's bigger than the table 😉...More

Thank ConnaisseurBram
Lars K, Owner at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi ConnaisseurBram We appreciate the feed back and couldn't help smiling about the menu card comment:-).. It is true - they are quite big but better too big than to small in my opinion. I do hope our big menus doesn't scare you from coming...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

It is still a nice and fine restaurant, however the food were not as great as before. Lack of variety, not fresh nor steamy warm food. Maybe the day was a bad day... but it is a pretty expensive restaurant with fine dishes, we expect...More

1  Thank kisn2017
Reviewed 14 February 2018

We went there for a quick lunch. Service in top. Prices on a decent level and quality of the food (seafood) is excellent. The restaurant is cozy and located in the old part of århus. We would choose this place again next time in Århus...More

Thank Thomas M
Lars K, Ejer at Mefisto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Thomas M Thank you for the precise description of what we do at Mefisto - we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 hotels in Aarhus
Hotel Royal
324 reviews
.09 miles away
AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel
139 reviews
.12 miles away
Cabinn Hotel Aarhus
506 reviews
.19 miles away
Villa Provence
515 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant Gastrome
137 reviews
.06 miles away
Slap Af
300 reviews
.04 miles away
L'estragon
129 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ost for Paradis
128 reviews
.10 miles away
Moesgard Forrest
60 reviews
.09 miles away
Store Torv
7 reviews
.10 miles away
Christian Lemmerz' skulptur "Adam Kadman"
7 reviews
.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
22 June 2017|
Answer
Response from DoncasterTony | Reviewed this property |
You will love the place
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$64
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Volden 28, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
  • Location: Europe  >  Denmark  >  Jutland  >  East Jutland  >  Aarhus
  • Phone Number: +45 86 13 18 13
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant Mefisto is an everyday restaurant located in the heart of the charming Latin Quarter in Aarhus. With emphasis on fish and seafood in a classical and modern combination Mefisto offers a wide selection of food ranging from brunch to a four course seasonal menu - all at affordable prices. The fact that fish and seafood is of special importance at this establishment is furthermore supported by the 2016 win of "Best fish and seafood restaurant in Denmark" as well as the fish cookbook written by the charismatic owner Lars Kyllesbech. The restaurant is casually decorated and the atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious. During the summer months the restaurant opens its courtyard which adds another dimension to this beloved place. Whether you are looking for a professional environment to host a business lunch or a romantic setting for a dinner, Mefisto welcomes you with warm, personal and friendly service every day of the week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing