We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hofnin

Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 511 2300
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (82 reviews)
“lamb” (78 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Friendly great at the door. Taken up to our table overlooking the harbour and out to sea. The waiter was very attentive. Also the chef came out to explain some of the dishes we required information on. The food was very delightful and filling. Would...More

Thank vmaxdunk
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We were walking by and saw a couple eating a large pile of muscles in the window. We immediately walked around the corner and asked for a table. Even thought they just closed for lunch they let us eat and we were very fortunate. The...More

Thank ScrumpDad
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great seafood salad and sweet potato soup. We were treated nice and got our food almost right away. Highly recomended if you want tasty seafood.

Thank Pål Asle P
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This restaurant did not disappoint. We came with a group of friends and were quickly served by a friendly staff. The lobster soup was magnificent.

Thank Defling
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Booked a window seat upstairs which we were given for my husbands birthday - very full but everyone disappeared by 9.30pm - small portions - but food was good. Very expensive. Beautiful view of harbour and it was still light at 11.30pm when we left.

Thank Julielamming59
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had creamy (but light) lobster soup with a large piece of lobster. Bread and extra soup were offered.

Thank ELLlady
Management response:Responded 5 days ago

Thank you for posting the review, we are happy to learn you liked the soup. We hope you had a nice stay in Iceland. The Höfnin Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a very enjoyable fishball meal here. Good service, lovely spot along the harbour and a glass of wine (reduced as happy hour). I found it very reasonable and so glad I went.

Thank London0709
Management response:Responded 5 days ago

We are happy you chose our restaurant and that you liked both the fishballs and the service. Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. We hope you had a nice time in Iceland and welcome back. The Höfnin Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is cozy, ambient and stylish with very kind stuff. But the food that was served was a piece of paradise. We had four different fish dishes and each one was a masterpiece of the cook. I think we will not miss an opportunity...More

Thank Jana D
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Great to hear you liked our restaurant and the food. Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. We hope you had a nice time in Iceland and welcome back. The Höfnin Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

I truly surprising experience . From the reindeer appetizer to the lamb dinner and the phenomenal desert this was truly a culinary delight. The staff were more than helpful at every turn . My wife and I split our main course as we are want...More

Thank jsetcher
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Super ! We are happy that you liked the food and our staff. We like to accommodate our guests with their special wishes. Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciated. Hope your stay in Iceland was a nice one and welcome back. The...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We decided spontaneously to have lunch at Hofnin while exploring Reykjavik's harbor. The weather was quite good. We had sunshine and about 12 degrees. So we could take our seats outside. All of us decided to take the special lunch offer with the soup as...More

Thank Sebastian F
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review, it's much appreciated. We are happy to learn you had a good time, and yes, it's a bonus to be able to dine outside every now and then. We hope you had a nice stay in Iceland and welcome back....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Forrettabarinn
744 reviews
.09 miles away
Fiskfelagid Fish Company
1,566 reviews
.15 miles away
Kopar
1,077 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Iceland Travel Assistance
242 reviews
.13 miles away
Volcano House
1,369 reviews
.06 miles away
Reykjavik City Library
97 reviews
.12 miles away
Kogga - Ceramic Studio - Gallery
10 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
rusAKAzaza
How late is the restaurant open on Friday night?
8 June 2017|
Answer
Response from swigle | Reviewed this property |
The website states closing time is 10pm.
1
Vote
Holualoa
Where do we park the car?
31 May 2017|
Answer
Response from swigle | Reviewed this property |
There are some car parks in the city centre but it's much easier to walk. The city centre is small and a short walk from the majority of hotels in Reykjavik.
0
Votes
greypair
We are visiting Iceland as part of a group of 40 and have a prebooked meal at your restaurant on 19th January. Unfortunately I don't eat fish, will there be any fish free options on our menu?
7 January 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Logi B | Property representative |
Hi There will be a fish free option for you when you arrive at the restaurant. have a grade trip and welcome to Höfnin. Kind regards Logi Brynjarsson Chef
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Capital Region  >  Reykjavik
  • Phone Number: +354 511 2300
  • E-mail
Description
Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing