We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Potetkjelleren Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$2 - US$87
CUISINES
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
Special Diets
Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
50
16
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
50
16
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews avocado ice cream mushroom risotto potatoes baked alaska course tasting menu filet fine dining great food great service special meal last night visited this restaurant fish market cellar deer chef dish celler
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2019

We visited this restaurant on our second night in Bergen. It's located just along from the historic old harbour front and a few meters from McDonalds! The restaurant is in a celler and is typical of the area. It is very popular so book early...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Geoffrey L
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

We had Christmas dinner with 17 people. Instead of separate room (that we reserved) we ended up in the cellar split over two tables. They forgot one person to serve. Food came without cutlery in one course and ribs were served on a small plate...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 161rond
Potetkjelleren, Servitør at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2018

Hi 161rond! I'm very sorry that your visit in our restaurant was disappoining. We are always trying our best but it looks like we didn't manage to do it this time. The feedback you gave us will help us improve. We hope you give us...More

Reviewed 6 November 2018

We were three people for dinner. Two of us are vegan. We were told they could do vegan dishes. The vegan dishes were just the regular dishes minus the meat and fish. No protein. The pea soup was bland. The main was nice potatoes were...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank henothere
Potetkjelleren, Servitør at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Hi henothere! Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. I'm sorry that our vegan menu did not meet your expectations. Your opinion means a lot to us and will take your words under consideration. We hope you will give us another...More

Reviewed 12 October 2018

Arrived for dinner pre booked , being in group not comfortable seating, hardly able to move. Food was average , service , I would say bit better than averageMore

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Ghanshyam1949
Potetkjelleren, Servitør at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Hi Ghanshyam1949! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm sorry for what you have experienced in our restaurant. We hope you can give us another chance next time you visit Bergen and we will show you that we can do...More

Reviewed 9 October 2018

Went to the restaurant by recommendation, but I was disappointed..... Apparently the restaurant is famous for their potatoes, but they were only decent. I can claim that I make the same ones at home. I was not pleased by the price and the food did...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank carlos R
Potetkjelleren, Kelner at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hello Carlos Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry you did not like our potatoes or our athmosphere. Your oppinion means a lot to us and will take your words under considiration Again sorry we did...More

Reviewed 8 October 2018

Went to that restaurant by recommendation. Not hard to find. Really nice staff, at the beginning. Had a pea soup with pieces of fish. Enjoyed it, but for my taste soup was not hot enough. It could do with some pepper , which was not...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mgospodarek
Potetkjelleren, Servitør at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Hello Mgospodarek! Thank you so much for taking your time to write us a review. We always appreciate feedback because it helps us to see our misteakes and work with them. Hope to see you once again to show you that we can do better....More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Spent our 1 year wedding anniversery here. I had the 4-course meal and my husband went for the 6-course meal. The waitress was very professional and explained each dish and wine in a good and tempting way. We had the winepackage with it, which heighetened...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank VimsenMS
Potetkjelleren, Servitør at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hello! Thank you very much for your kind review. We, as a team, really appreciate that you spent your evening with us. Welcome back at any time! Best regards, Team Potetkjelleren

Reviewed 23 September 2018

Potato menu did not seem exciting but it was creative, tasty and imaginative. The cod loin on roasted veg was perfectly cooked and the flavours worked together. Staff were friendly and understood the menu. Norway is expensive for UK visitors but this was worth the...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank hannah l
Potetkjelleren, Servitør at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2018

Hi Hannah, Thank you so much for your review! :) We are so happy you enjoyed your evenings with us! You made our sunday :D Hope to see you again Best regards, Team Potetkjelleren

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Fillet of veal served with cabbage, pickled sweet potato, tomato jelly and broth was absolutely delicious. All went really well together and the pickled sweet potato was sublime. All cooked to perfection. I really loved this dish. My friend had the chicken filled with prunes,...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cal26_11
Potetkjelleren, Manager at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Hello Thank you so much for giving us a review Its a real pleasure to read that you had a great time at our restaurant. We hope to see you again Best regards Team Potetkjelleren

Reviewed 24 August 2018

We went with a group (50) in a separate room which was already for us. Food presented was excellent, with options for those with allergies or preferences. They managed to serve us all together with each of three courses, with food arriving fresh and hot....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Tim H
Potetkjelleren, Manager at Potetkjelleren Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hello Tim Thank you very much for your kind review. We really enjoy hosting your group. You are welcome back at any time Best regards Team Potetkjelleren

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 52 nearby hotels
The Hanseatic Hotel
696 reviews
.05 miles away
Bergen Harbour Hotel
87 reviews
.06 miles away
Magic Hotel Korskirken
138 reviews
.07 miles away
First Hotel Marin
1,470 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 440 nearby restaurants
1877
974 reviews
.05 miles away
Trekroneren
305 reviews
.01 miles away
Ruccola Cafe & Restaurant
705 reviews
.04 miles away
Anne Madam
651 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 255 nearby attractions
Mount Floyen and the Funicular (Floibanen)
10,389 reviews
.09 miles away
Det Hanseatiske Museum og Schoetstuene
998 reviews
.06 miles away
Bergen Tourist Information
1,820 reviews
.12 miles away
Sailor's Monument
143 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
_a861410
13 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from desimoneruby1 | Reviewed this property |
Don't know.
0
Votes
peter h
14 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Bjarte | Property representative |
Hello Peter, I am pleased to hear good things about us. We are open for business on December 28th. Please contact us if you would like to book a table. If you should happen to be in Bergen on the 31st of December, we have a... More
0
Votes
CherrieC106
20 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Bjarte | Property representative |
Hi Cherrie C. I am sorry, but we are closed on Dec 26...
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing