We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mermaid

Yarmouth Road, Ipswich IP1 2EN, England
+44 1473 230278
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (54 reviews)
“stuffing” (24 reviews)
“roast dinner” (20 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Yarmouth Road, Ipswich IP1 2EN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on Saturday at around 4pm with family, first thing we noticed was that there was not many staff on show, we found a table ourselves, then ordered our meals which were fine, we finished eating and as usual waited for the empty plates to...More

1  Thank 710gerrym
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your review, on this occasion I am sorry that the customer service was not up to a high standard as we were busy. I have personally spoken to the members of staff and encouraged the importance of this. We hope you will...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband & I visitt The Mermaid frequently & always enjoy the carvery ( as my previous reviews say).We visited earlier this week & again enjoyed our carvery very much. The reason I feel I need to write this review is, on this occasion, we...More

1  Thank DCT557
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, I am glad you brought this feedback to a managers discretion. I have personally spoken to the members of staff that were on shift at this time and this will not happen again. The members of staff at this time...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have young children so thought for a change we would try a more family friendly venue. I would never normally have thought about going but but the breakfast was excellent, the food was fresh and well laid out. The service was exactly as one...More

1  Thank Sherpa22072756897
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are very proud to serve our delicious, hearty breakfasts. Hopefully you will join us again another time for breakfast.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been here a few times, it's pretty standard pub style grub which isn't a bad thing - prices seem inline with others of this type. Hard to tell some of them apart!

2  Thank GusBan
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, myself and the team are happy you enjoyed your experience dining with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hungry tired and looking for quick bite to eat. We go to the mermaid when we have been out and about,for the price it is great value,staff always pleasant and it's is a quick lunch. My only little complaint is always the sauces and gravy...More

1  Thank ipswic
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad you received wonderful service and I do apologise about the carvery deck but we try to clean and top up sauces regularly and on this occasion I'm sorry that this wasn't the case.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Expensive drinks however that's normal nowadays but 6 people at the bar at 5pm on a Saturday and 1 person serving who took no notice of who was next is not acceptable ... 3 of eating... I stated and then reconfirmed that I was allergic...More

1  Thank Sightseer672433
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review, I am saddened to hear that you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us at the Mermaid, there should of been more people serving on the bar and I will enquire about this, I apologise about the tomatoes being on...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A change of management has much improved the dining experience in this restaurant/ pub. Carvery was fresh with a good selection of well cooked vegetables. Choice of plate sizes was a nice touch if you were eating on a budget and children eat for a...More

1  Thank Tony B
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review, the management hasn't changed for 6 years. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called here to give it a try. Quite a good selection of vegetables and plenty of meat, only one complaint it was all luke-warm.

1  Thank mags569
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we do always replenish the carvery to make sure it is piping hot, we are glad you enjoyed your experience overall.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited several times and each time it has been excellent. One of the best carveries around.

1  Thank Rambo51
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review, we hope to see you again very soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After having been to the cinema with my mother , we popped in for a quick lunch before I started work. It was packed inside, I had my doubts about if I would have lunch in time as it was so busy. However got our...More

1  Thank Jason B
julie m, Manager at Mermaid, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review of The Mermaid, we're glad you enjoyed your visit with us

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
638 reviews
.47 miles away
The Carlton Hotel
124 reviews
.60 miles away
Highview House Hotel
1 review
.81 miles away
Novotel Ipswich
982 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Maharani
719 reviews
.43 miles away
Ararat Restaurant
168 reviews
.46 miles away
Miller's Fish & Chips
117 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
New Wolsey Theatre
743 reviews
.53 miles away
Red Rose Chain Theatre
60 reviews
.57 miles away
Portman Road Stadium
110 reviews
.48 miles away
Sir John Mills Theatre
29 reviews
.31 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kmcobb12345
26 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from julie m | Property representative |
unfortunately not, we only have freeview channels
1
Vote
johnell4
12 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from julie m | Property representative |
hi there, we don't take bookings, just turn up and we'll allocate a table on arrival kind regards Mermaid Team
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$19
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Yarmouth Road, Ipswich IP1 2EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 230278
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing