We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie - CLOSED

7 Middle Row, Stevenage SG1 3AN, England
+44 1438 489388
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good23%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (24 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (9 reviews)
“panini” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Cafe
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Middle Row, Stevenage SG1 3AN, England
All Details
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Just went for pot of tea for two. Waited five minutes while three staff had a natter. On asking for bill. "What did you have". "Two teas" I replied. "Is that all" the manager shouted back. "Can I have a receipt please" I begged. "...More

5  Thank Terry G
John K, Manager at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

From your artistic writing I take you are fond of constructing a picture in the mind of your readers... even if it is at the cost of telling the truth!! you funny little man..

Reviewed 16 September 2017

A large group of us went there for a special occasion. First of all, we were accused of being 30 minutes early for the booking (we weren't). We were instructed to sit at three separate tables and drink orders were taken. On the tables were...More

4  Thank BumpkinsLondon
John K, Manager at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Are you sure you visited Gladleys?? only it sounds like you went to a completely different place in that we've never had long life or frozen anything in the building and in regards to the amount of food included I can honestly say we've never...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Been here 4 times now as it's near the office - latest time is the last I'm afraid - the miserable unpleasant unwelcoming attitude of one staff member (same one on each and every occasion), coupled with high price and mediocre food and inordinately long...More

3  Thank Mr-Winkeyhead
John K, Manager at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Mmmm I wonder how long you would last in hospitality? before you would eventually find out about the 80-20 rule i.e. 80% of people are genuinely lovely and for whom you will happily go above and beyond the call of duty. On the other hand...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Been hear a couple of times now. Disappointed. Scone boiling hot and rock hard, did ask nicely to change it, so I waited and waited, said to waitress again, she said she would let them know. No exchange done. On the plus side fabulous latte,...More

Thank glasgowgirl72
John K, Manager at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Pleased you enjoyed the coffee and genuinely sorry to hear that your Scone was too hot, we certainly will take on board your comments, thank you

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Had my bridal shower here for 25 of us they the staff couldn't do enough for us. Great value for amazing home made cakes and sandwiches. Definitely be going back soon :)

1  Thank Lucy K
John K, Manager at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

We loved seeing you enjoy your day with us Lucy, you were a delight to serve and see you and your friends enjoy your day out ..:)

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Big group of us booked afternoon tea. As some people were held up 10minutes staff said your food is ready and waiting it's going stale. Everyone arrived and waited over 10mins for the food that was apparently going stale. Tea and coffee orders a total...More

Thank KGB15
John K, Owner at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

I genuinely do not believe you visited our restaurant as we are fastidiously clean with our linen and we always put a huge amount of effort into serving our lovely ladies when they come to for an afternoon outing, though it has been know that...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Had breakfast here on Sunday, just at opening time. Staff were friendly and pleasant. I had probably the best Eggs Benedict I've ever had - presented beautifully and tasting as good as they looked. My husband was equally pleased with his full English and generous...More

1  Thank SEOReading
John K, Manager at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your wonderful feed back it really does make our day when someone kindly goes to the trouble of taking time out to give such a wonderful compliment :)

Reviewed 24 July 2017

Always come here for breakfast, probably the best breakfast in the Old Town! Good service and friendly staff, wouldn't go anywhere else for breakfast

Thank Megan2521
John K, Manager at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for so kindly taking the time out to write such a positive review it really does make us smile knowing that what we do is appreciated. We wish you a wonderful day :)

Reviewed 8 July 2017

Good value, great staff. Super friendly. Charming ambiance. Visited here lots of times actually. Definitely one of my favourite places in the old town.

1  Thank andiesimiou
John K, Owner at Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for so kindly taking the time out to give a lovely review, we sincerely appreciate you :)

Reviewed 3 July 2017

Just gave this place one more chance to delight after several disappointing visits, and, sorry to say they were sadly lacking in service, and efficiency. Come on Gladleys! how hard is it to produce a pot of tea and a toasted sandwich for two people?...More

2  Thank SweeneyTodd1966
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Stevenage
Hotel Cromwell
112 reviews
.09 miles away
Archways Lodge Hotel
225 reviews
.34 miles away
Gate
78 reviews
.34 miles away
The Abbington
90 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
El bar de tapas
382 reviews
.01 miles away
Mack's Pie & Mash
164 reviews
.08 miles away
Cinnabar
318 reviews
.07 miles away
Rump and Wade
195 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Gordon Craig Theatre
205 reviews
.66 miles away
Stevenage Museum
63 reviews
.78 miles away
Bike Stop
177 reviews
.08 miles away
Cineworld
194 reviews
.77 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Middle Row, Stevenage SG1 3AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Stevenage
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 489388
  • E-mail
Description
Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie opened its doors for the first time in February 2014. A small family owned business with a passion for locally sourced freshly made food of the highest standard served by people with a real passion for creating an outstanding service... While most of the local eateries are restaurant chains that serve fast food, at Gladleys our aim is always to serve freshly made tasty food in the time it takes to make it properly. Whether you're looking for a great English breakfast to set you up for the day, a lunch to savour or an afternoon high-tea Gladleys Courtyard Brasserie aim to make you feel welcome and leave with a smile...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing