We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Yachtsman

££ - £££, British,
Lake Road | Hamworthy, Poole BH15 4LW, England
+44 1202 674568
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“steak pie” (8 reviews)
“peas” (6 reviews)
“pies” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lake Road | Hamworthy, Poole BH15 4LW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We went here to meet up with family who were down for the weekend at our suggestion! No communication between the staff, poor service, no one at the bar most of the time. We had a small dog and were told we could sit in...More

Thank Denise V
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We ordered a small Steak and Ale Pie £8.25 and a Shepherds Pie £11.95 ,it arrived in record time .The Shepherds pie was ok nothing special but the steak pie was minute and the pastry rock hard , I was expecting a homemade pie in...More

Thank Rover201457
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed 12 September 2018

Came here at the weekend with the wife and kids along with some friends and their kids. Nice big garden with play area that kept the kids entertained. Great kids menu and their meals with free icecream, which helped keep them happy and the cost...More

Thank pl014615
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 11 September 2018

I live in Poole and haven't been to The Yactsman in years, but a few weeks back we decided to pop in for lunch. We were not disappointed with out visit. The staff were friendly and were happy to help seat us in a quieter...More

Thank Jane W
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Ordered a couple of sharing platters and a bottle of wine - food was awful! Tiny portions, poorly cooked and overpriced. I’d have preferred a trip to McDonald’s.More

Thank Sophie N
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and...More

Reviewed 5 September 2018

As a group we had pre-booked our lunch time orders. About 1pm we returned after a good walk to find our tables had been laid out and reserved for us. We ordered our drinks at the bar and when we were ready the meals arrived....More

Thank Paul H
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 2 September 2018

Very under staffed. Food not a great quality, salmon very dry and over cooked, Sunday roast beef rubbery, chicken portion very small, only 3 over cooked roasters each, veg just edible. Very long wait and the restaurant was half empty. Did put in a complaint...More

Thank Mike J
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and...More

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Used to love this place. Visited last week and whilst most of the staff were lovely, the manager, I found this out later that that's what he is, was an arrogant, non engaging and intimidating individual. He took our order without any conversation and used...More

Thank Candy M
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and...More

Reviewed 18 August 2018

We were a party of 9 and had pre-booked a table for lunch, the restaurant was empty on arrival. Our mains were served within a reasonable time, and we all ordered desserts. We waited 45 minutes and still no desserts, we asked twice where they...More

Thank Worldtravellerz2013
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We have acknowledged this and are dealing with it.

Reviewed 16 August 2018

The restuarant was empty on arrival, our lunch booking was for 12:00 we were served the main course in a reasonable time, but dessert order had still not been served 30 minutes after ordering. On enquiring why it had still not been served, the waiting...More

Thank HertfordshireCarol
Hall W, Manager at The Yachtsman, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
1,414 reviews
1.13 miles away
RNLI College
983 reviews
1.17 miles away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1,831 reviews
1.31 miles away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
708 reviews
1.32 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lake Yard
194 reviews
.15 miles away
Red Lion
309 reviews
.50 miles away
The Park Cafe
22 reviews
.51 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Durdle Door & White Nothe Circular Walk
347 reviews
.16 miles away
Hamworthy Park
169 reviews
.41 miles away
Marine Education RYA Training Centre
6 reviews
.22 miles away
Harbour Challenge Outdoor Activity Centre
50 reviews
.46 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Yachtsman staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lake Road | Hamworthy, Poole BH15 4LW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Poole
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 674568
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing