We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hatch Luncheonette

32 Blackwellgate, Darlington DL1 5HG, England
+44 1325 380720
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good14%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (3 reviews)
“hash” (2 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 18:00 Hours
CUISINES
Cafe
PRICE
££ - £££
LOCATION
32 Blackwellgate, Darlington DL1 5HG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love Hatch and admit to visiting far more often than we should when we only live down the street. The Flat white is perfect and when we have eaten we have never been disappointed with the food. It is always fresh and the offer...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Paula O
JasminR559, Owner at Hatch Luncheonette, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, it's great to hear that people are enjoying Hatch Luncheonette and come as often as you like!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok decided to support a local Independant cafe so thought we would give Hatch a go. This review more for owner than customers Cafe felt cold and lacked that cozy feel. Lighting could do with being warmer. Coffee nice and carrot cake lovely. Wife had...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank sailsale
JasminR559, Owner at Hatch Luncheonette, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, I'm glad you enjoyed the coffee, cake and croissant. I'm sorry you were disappointed with our decor, the tiles are distressed and made to look old so I'm not sure if that is what you are referring to. I can assure you that the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here for the first time with my daughter as she likes small and quirky places to eat.. she’s not a fan of overcrowding big restaurants and this place was perfect for her.. food was amazing. This will be mine and her new little...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Shellybee1411
Reviewed 1 December 2018 via mobile

Really good food and drink from very fresh and good quality ingredients, skilfully put together. The plates are beautifully presented and inexpensive for the quality. The decor is rustic but classy and the place just feels individual and a bit special. This is our third...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Scubasailor
JasminR559, Owner at Hatch Luncheonette, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2018

Thanks for your review, we appreciate it and glad that you enjoyed your visits.

Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

Amazing! I would recommend anyone visiting and having the eggs Benedict and Orangina🙂 Honestly the Eggs benedict with Parm is the best lunch meal you can get👍 Try it! You will love it

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank StevoHeatley1971
JasminR559, Owner at Hatch Luncheonette, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2018

Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

We visited for lunch having seen the Lamb burger advertised on Facebook. Why haven’t I been in here, great location and friendly staff. We had the lamb burgers and they were delicious, 2 burger patties on a lovely toasted brioche bun, lovely side salad and...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Magpie1564
JasminR559, Owner at Hatch Luncheonette, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2018

Thanks so much for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed what Hatch Luncheonette has to offer.

Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

The food is pretty good; limited menu but it’s a small place and they do well with it. Although they really need to advertise the top floor; anyone looking in and seeing a busy ground floor would just walk past as there is no mention...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Connoisseur226
JasminR559, Owner at Hatch Luncheonette, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2018

Thanks for your review, I'm glad you liked Hatch and I'm sorry you'd felt forgotten about, I've relayed this to the staff and we'll aim to do better in future.

Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Wow this was exactly what I needed! A simple menu on which everything sounds amazing.... I went for the buttermilk chicken in a Bowl and I only wish you could smell and taste how gorgeous it was! £8 for the meal ( which will keep...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lucky White H
JasminR559, Owner at Hatch Luncheonette, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thanks so much, lovely to hear you enjoyed it 😊

Reviewed 10 August 2018

Been here twice now. Hash is my favourite bar in Darlo and this is a lovely little addition. Smaller menu but the same service and excellent quality food. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank SansAlcohol
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Third visit to Hatch - working through the menu. There’s someone who knows exactly what they are doing in this kitchen. Interesting ingredients, interesting combinations. Bowls, sandwiches ( far from ordinary), brunch. Great drink selection. Fresh orange and grapefruit juice - so clean & zingy....More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Navigator01
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 hotels in Darlington
Houndgate Townhouse
191 reviews
.09 miles away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
439 reviews
.12 miles away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
848 reviews
.19 miles away
Bannatyne Hotel
1,102 reviews
.20 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Red Hot Indian Bar & Grill
330 reviews
.05 miles away
Voodoo Cafe
320 reviews
.03 miles away
Al Forno
1,046 reviews
.05 miles away
Uno Momento
1,055 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Darlington Hippodrome
301 reviews
.46 miles away
Darlington Train Station
136 reviews
.46 miles away
Market Hall and Clock Tower
57 reviews
.11 miles away
The Keys Nightclub
13 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hatch Luncheonette staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$8 - US$13
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 18:00
Thursday
08:00 - 18:00
Friday
08:00 - 18:00
Saturday
09:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Blackwellgate, Darlington DL1 5HG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Darlington
  • Phone Number: +44 1325 380720
  • E-mail
Description
Licensed coffee house serving ethically sourced, locally roasted Rountons coffee from a San Remo Cafe Racer coffee machine. Breakfast served from 8am until 11am and lunch from 12 til 3pm. Light delicate bites with the freshest ingredients.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing