We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mill

) #291 of 343 Restaurants in Wakefield ££ - £££ , British,
Wakefield Road | Horbury, Wakefield WF4 5HJ, England
+44 1924 380088
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good16%
  • Average14%
  • Poor20%
  • Terrible30%
Travellers talk about
“gammon steak” (2 reviews)
“sandwiches” (3 reviews)
“tasty lunch” (2 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wakefield Road | Horbury, Wakefield WF4 5HJ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my fourth visit over the last 6 months and every time I have had good food and great service. The food is great value being 2 for the price of 1 and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. Will be going...More

Thank Kelsey N
Justanothergirl88, Manager at Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kelsey, thank you for your review. The team are thrilled you enjoy your time with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Do not go there for food as the service is terrible and the wait was ridiculous. My drink tasted off so I asked for a replacement which after 10mins I had to ask the staff again where my replacement drink was which she informed me...More

Thank Jessi P
Justanothergirl88, Manager at Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi jessi, thanks for your review. It was myself that spoke with you at the end, and I once again offer my sincerest apologies. We were incredibly busy and overwhelmed on Saturday night and I am sorry that that impacted on your experience. We did...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have not been to the old mill for 9 years since we ordered home made steak pie but were offered a Frey bentos pie in a tin! Today we popped in with the children and dog for a drink and ordered cheesy nachos with...More

Thank DarrenFleming68
Justanothergirl88, Manager at Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Darren, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed with your food and hope you brought this to someone's attention on the day to rectify. I can confirm that the chipotle chicken isn't...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

This place was a real disappointment. We came because it has a small adventurer area for the kids which was OK but the rest was poor. First thing to hit me was how dirty all the seats were. I almost didn't want to sit on...More

Thank Chris B
Justanothergirl88, Manager at Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Hi Chris, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent visit to us. The reason we stopped stocking the children's pizza is because they were of poor quality and were causing complaints every time they were ordered. This...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

The first time we visited the food was pretty good. The second time we visited it was dreadful so not likely to go back again. Must be dependent on which chef is on because the waiting staff did their bestMore

Thank GrannyWard
WelshMariner, Manager at Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi, I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your food on your last visit. I can assure you this is not our usual standard as you have previously seen. Please could you email some more details as to the food you had and...More

Reviewed 28 April 2017

Called at lunchtime on way back from Manchester, service was excellent, food of poor quality, it would be better to charge more and serve better quality food.

Thank David S
WelshMariner, Manager at Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi, I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your food on your last visit. I can assure you this is not our usual standard, please could you email some more details as to the meals to oldmill.wakefield@marstons.co.uk Hope to see you again

Reviewed 4 April 2017

Visited here on Mothers Day, not a good idea! We pre booked the table mainly because we thought it would be busy and did not want my mum stood waiting around as she had not long since had an op. When we arrived we were...More

Thank diddlydaly
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Decided to go for a Sunday dinner with my boyfriend which was not the greatest of decisions! The Sunday dinner was brought to us and it was on the tip of my tongue to say "where is the rest" the presentation was terrible! The beef...More

Thank z0el0uise12
Justanothergirl88, Manager at Old Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Hi Zoe, many thanks for your review. We are very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy it as our Sunday dinners are usually enjoyed by repeat customers week in week out and are sorry you did not enjoy yours. We would love to...More

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Came here for a meal on the way into Wakefield. Ordered the the gluten free nachos which didn't come with guacamole or salsa but it stated so on the menu. My girlfriend ordered the gammon, which was really tough and fatty. I ordered a burger,...More

1  Thank declando1
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Called at the old mill for tea on a very quiet Wednesday , I had the salmon which was lovely and my daughter had beef in pit bean which were both on the specials at £13 each at 2 for 1 worked out at very...More

1  Thank Katherine S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bistro 42 Horbury
182 reviews
.74 miles away
Rich and Fancy
32 reviews
.71 miles away
The Prosecco Bar
26 reviews
.82 miles away
Aroma Cafe Bar
8 reviews
.72 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dinosaur Discovery
100 reviews
1.56 miles away
Ossett Town Hall
6 reviews
1.87 miles away
The George Ossett
6 reviews
1.90 miles away
Pugneys Country Park
466 reviews
1.36 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Shazrobbo1970
3 of us visiting tommorrow. As its two for one, can we take extra meal home in takeaway bag?
18 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Justanothergirl88 | Property representative |
Hello, unfortunately we don't do take away food, however, you're more than welcome to order the meal to eat in, or some groups order a sandwich or starter/snacks for the 'odd' number.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wakefield Road | Horbury, Wakefield WF4 5HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wakefield
  • Phone Number: +44 1924 380088
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing