We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Monkton Inn

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Blundells Lane | West Monkton, Taunton, England
+44 1823 412414
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 583: English reviews
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A nice location down a country lane, plenty of parking available once you realise there is second car park area that isn't too obvious to a first time visitor. An extensive menu including an interesting selection of burgers including ostrich and crocodile, in addition the usual pub classics that based on their descriptions sound lovely. The reality is a little... More 

Thank mboughen
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

With two friends my wife and I visited on Sunday 4 December for lunch. We booked in advance for 13.30. Whilst as always the food was excellent we felt that we were being rushed to such an extent that by 14.30 the waitress stood at our table and said "I am going to wait here until you have decided what... More 

Thank ibisplayer
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Made to feel very welcome on arrival. There is a very interesting menu with all types of exotic meat and fish. We mainly made choices from the specials board which were all South African influenced. The quality of the food was exceptional. The owners are very friendly and provided great service. Will definitely be returning.

Thank Steve T
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is not our first visit and as usual the food and service was excellent. Also, particularly wanted to say thank you for making my 97 yr old Mum a special trifle which wasn't on the menu.

Thank Lucyjaneg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very attentive service but ambience very bland in eating area and food (the pub has a South African emphasis) disappointing. Never instils confidence seeing a menu with a large choice so we chose two of the "house specialties" i.e. South African dishes. Felt they were pretty average; my curry had no depth of flavour and wife's dish would definitely have... More 

Thank Andrew W
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice traditional pub atmosphere and been here many times for Sunday lunch. The carvery is great value and the food served is excellent. Friendly hosts, would thoroughly recommend.

Thank Andrew W
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Disappointing. Not really made to feel welcome at all. Ordered the Sunday roast which was disappointing. Meat and potatoes were delivered with gravy alraedy puored on the plate, but these dinners were served first and by the time the other orders of fish and chips, burgers etc were delivered gravy was only just luke warm. Quite a long time before... More 

Thank sian432015
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Staying locally for business I needed somewhere to eat. This was the closest. I ordered the Ostrich burger which arrived a couple of minutes later which was surprising. However it was cold. As I was hungry I decided not to complain as I could tell it had been pre cooked and microwaved quickly. I guess it was a left over... More 

Thank Fisher_JJ
monktoninn, Owner at The Monkton Inn, responded to this review

We were quite upset to receive your review and apologise for your bad experience. What we cannot understand is why you did not tell us your burger was cold. this was heat probed to ensure it was the right temperature. Regarding the crumble, I have spoken to the waitress concerned and have been told you sent your crumble back once,... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Popped in close to time they close the kitchen, no problem though to eat, explained all the amazing specials, hard to choose! Great ale, excellent food. Very hospitable land lord and lady, fab sence of humour and knowledge about the local area. Apparently have a steak night on a Thursday... We will return!!

Thank Germaine T
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Fabulous choice with the Carvery and the option to have a slice of each of the joints on the day 😀 recommend this pub/restaurant

Thank BionicBabe07

Travellers who viewed The Monkton Inn also viewed

Taunton, Somerset
Taunton, Somerset

Been to The Monkton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Blundells Lane | West Monkton, Taunton, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Taunton
  • Phone Number: +44 1823 412414

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Monkton Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Taunton, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Monkton Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?