We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Farmers Arms

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, View, Groups, Bar Scene

Location and contact

About
We are a traditional public house with 5 luxury bed and breakfast rooms. We serve fresh food using local produce.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Seating, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Visa
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
322
101
33
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
322
101
33
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie triple cooked chips pudding pork hake ham sunday roast salad the pub huge bathroom sat nav new chef warm welcome excellent lunch fantastic food lovely atmosphere
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 479 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Yesterday 29 members of the local WI went here for their Winter Lunch. Congratulations to Alison and Alistair and their young staff.. The meals were perfect, not one single complaint from quite a discerning group of ladies. Coments like "no complaints from our table everything...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Bestpresdent
Reviewed 2 days ago

Booked for three nights for a short visit to Taunton and very glad I did. The selection of beers and wines was great, menu varied and interesting. The quality of preparation and service excellent. My only issue was with the bathroom in my room. I...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank C9282XKchrism
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

What an amazing find. Everything was perfect, the room, staff,food. No complaints whatsoever. We would definitely recommend the farmers arms to anyone.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Julie07879
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to this pub on many occasions and always had a good experience. This is a family run pub with some nice leather sofas in front of the fire and barstools at the bar as well as 2 areas for dining, it’s well...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank angelhine
AlisonTA3l, Owner at The Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your evening and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

Came here after dropping my mum back to Watchet they were very dog friendly and we could take our dog through to the dining area We only wanted a snack so ordered the ham ciabatta seemed expensive but when it a.rrived it came with chips...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank James0368
Reviewed 11 January 2019

We went for lunch here in December and having booked a table earlier in the month arrived to see lots of dogs in the bar and people eating. Great. As the website clearly states how ‘dog friendly’ they are. However, unfortunately our booking had been...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Caroline2357
AlisonTA3l, Owner at The Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I don't always respond to reviews but on this occasion I felt there was a need to as a one star is very damaging to small businesses. The first issue for me was the table was booked for 8 people as you did not tell...More

Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

We were looking forward to this and were disappointed. The food was average and one of the starters had a piece of plastic in it. And the restaurant was full of dogs. I'm not against dogs we have one. But when we go out for...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank tracey l
AlisonTA3l, Owner at The Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We do not recognise this as a genuine review. Firstly, not one member of staff have had a report of plastic in a meal. If there had of been at the time and you had informed us we would certainly have investigated! All senior members...More

Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

We stopped off for lunch here on our way from Wales to Devon .. I had a cold at the time and wanted some tasty homemade food on the way down south. Me and my husband were impressed the food was amazing with great portions...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Amy W
Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

The best Sunday roast!! Tasty tender pork, scrumptious stuffing and crackling to die for.... 😍 Out of the way but so worth the journey.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank JoShep63
Reviewed 1 December 2018

Another good burger eaten at this friendly pub. We did know there was music at 9 . We were not that close to the sadly rather mediocre band but we couldn’t hold any conversation over our food. Note to ourselves to avoid band nights. Staff...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank pennyh57
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
693 reviews
1.83 miles away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
817 reviews
2.01 miles away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
761 reviews
3.20 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
757 reviews
3.30 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 292 nearby restaurants
The Hatch Inn
94 reviews
1.93 miles away
White Hart Inn
75 reviews
2.51 miles away
The Bell Inn
30 reviews
3.59 miles away
The Far Canal
220 reviews
2.53 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 73 nearby attractions
The Hatch Inn
10 reviews
1.93 miles away
Vivary Park
385 reviews
3.79 miles away
St Mary Magdelene Church
40 reviews
4.02 miles away
Taunton Visitor Centre
26 reviews
4.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
598simone
14 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from AlisonTA3l | Property representative |
There is easy access to the restaurant and bar area with no steps but there are no cloakroom facilities as there is a step.
0
Votes
rowley07
3 August 2017|
Answer
Response from AlisonTA3l | Property representative |
Yes we do have a children's menu
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing