We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Perkin Warbeck

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
22-23 East Street, Taunton TA1 3LP, England
+44 1823 335830
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 08:00 - 00:00
Fri - Sat 08:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 215: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

My mum has introduced me to this place after we watched the cricket. Really nice and spacious. Food is excellent. Mum had the curry. I've had the burger. All in all really good. Will definitely be back

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea H
Pub Manager P, Shift Manager at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Chelsea, Thank you for your review, we are very glad to hear that you and your Mum enjoyed your visit. I will pass your comments on to the team and look forward to seeing you again. Regards Helen. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Typical wetherspoons pub but huge... Average wait at the bar and ordered afternoon special fish chips and peas and two drinks cost £13.50 . Meals arrived after about 15 mins minus peas, waitress said do you want me to get you some ? She then went back to kitchen and came back with 2 small plates with peas on !... More 

Helpful?
Thank shippers_c
Pub Manager P, Shift Manager at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we welcome all feedback whether positive or negative which is used to enhance the service provided to our customers. I am sorry that on this occasion you didn't receive the service you should have had but hope that you will return again soon so that we may redeem ourselves. Regards Helen. More 

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We escaped the pouring rain at around 2pm and made our way into the Perkin. We discovered that we could order from a phone app. After a few unsuccessful tries, we went 'old school' and ordered at the bar. Food came quite quickly and to be honest, wasn't bad. My BBQ ribs were tasty and the fries and onion rings... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johntrombone
Pub Manager P, Shift manager at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am glad that your experience with us was a good one. We always strive to give the best service and provide good food. We look forward to you return. Regards Helen. More 

Level Contributor
207 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Popped in on way too bus stop. Long thin place. Plenty of room. No sign for toilets. Very poor had too ask. Toilets not nice either. Very quite however 3 people had too wait 10 min too be served. 1 staff young gentlemen with ear piece in. Very rude,grump,no acknowledgement. Ppl in front of me not served. Just went too... More 

Helpful?
Thank nobody126
Pub Manager P, Shift manager at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I am however very sorry that you did not have a good experience with us. We take all comments both positive and negative on board and use them as a way to improve. I hope you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves with you. Regards Helen More 

Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

We went for steak meal was really excellent cooked to perfection, staff very friendly and obliging would definitely recommend this wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Davina G
Pub Manager P, Shift manager at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Hi Davina, Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad that you enjoyed you visit. I have passed your comments on to the team and we all look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Helen More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

Popped into the Perkin Warbeck for a coffee and cake. Loads of seating, friendly helpful staff, good coffee and fantastic carrot cake!

Helpful?
Thank marye985
Pub Manager P, Shift manager at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we do endeavour to provide the best service to all our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back for more cake!! Regard Helen. More 

taunton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Popped in here on way to a meal with friends. Quite busy and only ONE member of staff behind the bar. People can be patient but this is really pushing it! Waited about 7 minutes then voted with our wallets...we left..I reckon we spent over £50 in the Piano and Pitcher up the road WITH fantastic service..prices are not that... More 

Helpful?
Thank dbscrumpy
Pub Manager P, Shift Manger at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

I am sorry you didn't have an enjoyable visit when you came to the Perkin Warbeck, and felt that you had to move on to another establishment. I'm sure if you had stayed you would have had a great time. All feedback we receive whether positive or negative is used to enhance the service we provide to our customers. I... More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

Went in to this wetherspoon,s on our way to a concert , after being ignored by bar staff my partner gave me the job of ordering as she had lost the will to live .After being at the bar for 25 minutes waiting I was served ,I politely ask for Sambuca and lemonade I was told they weren't serving spirits... More 

Helpful?
Thank John B
Pub Manager P, Shift manger at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Hi John Thank you for your review although I'm disappointed that you didn't have a good experience when visiting us. We do have a policy that we do not serve shots or cocktails before 6pm and this is why you were told that we couldn't serve you the Sambuca you requested. You should however have been informed of this policy... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Thursday evening and I needed a curry in a hurry. Now I reckon £6.35 for a filling Rogan Josh and a pint of craft ale is very good value. Sure, it's not fine dining - but it's great friendly service and it's really good trencher food when you want trencher food. Which is a lot of the time for most... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rufus S
Pub Manager P, Shift manager at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Hi Rufus, Thank you very much for your great review and I'm glad you enjoyed your curry and your visit to the Perkin Warbeck. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Helen More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016

Ideal for good value food and drink very friendly staff huge pub plenty of seating.Went in on Saturday night and security were very welcoming and polite .

Helpful?
Thank TimEPlym
Pub Manager P, Shift manager at The Perkin Warbeck, responded to this review

Hi Tim Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad that you enjoyed you visit. I have passed your comments on to the team and we all look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Helen More 

Travellers who viewed The Perkin Warbeck also viewed

Bridgwater, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
Wellington, Somerset
 

Been to The Perkin Warbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$14
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 22-23 East Street, Taunton TA1 3LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Taunton
  • Phone Number: +44 1823 335830

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Perkin Warbeck staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?