We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Contemporary, Healthy, Gastropub, Soups
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (397)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveller rating
172
127
44
22
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
172
127
44
22
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch panini granary bread sutton park dog walk coffee and cake bite to eat catch up with friends great menu lovely food quality of food sutton coldfield blackwood egg
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We’ve been coming for years and never written a review so decided to after a visit today. It continues to be a fantastic cafe, great food, great service and lovely setting. Highly recommended when out for a walk.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review, it means a lot to us that our regular customers continue to enjoy what we do and would recommend us : )

Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

My friend and I have been visiting this establishment for about the last 10 years. However, a few months ago it was refurbished and it is now very cramped. Far too many tables in a restricted space which makes it very difficult to move between...tables.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Following the refurb, we have actually reduced the number of seats inside to create more space for our customers, but accept our internal space is limited. Having the most most fantastic setting within one of the most beautiful urban parks in Europe is what we're...More

Reviewed 10 December 2023

I recently met a friend here for a coffee and a chat. The service was good however, my understanding is that they are open for business until 3pm so imagine my surprise when at 2.30pm, I looked around to see every empty table with upturned...chairs on them. Thankfully we had finished our lunch but there was another couple who were still eating! A second couple came in 5 minutes later and had to lift a chair off the table in order to sit down. How rude of the staff to make customers feel so unwelcome in this way, they clearly have other priorities.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Hi there... thanks for the feedback..... we do close at 3pm and stop serving food and drinks inside 30 minutes before we close.. we do make that clear on the website and on the opening times positioned around the business. If we don't put chairs...More

Reviewed 14 October 2023

The food was unreal, and the tuna sandwich was amazing. We love the bistro sooooo much. It’s always a great experience!

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

thanks so much for the lovely review... we really appreciate it

Reviewed 12 October 2023

I recently went to the Blackfoot bistro after a 15 mile run with friends last Saturday. Hasten to add after our run we were ready for breakfast! The service was great and they couldn’t do enough to help us. We found ourselves a nice table...and ordered our full English breakfasts. I can honestly say the food was brilliant washed down with a lovely drop of tea. Anyone visiting the park should pop in and take a seat.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

thanks for the fantastic review Martin, we really appreciate it

Reviewed 5 October 2023

I visit this gem at least once a week and have never got around to writing a review, until now! What can I say, well only positive things, great place to catch up with friends and family for breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or just...a quick cuppa. Staff are efficient and very friendly, that together with the delicious food which in my opinion is very reasonably priced makes it my go to place week after week, it never disappoints. I would recommend the Bistro to anyone, we are very lucky to have such a beautiful place in the heart of Sutton Park. Thank you for all your hard work, Sarah, Darryl and the rest of the team.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

thanks so much for the lovely review

Reviewed 3 October 2023

Gorgeous cafe within a beautiful parkland. We sat outside and enjoyed the sunshine. Food was delicious, great coffee and service was extremely friendly. A very inviting place. We will visit again

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

thanks for the great review, we really appreciate it

Reviewed 12 September 2023

Lovely bacon sarnie after a long walk in the park on Sunday with my dog. Always fab food with friendly staff.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Always a great place to take the kids for a hot chocolate and cake. Breakfast menu is lovely and great spot to start for a walk around the pool

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Great food as usual, fairly fast service, clean and helpful. Nice to sit outside in the park and eat. Good selection of food and quality ingredients.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Love coming here for both brunch and lunch! The food is always fabulous and plentiful. Lots of veggie options too. Not too sure where the comments below refer to but it certainly is Blackroot Bistro! We love it there so definitely give it a try

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023 via mobile

Perfect spot in nature! This is one of my favourite places to stop by when I’m either in or near Sutton Park. A wide and varied breakfast and lunch menu, great quality hot drinks, and consistently friendly and welcoming service. They have a range of...specials that change throughout the year, mirroring seasonal produce. A perfect little stop off and a great terrace perfect for sitting in the Sun or a cosy, welcoming space to sip on a hot chocolate on a drizzly day. Extra bonus – very dog, friendly – they even sell doggy treats!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

I come here with friends regularly and have gradually seen it go down hill. My coffee was cold and the mug was dirty, I felt like an inconvenience to the staff and the toilet was dirty. I think we will take our custom elsewhere.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2023

Awful guys absolutely awful , full breakfast £10 to get one tiny sausage one small rasher of bacon one egg and a mushroom sliced up heaven forbid u ask to swap something on the menu they are clueless , asking for something like a toastie...buttered , well u better repeat buttered 10 times as you order as it will be served on dry toast 90% of the time then u have to go inside and ask for butter a knife fork , too expensive for sub par food and service , shame it’s a great spot in the park but portions and service are a joke , I’m not wasting my money here anymore had to previously complain as half my latte was froth as they tring some new scam to give u less and charge u more ( 50% of the latte was liquid)More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Enquiries Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

I'm not sure you were at our business as we don't sell toasties and our till system prompts our staff to ask if you would like butter so there is no possibility of them processing the order without asking you? Perhaps if you could send...More

Reviewed 31 August 2023 via mobile

What has happened to the standard of service ? Have been going to the Bistro ever since it opened and although the prices aren’t cheap,the quality and service was always good. Over the last few weeks the serving of drinks and food together has got...increasingly worse. Just been this morning and the food was served in a reasonable time but the drinks were at least 20 minutes later. We were not the only table to complain, at least 4 other tables suffered the same problem. On a different topic, it would be useful to have something on each table to put sugar wrappers etc. in, rather than let them blow away into the park.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darryl Blackroot Bistro, Owner at Blackroot Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Hi there.... we are very busy and this can be an issue at times..... if you ask us to serve food and drinks together when we are busy, we are more than happy to do that

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Townhouse Hotel
259 reviews
.80 miles away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
3,914 reviews
1.29 miles away
Butler's Arms
41 reviews
1.44 miles away
Travelodge Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
468 reviews
1.64 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Green House
1,328 reviews
.93 miles away
Hot Ice Bar and Grill
15 reviews
.97 miles away
The Three Tuns
69 reviews
.83 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Sutton Park National Nature Reserve
798 reviews
.68 miles away
Sutton Park Sutton Coldfield
5 reviews
.69 miles away
Gracechurch shopping centre
44 reviews
.94 miles away
The Pint Pot
16 reviews
.99 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Odyssey776738
7 August 2020|
Answer
Response from 353beckyf | Reviewed this property |
No, still closed last week
0
Votes
laura_capper85
18 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from melo7 | Reviewed this property |
yes dogs are welcome outside where there are table and chairs, they also provide cushions and blankets. No dogs are allowed inside . You go inside to order food, drinks and they give you a ticket number and serve to your... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BLACKROOT BISTRO, The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Blackroot Bistro

Yes, Blackroot Bistro offers takeaway services.

Blackroot Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4