We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The William Cecil Bar & Restaurant

St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
+44 1780 750070
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“guinea fowl” (3 reviews)
“sandwiches” (14 reviews)
“soup” (5 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped into the (almost empty) bar at 2pm for coffee and cake but were told that the lunch menu was still being served so we couldn't have cake. How difficult can it be to put two slices of cake on plates?! We won't be...More

Thank jocL7074RZ
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Credit where it is due. The quality of the food is excellent. Excellent choices on menu. Excellent presentation. Real quality. We came for Sunday lunch to celebrate a retirement. We were not in a rush but we were hungry. It was unfortunate that although the...More

Thank Barryfab2014
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on a quiet Monday for lunch with my Mum. It’s the second time I’ve been in and it’s really lovely. We sat in the conservatory; that and the bar are dog friendly which is great for us. We both had sandwiches which were...More

Thank Becca M
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea at this hotel . Friendly attentive staff and warm cosy surroundings. Thank you.

Thank CharlieLincs
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Afternoon Tea following our Wedding Celebratioin. Everyone loved the food and the professionalism of the staff involved.

Thank Smantypile
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We attended a pre-booked function today and were extremely disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and expectations were high. Sadly we were let down. I understand it is a busy time of year for functions but really the excuse is poor. Our meal was served rather...More

Thank AnnieB412
Reviewed 9 December 2017

My wife and I had arranged to meet friends for a mid-week lunch at the William Cecil. We were driving up from Essex, they were driving down from Yorkshire. I'd booked a table for 12noon. We all arrived at the same time, around 1130am, and...More

4  Thank pb3964
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Had a lovely afternoon tea which was a gift but rather spoilt by the price of a large glass of red wine. Over £12 a glass. The most expensive glass of red wine I've ever had. Still can't quite believe we paid over £18 for...More

1  Thank packers2017
Kieran T, General Manager at The William Cecil Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your afternoon tea but sorry that you were unhappy with the price of your drinks. We offer 13 different wines by the glass to try give a wide choice to our guests without the...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017

We had a lovely meal here after our son's christening so wanted to revisit as a couple. We had a babysitter and had booked a table for 8.15pm. On arrival, we were told there was a wait because they had an event on - ok,...More

1  Thank AliC731
Kieran T, General Manager at The William Cecil Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for your review and I am very sorry to hear about your experience here at The William Cecil. There can be no excuse for a lack of service and significant waits when you have booked a table and I very sorry for what...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Friendly staff, attentive service, tasty food and a reserved, quality, atmosphere. A fine stately house with ample parking and cosy nooks and crannies. A very enjoyable meal for two.

Thank Colin G
Kieran T, General Manager at The William Cecil Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very happy that we could make your meal an enjoyable one and I do hope you will visit us again at The William Cecil.

PreviousNext
12345621
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Stamford
The William Cecil at Stamford
776 reviews
.02 miles away
The Bull & Swan
352 reviews
.10 miles away
Candlesticks
130 reviews
.14 miles away
The George Of Stamford
1,340 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Zada Restaurant
441 reviews
.32 miles away
Cloisters
410 reviews
.35 miles away
The George Hotel Restaurant
849 reviews
.22 miles away
The Garden Room at the George Hotel
109 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Burghley House
1,252 reviews
.66 miles away
Burghley Park
325 reviews
.62 miles away
Stamford Arts Centre
102 reviews
.34 miles away
Stamford Corn Exchange Theatre
65 reviews
.46 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Helen W
3 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Kieran T | Property representative |
We certainly do, whilst we don’t allow dogs in our main restaurant, they are more than welcome in our bar and conservatory which offer the same menu.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$34
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 09:30
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 09:30
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 09:30
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 09:30
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 09:30
10:00 - 21:30
Saturday
08:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Stamford
  • Phone Number: +44 1780 750070
  • E-mail
Description
We offer local, fresh, simple and seasonal food. Not complicated at all, but very tasty. Lots of choice, great service and fun atmosphere. There's a small but perfectly formed wine list with a nice range of speciality wines. No tail coats, starch or presumption - just very friendly. Booking is recommended to avoid disappointment.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing